Cancer is a chronic disease affecting thousands of Vermonters. Cancer Registry data are used to monitor efforts to reduce the burden of cancers among all Vermonters. We collect information about all cancers, except certain skin and non-invasive cervical cancers, and all benign brain-related tumors that are diagnosed in Vermont. It is part of a statewide effort to reduce the impact of cancer on individuals, families and communities.
State law requires physicians and hospitals to report information about cancers and benign brain-related tumors to the Vermont Department of Health. Through interstate agreements, information about Vermonters diagnosed or treated in other states is also included in Vermont’s registry. The registry does not collect information directly from patients.
For Reporting Facilities
All health care facilities diagnosing or treating cancer or benign brain-related tumors in the State of Vermont are required by the Vermont Cancer Registry Law, 18 V.S.A. §§ 151-157, to report information to the Vermont Cancer Registry. All cases must be reported within 180 days after the date of the first contact with the patient.
Find the Hospital Procedure Manual for 2016.
Find the Hospital Procedure Manual for 2018-2020.
Find the Hospital Procedure Manual for 2021.
International Classification of Diseases for Oncology, 3rd ed.
SEER Program Coding and Staging Manual 2018
SEER Summary Staging Manual 2018
2018 Solid Tumor Rules
2007 Multiple Primary and Histology Coding Rules (for cutaneous melanoma)
Hematopoietic and Lymphoid Neoplasm Coding Manual
Hematopoietic & Lymphoid Neoplasm Database
Site-Specific Data Item (SSDI) Manual
SEER*Rx – Interactive Drug Database
Education and Training Resources
For Health Care Providers
All health care providers diagnosing or treating a patient with cancer or with a benign brain-related tumor are required by the Vermont Cancer Registry Law, 18 V.S.A. §§ 151-157, to report information to the Vermont Cancer Registry if the patient is not seen at a Vermont hospital for that cancer or tumor. All cases must be reported within 180 days after the date of the first contact with the patient.
The following conditions do not need to be reported: non-melanoma skin cancer, carcinoma in situ of the cervix, intraepithelial neoplasia of genital organs, or progression or recurrence of malignancy.
For more information or to request a reporting form, contact Holly Maynard at [email protected].
Interstate Data Exchange
The Vermont Cancer Registry participates in the North American Association of Central Cancer Registries National Interstate Data Exchange Agreement. If you have data to exchange or questions, please contact Linda Bloschies at [email protected].
We acknowledge the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention for its support of the Vermont Cancer Registry under cooperative agreement NU58DP003911-05-00 awarded to the Vermont Department of Health. The findings and conclusions in this website are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily represent the official position of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.