Birth Certificates & Parentage Forms

Under Vermont law the attending physician or midwife is responsible for filing a report of birth with the State Registrar within five business days. Once the report of birth is registered in the Statewide Registration System a copy of the birth certificate can be issued upon request. For babies born without a medical professional present, please contact the Vital Records Office for assistance at 802-863-7275 or toll-free in Vermont at 800-439-5008.

Order Certified Copies of Birth Certificates from the Town Clerk

Town Clerks can issue certified copies of vital records, including certificates of birth, death, marriage, and civil unions. 

Find your nearest Town Clerk

Order Certified Copies of Birth Certificates from the Health Department

Certified copies of birth certificates dated January 1, 1909 and later are available for a fee from the Department of Health.

Order online 

Order by mail

  • Complete and print this Application and read the Supplemental Instructions.
  • Make check or money order payable to “Vermont Department of Health
  • The fee for certified copies is $10.00 per copy.
  • Return the application form, your check or money order, and a photocopy of your identification to the address on the form. Do not mail cash. A list of acceptable identification documents is on the Application form.

Order in person

  • Complete and print the Application and read the Supplemental Instructions.
  • Make check or money order payable to “Vermont Department of Health
  • The fee for certified copies is $10.00 per copy.
  • Bring the application form, your check or money order, and your identification to 108 Cherry Street in Burlington, Vermont between 7:45 am and 4:30 pm Monday through Friday, excluding holidays.
Correct a Birth Certificate

The Vermont Department of Health sends parents a Notification of Birth Registration approximately three months after a child’s birth. This notification includes information that appears on the birth certificate. If there are errors or missing information, the parents can indicate corrections on the form, sign it and return it to the Health Department.

Corrections can also be requested by submitting an Application.

Note: After six months a change to the child’s last name or to either parent’s last name requires a court decree ordering the change.

If you have specific questions, please call the Vital Records Office at 802-863-7275 or toll-free in Vermont at 800-439-5008.

Parentage Forms

Pursuant to the Vermont Parentage Act, these forms are for the execution of parentage under Title 15C, Chapter 3 of the Vermont Statutes Annotated.

Some internet browsers will not allow for the filling of a PDF file. You may need a current version of Adobe Reader to complete this process. If so, click on the link below for a free download.

Get Adobe Reader