COVID-19 Pregnancy and Breastfeeding Guidance
Visit the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention page for latest information and guidance about COVID-19 for pregnant individuals and breastfeeding parents. Contact your health care provider if you have any questions or concerns.
You already know that breastfeeding is best for you and your baby. What you may not know is that learning to breastfeed can take time, patience and practice. Learn what to expect with breastfeeding, build your confidence, and know where to find support.
Knowledge + Support + Confidence = Success!
The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends feeding your baby only breast milk until age 6 months, and breast milk plus solid foods from 6-12 months and beyond. The World Health Organization recommends feeding only breast milk for 6 months and breast milk plus solid foods for 2 or more years.
Breastfeeding can be challenging for both new and experienced individuals. Whatever your breastfeeding goal may be, find the information and support you need below.
Visit WIC Breastfeeding Support to explore the stages of breastfeeding. Learn about the benefits, what to expect in the first few days, how to overcome common challenges, and how to fit breastfeeding in with your lifestyle.
Download Your Guide to Breastfeeding from the Office on Women's Health.
Find an International Board Certified Lactation Consultant or ask your health care provider for a referral. La Leche League also offers monthly meetings and one-on-one support in some parts of the state.
The more you know about breastfeeding the easier it will be to meet your breastfeeding goal. Watch videos of normal breastfeeding newborn behavior and learn about breastfeeding resources in your community.
It is the goal of the Vermont Department of Health and its partners to support Vermont families in meeting their breastfeeding goals. The following plan represents the strategic priorities we plan to undertake at a statewide and community level over the next years. It is based on the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) best practice strategies and informed by partners in all sectors across Vermont.
Vermont breastfeeding laws provide protection for individuals who nurse in public and support breastfeeding individuals when they return to the workplace. In addition, recent healthcare reform at the federal level put in place break time requirements for employers.
- Breastfeeding Friendly Employer Project
- Nursing Mothers Factsheet
- Vermont Commission on Women publications
- Going Back to Work
- US Breastfeeding Committee – Online Guide: What You Need to Know About the "Break Time for Nursing Mothers" Law
- Breastfeeding at Home, at Work, and in Public
- Pumping and Breastmilk Storage
- Making It Work Toolkit – for Moms and Families