New Adoption Law: Act 100

Beginning July 1, 2023, the following persons may request a certified copy of their original Vermont birth certificate from the Vermont Department of Health:

  • An adoptee 18 years of age or older.

  • A direct descendant, 18 years of age or older, of an adopted person who is deceased.

  • Parent or guardian of a direct descendant who is under age 18.

What is needed?

  • Completed application signed in the presence of a Notary Public.

  • Check or money order in the amount of $10.00 payable to Vermont Department of Health.

  • Copy of adoptee’s current birth certificate, and if deceased, a copy of the death certificate.

  • Mail to the address on the back of the application.

Download Application

Email [email protected] with questions.

Adopted persons or their descendants may also contact the Vermont Adoption Registry for additional information they may be eligible to receive.


Last Updated: