The Vermont Healthy Homes Lead Poisoning Prevention Program works with providers to ensure that all children are tested for lead. State law requires that all children are tested for lead at 12 months and 24 months.
Blood Lead Screening Guidelines
When to screen asymptomatic children for lead; when to confirm capillary blood lead tests; other indications to screen for lead.
Health and Immunization Registry
To make access to children’s lead results more efficient, there is a page in the Health Registry under an individual’s patient information where providers can view blood lead test results.
- Health Registry Access and Confidentiality Agreement
To access the Lead section of the registry, providers must submit this agreement form. Email the completed form, checking the "Blood Lead" box, to AHS.VDHHealthyHomesProgram@state.vt.us.
Guidelines for Managing Children with Blood Lead Levels ≥5 µg/dL
Retest schedule for children with blood lead levels ≥5 µg/dL; responsibilities of health care providers and Vermont Department of Health
Lead Poisoned Children Rules
Regulations outline steps to be taken to confirm a diagnosis of lead poisoning, inspect the sources of the poisoning, and the actions to be taken towards abatement or other controls in housing that is rented or leased.
Sources of Lead
Facts about lead exposure through paint, soil, air, water, food and food containers and through job activities.
How Lead Gets Into Children
A multi-lingual flip chart about how children are exposed to lead. Featured languages are English, Spanish, Vietnamese and Bosnian.
To order a free copy, call 1-800-439-8550 or 802-865-7786, or email
Parent Education Materials
Information about childhood nutrition and sources of lead in your home.
Vermont Healthy Homes Lead Poisoning Prevention Program
Vermont Department of Health
108 Cherry St., PO Box 70
Burlington, VT 05402
Tel. 800-439-8550 or 802-865-7786