Statewide vital registration in Vermont began in 1857 when the General Assembly passed legislation requiring towns to report all births, marriages and deaths to the Secretary of State. Prior to that time, some towns kept such records in order to resolve questions concerning the distribution and inheritance of property.
Vital records – particularly death records – became recognized as an important tool for studying the location and spread of epidemics. In 1896, the Legislature transferred responsibility for the vital statistics system to the newly formed Board of Health, currently known as the Vermont Department of Health. The Health Department has retained responsibility for vital statistics to the present day. Since 2000, the Vermont vital records system includes eight types of vital events: births, deaths, marriages, divorces, civil unions, dissolutions, fetal deaths and abortions.
Certified copies of certificates of birth, death, marriage, civil union, divorce and dissolution are available for a fee from the Department of Health or the Vermont State Archives and Records Administration. Before you can order your form, you must decide which office to contact. Records for events that occurred from 2012 to present are maintained by the Department of Health. All others are maintained by the Vermont State Archives and Records Administration.
|Year of Event||Order records from|
|2011 and before||State Archives and Records Administration|
- Complete and print the application below.
- Sign and date the application.
- Make check or money order payable to "Vermont Department of Health".
- The fee for certified copies is $10.00 per copy. (NOTE: The fee for certified copies ordered through the online Vital Records Request Service is $12.00 per copy.)
- Return the application with your check or money order to the address on the bottom of the application. Do NOT mail cash.