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IMMUNIZATION MANUAL DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

VCVP Documentation / Administration Fee Requirements

As required by federal law, the following information must be documented for each
vaccination:

a) Date of administration

b) Name of vaccine administered

¢) Vaccine manufacturer and lot number

d) Name and title of person who administered the vaccine
e) Address of clinic where the vaccine was given

As required by The National Childhood Vaccine Injury Act of 1986

a) Give the patient or the parent/legal representative the current Vaccine
Information Statement (VIS) prior to administration of the vaccine.

b) Document the date the VIS is given

¢) Document the publication date of the VIS (found at the bottom of the VIS).

Screening for federal VFC eligibility and documentation of this information for patients
0-18 years of age is required by federal mandate. VFC eligibility screening should be
recorded by the vaccine administrator as follows:

Federal VFC eligible children:
1. Medicaid - child has this insurance
2. American Indian/Alaska Native - people can self-identify
3. Underinsured - Child has health insurance, but the coverage does not include
vaccines or a child whose insurance covers only selected vaccines.
4. No insurance — child is without any insurance coverage

Not VFC eligible, but State vaccine eligible
5. Insured, or age 19 and older - anyone with insurance other than Medicaid (at this
time individuals in this category can get state supplied vaccine as long as Vermont
remains a universal provider of vaccines, this is subject to change due to funding)

Children with no insurance, underinsured and those who are Alaskan Native or
Native American cannot be charged more than $21.22 for vaccine administration
fee.

Practices may not deny VFC eligible children vaccine because of inability to pay.

1|Page
01/2020



