Child Care Provider Immunization Requirement FAQ April 2025

State laws establish vaccination requirements for babies and young children enrolled in regulated child care and help to maintain high vaccination coverage. When more children are vaccinated, there is a much lower rate of vaccine-preventable diseases in the community where they live.

What are the Vermont vaccination requirements for children enrolled in regulated child care facilities?

Children must be up-to-date on all age-appropriate vaccines as outlined on the Vermont vaccination schedule:

Age When Enrolling:	Immunizations Required:
2-3 months	1 each of DTaP, Hep B, Polio, Hib, PCV
4-5 months	2 each of DTaP, Hep B, Polio, Hib, PCV
6-14 months	3 each of DTaP, Hep B, Polio, Hib, PCV
15-17 months	3 each of DTaP, Hep B, Polio 1–4 doses each of Hib and PCV 1 each of MMR and Varicella
18 months- 4 years	4 DTaP, 3 each of Hep B and Polio 1–4 doses each of Hib and PCV 1 each of MMR and Varicella

DTaP: diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis • Hep B: hepatitis B • Polio • Hib: Haemophilus influenzae b PCV: pneumococcal • MMR: measles, mumps, rubella • Varicella: chickenpox

Hepatitis A, COVID-19, rotavirus, and influenza vaccines are also strongly recommended, but are not required.





What documents do parents need to provide to child care program directors?

Upon enrollment, parents are responsible for submitting an up to date immunization record from their child's health care provider or a state Immunization Registry, or a signed exemption form for their child.

How do child care program directors determine if children in their care are up to date with all required vaccinations?

With parent's permission, child care providers can access the Vermont Immunization Registry (IMR), a department database with an assessment tool, for children in their care. The IMR will evaluate records for compliance. For access to the IMR, call the Immunization Registry at 1-888-688-4667 or email IMR staff at IMR@vermont.gov.

What are the reasons a child may enroll in child care without having all required vaccines?

- Parents who do not provide a record of all required vaccines, or a signed exemption form for their child, may submit a provisional admittance form to the child care program. The child must be actively catching up on all missing vaccines, and provisonal admittance may not exceed six months.
- Exemptions are allowed for children who cannot be vaccinated due to a medical condition. The medical exemption form, which must be signed by a licensed health care provider authorized to prescribe vaccines, must be submitted to the child care program director.
- Non-medical exemptions are only allowed for those whose religious beliefs oppose vaccinations. To claim a religious exemption, a parent must review the required parent educational material and sign and submit a religious exemption form each year.



What is the Annual Child Care Provider's Immunization Survey?

Child care providers must review immunization records and exemption forms for children in their care annually. Providers will complete an online survey by January 1st to report summary information only to the VT Health Department and the Department for Children and Families. Children's names and vaccination dates are not included in the survey. An email will be sent from the Child Development Division in the fall with a link to the survey.

Which child care facilities are required to complete the Annual Child Care Provider's Immunization Survey?

All regulated child care programs are required to submit the annual child care provider's immunization survey, with the exception of after-school only programs.

When a child attends more than one pre-K or child care program, who reports the child on their survey?

When children attend multiple regulated programs, such as pre-school, Essential Early Education (EEE), Head Start, and/or registered home child care, each provider must hold a copy of the child's immunization record and include the child when completing the survey.

When a student attends school (any grade, kindergarten through 12th) and also attends any regulated child care provider, including pre-k, who reports the child on their survey?

Each licensed or registered program must hold a copy of the child's immunization record, however, once children are enrolled in kindergarten through 12th grade, the student is reported only by the school on the Annual Immunization Status Report.

Which child care facilities are required to make their immunization information available to parents and the public

All center-based child care and pre-school programs must make vaccination coverage data for each required vaccine publicly available.



How do providers make their facility's immunization rates publicly available?

Vaccination coverage data for center-based child care and pre-school programs, as reported the prior January, will be posted on the $\frac{\text{Health Department webpage}}{\text{July 1}^{\text{st}}}$, and updated annually by July 1st

