

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

TO:Vermont Health Care ProfessionalsFROM:Health Commissioner Mark Levine, MD

Updated Pediatric Blood Lead Testing Guidelines

BACKGROUND:

As of July 1, 2022, Vermont's <u>Pediatric Blood Lead Testing Guidelines</u> requires <u>any</u> detected and reported level of lead to be monitored, compared with the current requirement to confirm and monitor levels at 5 micrograms per deciliter (μ g/dL) and above. No level of lead exposure or blood lead level is safe, and even low levels can impact neurodevelopment.

REQUESTED ACTION:

When to Confirm Capillary Blood Lead Tests

| If Capillary Blood Lead Level is: | Confirm with Venous Test Within: | |
|-----------------------------------|--|--|
| No detected lead (DL)* | Confirmation not needed | |
| Any DL-3.4 μg/dL | Within 6 months (capillary sample or venous) | |
| 3.5–9 μg/dL | Within 3 months | |
| 10 – 19 μg/dL | Within 1 month | |
| 20 – 44 μg/dL | Within 2 weeks | |
| 45 – 59 μg/dL | 48 hours | |
| 60+ μg/dL | Immediately as an emergency test | |

When to Follow Up with a Venous Re-test

| If Venous Blood Lead Level is: | Follow-Up | Late Follow-Up (blood lead level declining) |
|-----------------------------------|---|--|
| No detected lead (DL)* | Venous re-test not required | |
| Any DL-3.4 μg/dL | 6 – 9 months | |
| 3.5–9 μg/dL | 3 months | 6 – 9 months |
| 10 – 19 μg/dL | 1 – 3 months | 3 – 6 months |
| 20 – 44 μg/dL | 2 weeks – 1 month | 1 – 3 months |
| 45+ μg/dL | Initiate chelation and re-test in 7 – 21 days | As clinically indicated |

*Detection limit varies across laboratories from <1 μ g/dL to 3.3 μ g/dL

Any level of lead in the blood is considered elevated. The Health Department will offer phone education and environmental inspection (as needed) for venous confirmed lead levels.

You have received this message based upon the information contained within our emergency notification data base. If you have a different or additional e-mail address or fax number that you would like us to use please contact your Health Alert Network (HAN) Coordinator at: <u>vthan@vermont.gov</u>



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

State law requires that all Vermont children are tested for lead at 12 months old and again at 24 months old. Children ages 36 to 72 months who have not previously been tested should also be tested. All parents or guardians should be given the Health Department's <u>What Your Child's</u> <u>Lead Test Means</u> when they are being tested for lead, regardless of the test results.

Resources:

Pediatric Blood Lead Testing & Case Management Guidelines What Your Child's Lead Test Means Lead Poisoning Prevention Fact Sheet Website

If you have any questions, please contact the HAN Coordinator at 802-859-5900 or <u>vthan@vermont.gov.</u>

HAN Message Type Definitions

Health Alert: Conveys the highest level of importance; warrants immediate action or attention. *Health Advisory:* Provides important information for a specific incident or situation may not require immediate action.

Health Update: Provides updated information regarding an incident or situation; unlikely to require immediate action.

Info Service Message: Provides general correspondence from VDH, which is not necessarily considered to be of an emergent nature.

You have received this message based upon the information contained within our emergency notification data base. If you have a different or additional e-mail address or fax number that you would like us to use please contact your Health Alert Network (HAN) Coordinator at: <u>vthan@vermont.gov</u>