### RULES OF THE BOARD OF MEDICAL PRACTICE

(Excerpt of Rules effective 10/15/2017)

## 33.0 Podiatrists' Professional Standards

## 33.1 Continuing Medical Education. Required CME:

Prescribing Controlled Substances. All podiatry licensees who prescribe controlled substances shall certify at the time of each renewal that they have completed at least two hours of CME activity on controlled substances prescribing. The activity must be accredited as AMA PRA Category 1 CreditTM training or Council on Podiatric Medical Education approved training. The following topics must be covered, as required by Vermont law: abuse and diversion, safe use, and appropriate storage and disposal of controlled substances; the appropriate use of the Vermont Prescription Monitoring System; risk assessment for abuse or addiction; pharmacological and nonpharmacological alternatives to opioids for managing pain; medication tapering and cessation of the use of controlled substances; and relevant State and federal laws and regulations concerning the prescription of opioid controlled substances. Each licensee who is registered with the U.S. Drug Enforcement Agency (D.E.A.) and who holds a D.E.A. number to prescribe controlled substances, or who has submitted a pending application for one, is presumed to prescribe controlled substances and must meet this requirement. Any podiatrist who is required to certify completion of this CME to renew, but who cannot, will be subject to the provisions regarding makeup of missing CME in 22.3 and 22.4.

# 22.0 Continuing Medical Education

#### 22.3 Make-Up Plans

- 22.3.1 Any physician who has not completed the minimum number of hours of CME, or who has not completed the required subject-specific training, as of the deadline for submission of license renewal applications, will not be granted a renewal license unless the application includes an acceptable make-up plan signed by the licensee. The Board Executive Director is authorized to review and determine if make-up plans are acceptable.
- 22.3.2 An acceptable make-up plan must include a timeline for making up all CME that needs to be completed to satisfy the requirements of these Rules. The timeline shall identify the approved activities that the licensee plans to attend. The licensee may later substitute activities, but the plan shall indicate that it is the licensee's good faith intent to complete the



Effective Date: 10/15/2017

- activities listed at the time of submission. A licensee shall have up to one hundred twenty (120) days to complete the CME make-up plan.
- 22.3.3 Any licensee who will not complete a make-up plan within the time specified by the plan shall contact the Board at least 30 days in advance of the date on which the period will end to notify the Board and submit a revised plan and request for extension of time.
  - 22.3.3.1 The request for extension of time must include an explanation of the reasons why the licensee was unable to complete the required training in accordance with the plan.
  - 22.3.3.2 Extensions of the make-up plan period are limited to 90 days, during which the licensee shall complete the required CME. Further extensions will be granted only for good cause shown, for reasons such as: serious illness of the licensee or a family member; death of an immediate family member; significant personal hardship, such as a house fire; significant and ongoing medical staff shortage during the make-up period; or similarly compelling reasons.
  - 22.3.3.3 The Board may delegate to the Board Executive Director the authority to approve requests to extend the time for a make-up plan in accordance with these rules. Any request for extension not granted by the Executive Director shall be considered by the Board.
- 22.3.4 CME activity completed as part of a make-up plan does not count toward satisfaction of the requirement to complete CME during that current licensing cycle; activity may only be counted once. If a multi-hour activity is performed partly in satisfaction of a make-up plan and partly for the CME requirement associated with the current licensing cycle, the licensee shall clearly document the allocation.

# 22.4 Failure to Certify Completion of Required CME, File a Make-Up Plan, or Complete a Make-Up Plan

- 22.4.1 A licensee who has failed to submit certification of completion of CME as required by law and these rules, or who having failed to certify completion of CME has failed to submit a make-up plan with a license renewal application, will be notified of such failure and have not more than 15 days from receipt of notice to file with the Board either a certification of completion of CME or a make-up plan.
- 22.4.2 A licensee who fails to file a certificate of completion of CME at the end of a make-up period, or to file a request for an extended make-up period, shall be notified of such failure and have not more than 15 days from



- receipt of notice to file with the Board either a certificate of completion of CME or another request for extension of time in which to make up CME.
- 22.4.3 A licensee who submits a certificate of completion at the time of submission of the license renewal application, or who has filed an acceptable make-up plan with the renewal application and is in the makeup period, or who having failed to complete the first make-up plan has received approval from the Board for an extended make-up period that has not yet expired, is in good standing with respect to CME requirements.
- 22.4.4 Any licensee not in good standing with respect to CME requirements is subject to investigation by the Board for unprofessional conduct.

