
CME Hour Requirements FAQ 

Vermont law requires physicians licensed by the Board of Medical Practice to complete continuing medical 
education training in each two-year license period. For the 2020 physician license renewal, the 

requirement is 15 hours of AMA PRA Category 1
TM 

. There are two subjects that must be part of the 
required CME:   

• prescribing of controlled substances (2 credits required only for licensees who have or have 
applied for DEA registration) and 

• hospice/palliative care/end-of-life care/pain management (1 credit required for all licensees).  

Please Note: E credits and P credits are not the same as AMA PRA Category 1
TM 

 credits.  

1) How do I know how many hours of CME are required for license renewal? 

Time is calculated from the date the license was approved by the Board until the date of expiration. 

• If as of November 30, 2020, you have held your Vermont physician license for less than one year, there 

is no requirement for CME at the time of the first renewal. 

In other words, if your license was granted after December 1, 2019, you do not need to certify that 
you have met the CME requirements. 

• If as of November 30, 2020, you have held your Vermont physician license for more than one year but 

less than two, the requirement is to have completed at least 10 hours of CME, and those hours must 
include training on the specific subjects noted above. 

In other words, if your license was granted between December 1, 2018 and November 30, 2019, 

the requirement is to have completed at least 10 hours of CME. 

• If as of November 30, 2020, you have held your license for two full years, the requirement is to have 

completed 15 hours of CME, and those hours must include training on the specific subjects noted 
above. 

In other words, if you  are renewing a license  that was issued prior to November 30, 2018, the 
requirement is to have completed at least 15 hours of CME. 

2) What if I am not actively practicing medicine, but want to keep my Vermont license active? 

You will need to renew your license and you will still be required to take 15 hours of CME, including the 

two subjects listed above. 

3) If I am not actively practicing, how do I know what CMEs to take? 

A physician who is not actively practicing may consider the last area of practice to be the area of specialty 
for the purpose of CME. 

4) I don’t have enough credits. What do I do? 

File a make-up plan in accordance with Board Rule 22.3. 

5) Do I need to submit certificates? 

No, but  be sure that you have documentation for all credits you claim. The Board conducts an audit after 
every renewal cycle. Licensees who are selected at random must then produce certificates. 

Please contact the Board with your questions or for more information about the rules: 

Phone: 802-657-4223 
Email: AHS.VDHMedicalBoard@vermont.gov 

https://www.healthvermont.gov/sites/default/files/documents/pdf/CME%20Excerpt%20of%20Rules%20for%20License%20Renewal.pdf
mailto:AHS.VDHMedicalBoard@vermont.gov

