
At its June 2020, meeting the Vermont 

Board of Medical Practice passed a motion 

reducing the requirements for the number 

of hours of CME that must be completed 

for physician (MD) license renewal during 

the renewal period that begins in August 

and ends in November of this year. The 

changes apply only to the total 

number of hours that must be 

completed. 

The requirements for specific subjects are in law and have not been modified. Renewing MDs must have completed at least one 

hour of CME on hospice, palliative care, and/or pain management services. Licensees who have a DEA registration must 

complete at least two hours of training on prescribing controlled substances as detailed in the Board Rules. The subject-specific 

requirements apply the same to all physicians who must complete CME. 

Information about the Decision to Reduce the Hours 

 

Many conferences and CME events have been cancelled or 

reduced in hours and converted to “virtual” events online. In 

addition, even though Vermont has not encountered 

demands on the healthcare system to a degree seen in other 

states, most all physicians have been challenged to adapt to 

new protocols and systems for delivering care, and many 

Vermont-licensed physicians regularly practice in some of the 

states that have been hardest hit by the COVID-19 

pandemic. Members also took note of the fact that many 

licensees have needed to engage in numerous hours of study 

and professional development regarding COVID-19 treatment 

and protocols, and it is unlikely that much of that activity 

qualifies for AMA PRA Category 1 TM credit. The Board hopes 

that Vermont physicians find this small accommodation 

helpful during these difficult times.     

 

General Information about Vermont CME 
 

The requirements for CME are established in law (26 V.S.A. § 

1400(b); Act 173 of 2016, Sec. 9) and in the Board’s Rules, 

Rule 22.0. To count toward the requirements, an activity 

must qualify for AMA PRA Category 1TM credit. The only 

exception to the requirement for completion of CME is for 

physicians in the US armed forces whose ability to complete 

CME is affected by a call to active duty or deployment, as 

detailed in Rule 22.1.8. Physicians who hold a full license, 

but who are also participating in GME training, may seek 

constructive credit as detailed in Rule 22.2.3. Physicians who 

have not completed the requirements can still renew their 

licenses; they need only submit a make-up plan in 

accordance with Rule 22.3. Licensees are not required to 

submit certificates for CME at the time of renewal, but 

completion of CME is subject to audit. Audits are conducted 

after each renewal period.   

MD CME Requirements for 2020 Renewal Adjusted in Response to COVID-19 

• For physicians licensed to practice in Vermont for the entire two-year 

licensing period, they must complete a minimum of 15 hours of qualifying 

activity. (Reduced from the normal requirement of 30 hours.) 

 

• For physicians who were granted a Vermont license during the first year of 

the licensing period (December 1, 2018 to November 30, 2019), they must 

complete a minimum of 10 hours of qualifying activity. (Reduced from the 

normal requirement of 15 hours.) 

https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/26/023/01400
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/26/023/01400
https://www.healthvermont.gov/sites/default/files/documents/pdf/CME%20Excerpt%20of%20Rules%20for%20License%20Renewal.pdf
https://www.healthvermont.gov/sites/default/files/documents/pdf/CME%20Excerpt%20of%20Rules%20for%20License%20Renewal.pdf

