

## Vermont Health Department Calls on Pediatricians and Family Practitioners to Address Declines in Lead Testing

Vermont law requires that all children are tested for lead at 12 months and 24 months. Unfortunately, the pandemic and the LeadCare II test kit recall have led to significant declines in lead testing. The percentage of 1-year-olds tested decreased from 75% in 2019 to 69% in 2021, and the percentage of 2-year-olds tested decreased from 72% in 2019 to 62% in 2021.

Pediatricians and Family Practitioners can help by testing all 1- and 2-year-old children at their well child visit, educating families about lead exposure, and ensuring that children who missed their lead screening are tested as soon as possible.

Check out the May 16 article from AAP News: CDC calls on pediatricians to address challenges in lead poisoning prevention.

In addition, as of July 1, 2022, <u>Pediatric Blood Lead Testing Guidelines</u> require any detected and reported level of lead to be monitored. No level of lead exposure or blood lead level is safe, and even low levels can impact neurodevelopment.

You can find more information and resources at healthvermont.gov/lead/providers, or you can contact the Healthy Homes Lead Poisoning Prevention Program at 802-863-7220 or <u>AHS.HealthyHomes@vermont.gov</u>.

