
CME Hour Requirements FAQ 
Vermont law requires physicians licensed by the Board of Medical Practice to complete continuing 
medical education training in each two-year license period. For the 2024 physician license renewal, the 
requirement for most is 30 hours of AMA PRA Category 1TM . There are two subjects that must be part 
of the required CME: 

• prescribing of controlled substances (2 credits required only for licensees who have or have
applied for DEA registration) and

• hospice/palliative care/end-of-life care/pain management (1 credit required for all licensees).

Please Note: E credit and P credit is not the same as AMA PRA Category 1TM credits. 

1) How do I know how many hours of CME are required for license renewal?

Time is calculated from the date the license was approved by the Board until the date of expiration.

• If, as of November 30, 2024, you have held your Vermont physician license for less than one year,
there is no requirement for CME at the time of the first renewal.

In other words, if your license was granted after December 1, 2023, you do not need CME to 
renew. 

• If as of November 30, 2024, you have held your Vermont physician license for more than one year but
less than two, the requirement is to have completed at least 15 hours of CME, and those hours must
include training on the specific subjects noted above.

In other words, if your license was granted between December 1, 2022 and November 
30, 2023, the requirement is to have completed at least 15 hours of CME. 

• If as of November 30, 2024, you have held your license for two full years, the requirement is to have
completed 30 hours of CME, and those hours must include training on the specific subjects noted
above.

In other words, if you are renewing a license that was issued prior to November 30, 2022, the 
requirement is to have completed at least 30 hours of CME. 

2) What if I am not actively practicing medicine, but want to keep my Vermont license active?

You will need to renew your license and you will still be required to take 30 hours of CME, including 
the two subjects listed above. 

3) If I am not actively practicing, how do I know what CMEs to take?

A physician who is not actively practicing may consider the last area of practice to be the area of specialty 
for the purpose of CME. 

4) I don’t have enough credits. What do I do?

File a make-up plan in accordance with Board Rule 24.3

5) Do I need to submit certificates?
No, but be sure that you have documentation for all credits you claim. The Board conducts an audit after 
every renewal cycle. Licensees who are selected at random must then produce certificates. 

Please contact the Board with your questions or for more information about the rules: 

Phone: 802-657-4223 
Email: AHS.VDHMedicalBoard@vermont.gov 

https://www.healthvermont.gov/sites/default/files/documents/pdf/CME%20Excerpt%20of%20Rules%20for%20License%20Renewal.pdf
mailto:AHS.VDHMedicalBoard@vermont.gov
https://www.healthvermont.gov/sites/default/files/document/bmp-excerpt-md-cme-requirements-from-bmp-rules.pdf
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