## **CME Hour Requirements FAQ**

Vermont law requires physicians licensed by the Board of Medical Practice to complete continuing medical education training in each two-year license period. For this year, recognizing the impact of COVID-19, the requirement for most licensees has been reduced to 15 AMA PRA Category 1<sup>TM</sup> credits (from the usual 30 credits/hours). There are two subjects that must be part of the required CME:

- prescribing of controlled substances (<u>2 credits</u> required only for licensees who have or have applied for DEA registration) <u>and</u>
- hospice/palliative care/end-of-life care/pain management (1 credit required for all licensees).

**Please Note:** E credits and P credits are not the same as AMA PRA Category 1<sup>TM</sup> credits.

## How do I know how many hours of CME are required for license renewal?

Time is calculated from the date the license was approved by the Board until the date of expiration.

- If as of November 30, 2020 you have held your Vermont physician license for less than one year, there is no requirement for CME at the time of the first renewal.
  - In other words, if your license was granted after December 1, 2019, you do not need to certify that you have met the CME requirements.
- If as of November 30, 2020, you have held your Vermont physician license for more than one year, the requirement is to have completed at least 10 hours of CME, and those hours must include training on the specific subjects noted above.

In other words, if your license was granted between December 1, 2018 and November 30, 2019, the requirement is to have completed at least 10 hours of CME.

## What if I am not actively practicing medicine, but want to keep my Vermont license active?

You will need to renew your license and you will still be required to take 15 hours of CME, including the two subjects listed above.

## If I am not actively practicing, how do I know what CMEs to take?

A physician who is not actively practicing may consider the last area of practice to be the area of specialty for the purpose of CME.

Please contact the Board with your questions or for more information about the rules:

Phone: 802-657-4223

Email: AHS.VDHMedicalBoard@vermont.gov

