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Tobacco Cessation and Control Funding: Secure at least $1 million in additional funding for
Vermont’s Comprehensive Tobacco Control Program.

e The Vermont Health Department’s Tobacco Control Program 2021 report notes that nicotine sales
have surged during the pandemic and highlights an “urgent need” to address increased cigarette
and e-cigarette use by youth with increased depressive symptoms from COVID.

e Adult tobacco sales have increased for the first time in 20 years and the Vermont adult smoking
rate of 16% is now higher than the national average of 14%.

e But while smoking has increased, funding for the Tobacco Control Program has been reduced over
time and the program’s $3.8 million in funding is $2.3 million short of the minimum funding
recommendation by the CDC.

e This is significantly short-changing Vermont youth, especially when Vermont receives $99.8 million
in revenue each year from the tobacco settlement payments and tobacco taxes.

e The tobacco control program needs resources. In Vermont, 16% of adults smoke cigarettes and 28%
of high school students use tobacco products. There are also populations with high smoking rates:
Native Americans — 35%, Adults with disabilities — 32%, Low-income Vermonters — 31%, adults with
depression — 26%, and high school LGBTQ — 33%.

e Smoking costs Vermont $348 million in health care costs annually, including $87.2 million in
Medicaid. Vermont could save $35.2 million in future health care spending by funding the program
at CDC-recommended levels.

Flavored Tobacco Restrictions: Eliminate the sale of menthol and flavored tobacco products.
Flavors are fueling the e-cigarette epidemic. Menthol is hooking youth and people of color
due to aggressive industry marketing.

o 7% of Vermont high school students smoke but with e-cigarette use included, 28% of Vermont youth
use some tobacco product. More than 1 in 4 Vermont high school students now use e-cigarettes.
From 2017 to 2019, use more than doubled among this age group (from 12% to 26%).

e Menthol creates a cooling effect, reduces the harshness of cigarette smoke and suppresses
coughing. Those effects make menthol cigarettes more appealing to young inexperienced smokers.

e Health equity is a concern as tobacco industry documents show a concerted effort to target African-
Americans with menthol which has resulted in high use rates. 85% of African American adult
smokers and of black youth ages 12-17 who smoke, 7 out of 10 use menthol cigarettes.

Eliminate tobacco laws that punish youth: Repeal laws that penalize for the purchase, use, and
possession of tobacco.

e Penalizing kids is not an effective strategy to reduce youth tobacco use.

e “PUP” laws unfairly punish and stigmatize kids, many of whom become addicted because of the
tobacco industry’s aggressive marketing to kids.

e PUP laws are also inequitable because they disproportionately affect youth of color.

Coalition for a Tobacco Free Vermont
Contact: tina.zuk@heart.org; mike.rollo@cancer.org; trevor.summerfield@lung.org
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1. Rule 1: Licensing of Cannabis Establishments

1.1 Section 1: General Provisions

1.11

Authority



The Cannabis Control Board adopts this rule pursuantto 7 V.S.A. 88 881, 883, 884, 901, 902,
903, Section 8 of Act 164 (2020), and other applicable law.

1.1.2 Scope and Purpose

The Board is charged with implementing and regulating a legal market for Cannabis in Vermont.
This rule regulates the licensing of Cannabis Establishments.

1.1.3 Definitions

All definitions in 7 V.S.A. § 861 shall apply to this rule. The following definitions shall also
apply:

(a) “Flammable Solvent” means a liquid that has a flash point below 100 degrees Fahrenheit.

(b) “Indoor cultivation” means growing Cannabis using artificial lighting.

(c) “Inventory Tracking System” means a method implemented by the Board for tracing all
Cannabis and Cannabis Products grown, manufactured, and sold in Vermont.

(d) “Interest holder” has the same meaning as defined in 11A V.S.A. § 11.01(11).

(e) “Licensee” means a person who has been issued a license pursuant to this rule. A licensee
does not include a person who has been issued a provisional license.

(f) “Outdoor cultivation” means growing Cannabis in an expanse of open or cleared ground
that is not enclosed by a structure and in a manner that does not use artificial lighting.

(9) “Physical site of operations” means:

i. A cultivator’s grow site,

ii. A wholesaler’s product storage facility,
ilii. A manufacturer’s site of manufacture,
iv. A retailer’s store location, or
V. A testing laboratory’s testing facility.

(h) “Provisional license” means a certification issued by the Board in, accordance with this
rule, prior to a person’s approval as a licensee. A provisional license does not permit the
recipient to operate a Cannabis Establishment.

(1) “Social equity applicant” means either a “social equity individual applicant” or a “social
equity business applicant” as those terms are defined in this rule.

(1) “Social equity individual applicant” means an individual who is a resident of Vermont
and who meets one of more of the following criteria:

i they are a socially disadvantaged individual, as defined below,

i they have been arrested, convicted, or incarcerated for a cannabis-related offense,
or

iii they have a family member who has been arrested, convicted, or incarcerated for
a cannabis-related offense.

1 For the purposes of this definition, “family member” shall mean the
following: a spouse, domestic partner (as defined in 17 V.S.A.
82414(e)(1)), child, step-child who resided with the family member when
the child was a minor, minor in their guardianship, legal guardian, parent,
sibling, grandparent, or grandchild.



(K) “Social equity business applicant” means a corporation, partnership, or other business
entity that meets the federal standards for Disadvantaged Business Enterprises (DBES) as
set forth in 49 C.F.R. 88 26.69 and 26.71, even if the entity has not applied for any
federal DBE programs. In determining whether a business applicant meets the federal
standards for DBEs, the Board will consider only participants in the business who meet
the definition of socially disadvantaged individual as defined by section 1.1.3(1)(i) of this
rule and who are residents of Vermont.

(I) “Socially disadvantaged individual” is an individual who meets at least one of the
following criteria:

i They meet the criteria for social disadvantage as set forth in the following federal
regulations regarding DBEs: 49 C.F.R. 8§ 26.67(a)(1) and (b)(2)-(3), whether or
not they have applied for any DBE programs, provided that no person shall be
excluded from this definition because of their citizenship or immigration status; or

il They are (1) from a community that has historically been disproportionately
impacted by cannabis prohibition and (2) able to demonstrate to the Board that
they were personally harmed by the disproportionate impact. In assessing this
personal harm, the Board may consider factors such as educational impacts, lost
employment opportunities, or housing insecurity.

1.14 Applicability

This rule applies to persons who engage in the transfer or sale of Cannabis or Cannabis Products,
including transfers or sales related to cultivating, manufacturing, wholesaling, or retailing
Cannabis or Cannabis Products, except that this rule does not apply to activities regulated by
Chapters 35 and 37 of Title 7 of the Vermont statutes and by Rule 3 of the Board’s rules. This
rule also applies to those who provide laboratory testing services to persons who engage in the
transfer or sale of Cannabis or Cannabis Products.

1.15 Time

(@) In computing any time period, measured in days, that is established or allowed by this
rule or by order of the Board or Chair:

(1) the day of the act or event that triggers the period shall be excluded;

(2) every day, including intermediate Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays shall
be counted,;

(3) the last day of the period shall be counted, but if the last day is a Saturday,
Sunday, or legal holiday, the period continues to run until the end of the next day
that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.

(b) A “legal holiday” means:
(1) any day declared a holiday by the President or Congress of the United States; and
(2) any day declared a holiday by the State of Vermont.

1.1.6 Severability

If any portion of this rule is found to be invalid, the remaining portion of the rule shall remain in
force and effect.


https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-49/subtitle-A/part-26/subpart-D/section-26.69
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-49/subtitle-A/part-26/subpart-D/section-26.71
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-49/subtitle-A/part-26/subpart-D/section-26.67

1.2 Section 2: License Application Format and Fees
1.2.1 Form

Applicants are required to submit an application in a format determined by the Board. The Board
will make the application form readily accessible to the public.

1.2.2 Fees

Applicants will be required to pay fees, or demonstrate that they qualify for a fee waiver or
reduction, in accordance with a fee schedule and waiver or reduction policy that the Board will
make readily accessible to the public. The fee waiver or reduction policy will include a schedule
of waivers and reductions for social equity applicants.

1.3 Section 3: License Tiers

The Board establishes the following tiers for cultivation, retail, and manufacturing licenses.
1.3.1 Cultivation License Tiers

(a) Outdoor Cultivation:

Tier | Max Sq Ft of Total Plant Canopy
1,000
2,500
5,000
10,000
20,000
37,500

o O W DN

(b) Indoor Cultivation:

Tier | Max Sq Ft of Total Plant Canopy
1,000
2,500
5,000
10,000
15,000
25,500

o Ol A W N




(c) Mixed-Use Cultivation Licenses: mixed-use cultivation license holders are permitted to
have a maximum of 1,000 square feet of indoor cultivation plant canopy and grow up to
50 plants in outdoor cultivation at the same location.

1.3.2 Retail License Tiers

(a) Retail — Storefront: This tier is a stand-alone retail location that sells Cannabis and
Cannabis Products to consumers. A Retail — Storefront licensee may also sell all products
a Retail — Nursery may sell.

(b) Retail — Nursery: This tier enables the licensee to sell seeds and clones to home
cultivators or other licensees.

1.3.3 Manufacturing License Tiers

(a) Tier 1 Manufacturer: A Tier 1 Manufacturer may, purchase, process, manufacture,
transfer, and sell Cannabis as well as finished and in-process Cannabis Products to other
Licensees but not directly to consumers. A Tier 1 Manufacturer may produce Cannabis
Products using all lawful methods of extraction.

(b) Tier 2 Manufacturer: A Tier 2 Manufacturer may purchase, process, manufacture,
transfer, and sell Cannabis as well as finished and in-process Cannabis Products to other
Licensees but not directly to consumers. A Tier 2 Manufacturer may produce Cannabis
Products using the following methods but may not utilize unapproved flammable solvent
chemical extraction or flammable solvent chemical synthesis.

I.  Water-Based Extraction: extraction using only water, ice, or other freezing
substrate or process as approved by the Board.

ii.  Food-Based Extraction: extraction using propylene glycol, glycerin, butter,
coconut or olive oil, other typical cooking fats, or alcohol as approved by the
Board.

iii.  Heat/Pressure-Based Extraction: extraction using heat and/or pressure as
approved by the Board.

No manufacturer may violate a prohibition on manufacturing processes contained in 18 V.S.A. §
4230h.

1.4 Section 4: License Application Requirements for All License Types

The requirements in this section apply to all license types authorized under 7 V.S.A. § 901.

1.4.1 Operating plans

Applicants must present an operating plan, which shall include all requirements of 7 V.S.A. §



881(a)(1)(B)(i) and, to the extent they are not required by that provision, the following elements:

(a) The proposed Cannabis Establishment’s legal name and any registered alternate name
under which it may conduct business,

(b) the name of the individual who will serve as primary point of contact with the Board,

(c) the type of license sought and, if relevant, the license tier,

(d) documentation that the applicant is an entity registered to do business in Vermont,

(e) federal tax identification number,

() alist of the principals of the proposed Cannabis Establishment,

(9) alist of all persons having control of the Cannabis Establishment,

(h) documentation and description, including the persons involved, of any contractual,
management, or other agreement that explicitly or implicitly conveys control over the
Cannabis Establishment,

(i) for each person identified in (f) through (h) of this subsection, disclose whether that
person would be required to be identified pursuant to (f) through (h) of any other license
application, and

(j) documentation disclosing whether any person named in sections (f) through (h) of this
subsection is a controlling interest holder in a past or present Cannabis-related business in
another jurisdiction.

1.4.2 Record Checks

An applicant, principal of an applicant, and person who controls an applicant, who is a natural
person, shall be 21 years of age or older and shall consent to the release of his or her criminal
and administrative records.

Each applicant, principal of an applicant, and person who controls an applicant, who is a natural
person, shall submit the following to the Board:

(a) the individual's full legal name and any aliases,

(b) the individual's address,

(c) the individual's date of birth,

(d) a photocopy of the individual's driver's license or other government-issued identification
card,

(e) a full set of fingerprints in a form and manner as determined by the Board,

(F) any other authorization or disclosure deemed necessary by the Board for the purpose of
conducting a background check,

(9) a description of any criminal action against an applicant, principal, or person in any
jurisdiction that resulted in a conviction, guilty plea, plea of nolo contendere or admission
to sufficient facts,

(h) a description of any civil action in any jurisdiction in which the applicant, principal, or
person is or was a hamed party,

(i) adescription of any administrative action taken against the applicant, principal, or person
in any jurisdiction,

(j) adescription of any disciplinary action against a license, registration, or certification held
by the applicant, principal, or person, such as a suspension or revocation, including, but
not limited to, a license to prescribe or distribute controlled substances, and



(K) a description of any license denial, and the reasons for denial, in any jurisdiction.
1.4.3 Financiers

(a) Applicants must disclose documentation detailing the sources and amounts of capital
resources available to the applicant from any person that will be contributing capital
resources to the applicant for the purposes of establishing or operating the proposed
Cannabis Establishment.

(b) In addition to the requirements for applicants, principals, and controllers, financiers of
applicants who do not fall into one of those categories must be 21 years of age and may
be subject to the following requirements at the Board’s discretion:

i. requirements to disclose information to a licensed establishment, the Board, or the
Department of Financial Regulation;

ii. arequirement to conduct a background check for natural persons; and

iii. requirements to ensure that a financier complies with applicable State and federal
laws governing financial institutions, licensed lenders, and other financial service
providers.

1.4.4 Compliance and Management Plans

All applicants must:

(a) show a plan to register or comply with any Board-required third-party systems (for
example, the Inventory Tracking System);

(b) submit a health and safety plan;

(c) submit a storage and record keeping plan;

(d) submit an inventory control plan;

(e) submit a contingency and continuity plan that addresses the dispersal or disposal of
inventory in the event of an abrupt closure;

(F) submit a timeline for beginning operations of the Cannabis Establishment;

(g) attest that they will comply with applicable municipal ordinances; and

(h) attest that they will comply with required inspections or permits from other state and
local agencies (for example, certificates of occupancy).

Applicants who intend to hire, or who have hired, employees must provide:

(i) an overview of positions and staffing levels;

(J) an overview of general roles and responsibilities of staff;
(k) an overview of the management structure; and

() employee hiring and training plan, including safety training.

1.45 Insurance, Taxation, and Banking Requirements

Each applicant shall submit the following:



(a) documentation of general liability and product liability insurance coverage, or an
approved alternative, at levels enumerated in Board Rule 2.2.2;

(b) documentation of bond or escrow for cessation of operation of a Cannabis Establishment
costs in an amount to be determined by Board guidance;

(c) documentation of compliance with, or plan to comply with, worker’s compensation
requirements, if applicable;

(d) confirmation of current Vermont tax compliance, or confirmation of a plan with the
Department of Taxes to come into compliance, provided that this does not apply to tax
liability from profits related to Cannabis businesses;

(e) state tax identification number and school property account number if the applicant owns
the property at the physical site of operations;

(F) authorization to release information to other state agencies, or to banking entities with
whom the applicant seeks to bank; and

(9) sufficient documentation, as determined by the Board, of one of the following:

i.  adeposit account with a financial institution; or
ii.  evidence of an attempt to open such an account along with a cash management
plan.

1.4.6 Location Information

Applicants must provide both:

(a) A business address as well as precise location information for the physical site of
operations for the proposed Cannabis Establishment. The location information for the
physical site of operations must be in the form of GPS coordinates. GPS coordinates must
be provided in Decimal Degrees (DD) format.

(b) Proof that the applicant has a right to occupy the physical site of operations, through
proof of ownership, a lease, or other document demonstrating a right to occupy and use
the property, or proof that such a right will exist prior to the start of Cannabis
Establishment operations.

1.4.7 Security

All applicants must submit a plan to comply with security requirements relevant to any license or
licenses they seek to obtain, as enumerated in Board Rule 2.

1.4.8 Information Sharing with State Agencies
By applying, an applicant consents to the Board sharing applicant information with other
Vermont state agencies, including, but not limited to, the Department of Financial Regulation

and the Department of Labor. Information deemed confidential by 7 V.S.A. § 901(h) will remain
confidential even if it is in the possession of another state agency.

1.4.9 Plans Related to Positive Impact Criteria

(a) To the extent required in subsection (b), applicants must include plans related to the
criteria listed in subsections (c) and (d). Failure to do so will not result in disqualification



of their application but will pause their license approval process until they provide the
relevant plan information.

(b) Applicants that are not testing laboratories must show plans for completion of the criteria
in subsection (c) and (d) to the following extent:

i. Corporations, partnerships, or other business entities that are not sole
proprietorships, and any applicants with plans to hire 2 to 10 employees must
show plans to satisfy at least one criteria from subsection (c) and at least one
criteria from subsection (d).

ii. All applicants that plan to hire more than 10 employees must show plans to satisfy
at least 3 criteria from subsections (c) and (d).

(c) To the extent required by subsection (b) of this section, applicants must propose plans to
recruit, hire, and implement a development ladder for minorities, women, or individuals
who have historically been disproportionately impacted by cannabis prohibition using the
following options:

i. Inclusive hiring and contracting plans.

ii. A plan for providing livable wage and paid leave.

iii. Adopting and supporting incubator or accelerator programs that seek to assist
businesses that meet the definition of a social equity applicant or are minority or
women-owned, including but not limited to providing:

1. grants or access to capital;

2. cultivation, manufacturing, or retail space;

3. management training or other forms of industry-specific technical training;
or

4. mentorship from experts;

iv. community re-investment, including a contribution or contributions to the
Cannabis Business Development Fund established by 7 V.S.A. § 987.

(d) To the extent required by subsection (b) of this section, applicants must propose plans to
incorporate principles of environmental resiliency or sustainability, including energy
efficiency, using the following options:

i. Sustainable agricultural practices.

ii. Sourcing energy from renewables.

iii. Prioritizing the use of recyclable, compostable, or reusable materials.

iv. Exceeding minimum waste standards, as provided by Rule 2.2.8, or exceeding
minimum efficiency standards as provided by Rule 2.5, if applicable.

v. Contribute to anti-pollution efforts, which could include but is not limited to the
use of carbon off-sets.

1.4.10 Statement of Truthfulness and Accuracy

All applicants shall attest to the truthfulness and accuracy of the information contained in their
application.

1.5 Section 5: License Application Requirements for Cultivators



The requirements in this section apply to applications for a cultivator license.
151 Location Information

In addition to the information required in subsection 1.4.5 of this rule, an applicant must provide:
(a) A diagram or a site plan of the physical site of operation that is clearly legible and
includes:
i.  north arrow;
ii.  standard scale;
iii.  size of property in acres (for outdoor cultivator) or total square feet (for indoor
cultivator);
iv. total plant canopy dimensions;
v.  for outdoor cultivators, use of land and structures that share the property;
vi.  for indoor cultivators, a diagram of how non-cultivation parts of the facility will
be utilized.
(b) A map showing the boundaries of the planned growing area, provided that this
requirement applies only to outdoor cultivator Tiers 2-6.
(c) The location for outdoor cultivators must comply with Rule 2.4.4 regarding visibility
from a public road.

1.5.2 Water and Wastewater Requirements

General water supply and municipal wastewater requirements:

(a) Cultivators on a municipal water supply must submit a letter from the water utility
certifying the utility’s capacity to provide a sufficient quantity of water to the applicant at
the physical site of operation.

(b) Cultivators using municipal wastewater, or other offsite wastewater system, must submit
a letter certifying the wastewater system’s capacity to accept the quantity and anticipated
strength of wastewater from the physical site of operation.

Tier 5 and 6 Cultivator applicants must:

(c) state the following if their water use and wastewater generation are covered by the
Wastewater System and Potable Water Supply Rule, as promulgated by the Department
of Environmental Conservation:

i.  where they are planning on withdrawing water;

Ii. by what means will they withdraw and, if necessary, store the water prior to use;
iii.  when on-site water is also used for potable/sanitary purposes for employees;
iv.  how many people may be on-site in a given day;

(d) specify the volume and strength of the wastewater that the facility anticipates generating,
using design flows from the Wastewater System and Water Supply Rule where
appropriate and specify how it will be treated and disposed;



(e) state whether the Cannabis Establishment needs to comply with the Indirect Discharge
Rules and Underground Injection Control Rules as promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Conservation; and

(F) describe the anticipated means of collecting, storing, treating, and discharging
wastewater.

153 Indoor Cultivators

Indoor cultivation Cannabis Establishments must identify whether their water supply and
wastewater systems must comply with any applicable portion of the Department of
Environmental Conservation’s Drinking Water and Groundwater Protection Division rules.

1.6 Section 6: License Application Requirements for Manufacturers

The requirements in this section apply to applications for a manufacturing license.

Manufacturers must provide a list of intended productions items and the means of production, in
a format to be determined by the Board.

1.7 Section 7: License Application Requirements for Retailers

The requirements in this section apply to applications for a retail license.
Retailers must provide:

(a) alist of intended sale items;
(b) whether an intended sale item contains CBD, hemp, or a hemp-derived compound, or is a
consumable item that is not intoxicating.

1.8 Section 8: License Application Requirements for Testing Laboratories
The requirements in this section apply to applications for a testing laboratory license.

Applications for testing laboratories may be reviewed for qualification by the Board or a Board
designee.

At its discretion, the Board may waive or reduce licensing requirements, including fees, for a
laboratory that has a current certification under the Cannabis Quality Control Program
established by the Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets under 6 V.S.A. § 567.

A testing laboratory applicant must submit:
(a) current laboratory accreditation certificates, or proof of certification under the Cannabis
Quality Control Program established by the Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and
Markets under 6 V.S.A. § 567;



(b) laboratory quality assurance manual or procedures which document the lab quality
control system, and an outline of the quality management system;

(c) the laboratory standard operating procedures for analysis of Cannabis and Cannabis
Products;

(d) a master list of all analytical and non-analytical (i.e., safety and training) standard
operating procedures indicating the latest revision and review dates and current effective
dates;

(e) documentation of educational and technical credentials for all key technical and
management personnel;

(F) current organization chart, including reporting relationships;

(g) example Certificates of Analysis (CoA) to be issued by the laboratory for each test area,
containing all information required in a CoA;

(h) the latest proficiency results for Cannabis testing or similar matrix (i.e., food, solids,) for
all test areas in which it states it is certified, if available;

(i) proof of analytical proficiency.

1.9 Section 9: License Application Requirements for Integrated Licensees
The requirements in this section apply to applications for an integrated license.

An integrated license applicant must meet all requirements in sections 1.4-1.8 of this rule, and
must also submit:
(a) A plan to provide reduced cost or free Cannabis to patients with documented, verified
financial hardship who are utilizing the dispensary operation;
(b) a plan to ensure 25% of Cannabis flower sold is obtained from Tier 1 cultivators,
(c) alist of products purchased by registered patients in the preceding 12 months;
(d) plan to ensure continuity of products for patients accessing the dispensary operation;
(e) plan to contribute $50,000 to the Cannabis business development fund by October 1,
2022; and
(f) attestation of good standing with respect to their medical Cannabis dispensary license in
accordance with 7 V.S.A. 8 903(a)(1). For the purposes of this subsection (f), good
standing shall mean the dispensary is in compliance with Chapter 86 of Title 18 of the
Vermont Statutes, and with all associated rules.

1.10 Section 10: License Application Acceptance Periods

(a) The Board will accept license applications in accordance with legislatively mandated
time periods.

(b) Other than legislatively mandated time periods, the Board may open or close acceptance
periods for applications at its discretion, provided that the Board will give public notice
no less than 30 days prior to opening or closing an application acceptance period.

(c) The Board may set separate application acceptance periods for each of the license types
and may set separate application acceptance periods for each tier within tiered license

types.



(d) Other than legislatively mandated application acceptance periods, the Board may open
application periods at their discretion, subject to the following limitations:
i.  the Board shall accept applications for license types, other than cultivation license
types, for no less than 30 days each calendar year; and
ii.  the Board shall accept applications for Tiers 1 and 2 of both indoor and outdoor
cultivation license types for no less than 30 days each calendar year.

1.11 Section 11: Criminal Records and License Qualification Determinations
1.11.1 Effect of Criminal Records on Application

Except as provided in 1.11.2, no criminal offense committed by an applicant, the principal of an
applicant, or a person who owns or controls an applicant, will have a negative effect on their
application or disqualify them from obtaining a license.

1.11.2 Presumptive Disqualification

Convictions for offenses in the following categories presumptively disqualify an applicant, the
principal of an applicant, or a person who owns or controls an applicant from gaining a license to
operate a Cannabis Establishment, provided that a person may overcome the presumption as
specified in section 1.11.3:

(a) A listed crime as defined in subsection 13 V.S.A. 8 5301(7) or the equivalent in another
jurisdiction;

(b) a state or federal felony offense involving fraud, deceit, or embezzlement;

(c) trafficking of a regulated substance other than Cannabis. For the purposes of this
subsection (c), trafficking will mean a violation of 18 V.S.A. 88 4231(c), 4233(c),
4233a(b), 4234a(c), or a non-violent drug distribution offense in another jurisdiction that
carries a maximum penalty of 30 years of incarceration or greater;

(d) dispensing cannabis to a person under 21 years of age in violation of 18 V.S.A. § 4230f,
or the equivalent offense in another jurisdiction;

(e) misdemeanor convictions that occurred within the 2 years preceding the application;
except for non-violent drug offenses; or

(F) felony convictions that occurred within the 5 years preceding the application, except for
non-violent drug offenses.

1.11.3 Overcoming Presumptive Disqualification

The Board may deem an individual qualified to obtain a license even if they were convicted of
an offense enumerated in section 1.11.2. In making this decision, the Board shall consider the
following factors:

(a) The nature and seriousness of the crime or offense;
(b) The circumstances under which the crime or offense occurred;
(c) The date of the crime or offense;



(d) The age of the person when the crime or offense was committed;

(e) Whether the individual committed subsequent offenses;

(F) Any social conditions that may have contributed to the commission of the crime or
offense;

(9) The nature and responsibility of the position that the person with a conviction would
hold, has held, or currently holds; and

(h) Any evidence of rehabilitation.

License applications will allow applicants to provide additional information related to these
factors, if relevant.

1.12 Section 12: Issuance of Licenses

(a) The Board shall issue licenses to applicants who meet all requirements for their licenses
contained in this rule and all requirements for their licenses contained in Chapter 33 of
Title 7 of the Vermont Statutes.

(b) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section 1.12, the Board retains the right to deny a
license to an applicant that the Board finds would threaten public health or safety if the
applicant were to obtain a license. Such a decision shall be supported by written findings.

(c) Applicants who falsely attest to the truthfulness and accuracy of the information in their
application will be deemed unqualified for a license. If an applicant applies for a license
again subsequent to such a denial, the Board may request additional information from the
applicant, at the Board’s discretion, to assess the truthfulness and accuracy of the
subsequent application.

1.13 Section 13: Provisional Licenses
1.13.1 Purpose of Provisional Licenses

The Board at its discretion may choose to accept provisional license applications, in accordance
with this section, for the purposes of smoothing the application process for applicants as well as
assisting the Board in anticipating the structure of the market.

1.13.2 Limits of Provisional Licenses
A provisional license does not permit the recipient to operate a Cannabis Establishment. An
applicant does not become a licensed Cannabis Establishment, and is not permitted to operate,
until the Board issues the applicant a license subsequent to the submission of the applicant’s
complete and successful application in accordance with this rule.

1.13.3 Forms and Fees for Provisional Licenses

(a) Those applying for a provisional license are required to submit an application in a format



determined by the Board. The Board will make the application form readily accessible to
the public.

(b) Applicants will be required to pay fees, or show they qualify for a fee waiver or
reduction, in accordance with a fee schedule and waiver or reduction policy that the
Board will be make readily accessible to the public. The fee waiver or reduction policy
will include a schedule of waivers and reduction for social equity applicants.

1.13.4 Provisional License Application Acceptance Periods

The Board may choose to accept provisional license applications at its discretion. It will provide
public notice of its intention to accept provisional licenses no less than 30 days prior to opening
the acceptance period. It will provide public notice of its intention to close a provisional license
application acceptance period no less than 30 days prior to closure.

1.135 Provisional License Application and Issuance

(a) Provisional license applications shall consist of the materials required by sections 1.4.1
and 1.4.2 of this rule.

(b) The Board shall certify a provisional license for any provisional license application that
meets the requirements of subsections 1.4.1 and 1.4.2 of this rule and is not in violation
of 7V.S.A. § 901(d)(3).

1.13.6 Converting a Provisional License to a Full License Application

Provisional licenses shall remain valid for 365 days from the date of issuance. They may be
rescinded by the Board if the Board learns that information provided in the provisional license
was not truthful or accurate. Persons with a provisional license must do the following to convert
their provisional license into a full license application:

(a) update all information submitted in accordance with section 1.13.5 of this rule, and
(b) provide all other applicant information required by this rule.

1.14 Section 14: Priority of Board Considerations for License Applications

(a) The Board shall consider applications under a priority system that is laid out in a policy
readily available to the public.

(b) The policy shall give top priority to social equity applicants when considering
applications.

(c) The policy shall also utilize the factors listed in 7 V.S.A. § 903(a).

1.15 Section 15: License Renewal Procedures

1.15.1 License Renewal Timeframes



(a) Licenses are valid for the time period provided in 7 V.S.A. 8 901, except as provided in
subsection 1.15.2.
(b) The Board will send notice for license renewals no less than 120 days prior to the
expiration of a license.
(c) Renewal applications may be submitted up to 90 days prior to their expiration.
(d) A licensee must apply for renewal no less than 30 days prior to the license’s expiration
date, provided that:
i. ifalicensee fails to meet this deadline, they may submit a renewal application
accompanied by a written explanation for the untimely filing, and
ii.  the Board may accept such a renewal application and, if necessary, continue the
licensee’s existing license until such time as the renewal process is completed.
(e) If alicensee files a timely renewal application but does not receive a response from the
Board prior to the expiration date for their license their license shall continue to be valid
until such time as the Board provides a response, at which time their license will be
renewed if the application is granted or terminated if it is not.
(F) A licensee who does not submit a license renewal application prior to the expiration of
their license is no longer a licensee upon the date their license expires. Such a person may
no longer operate the Cannabis Establishment.

1.15.2 Change of Control Requires a License Renewal Application

(a) If an interest holder who has control of a licensee will be changed, including by adding a
person who will be an interest holder and will have control, removing a person who is an
interest holder and has control, or transferring control from one person who is an interest
holder to another person who is an interest holder, the licensee must apply for a renewal
of their license prior to executing the change of control, except as provided by
subdivision (a)(i) of this section 1.15.2.

i.  Inthe event of the death of an interest holder who has control of a licensee, the
licensee may notify the Board of the death at the time the license would have been
required to be renewed pursuant to 7 V.S.A. 8§ 901.

(b) The renewal must have all application information updated to reflect the proposed
changes of control. These updates must include, but are not limited to, updates of the
information required in sections 1.4.1 and 1.4.2 of this rule.

(c) A licensee who fails to renew their license prior to executing a change of control will be
considered a licensee who failed to renew their license before it expired, as provided for
in section 1.15.1(f) of this rule.

(d) The fees required by section 1.15.3 of this rule will apply to renewal applications
submitted pursuant to this section, provided that the Board will retain discretion to waive
or reduce fees for such renewals.

(e) Upon Board approval of a license renewal application submitted pursuant to this section
the time period for which a license remains valid, as provided by 7 V.S.A. 8 901, will
start again.



(f) If the Board does not approve a license renewal application submitted pursuant to this
section, the licensee may not proceed with the proposed change in control. The licensee’s
existing license will remain in effect until such time as renewal would otherwise have
been required by 7 V.S.A. § 901.

1.15.3 License Renewal Form and Fees

(a) Licensees must apply for renewal in a format determined by the Board. The Board will
make the application form readily accessible to the public.

(b) Applicants will be required to pay fees, or show they qualify for a fee waiver or
reduction, in accordance with a fee schedule and waiver or reduction policy that the
Board will be make readily accessible to the public. The fee waiver or reduction policy
will include a schedule of waivers and reduction for social equity applicants.

1.15.4 License Renewal Information Requirements

Licensees must submit the following information with their renewal applications, if applicable:

(a) efficiency and water benchmarks as required by Board Rule 2.5.6;

(b) pesticide applicator reports as required by Board Rule 2.3.1;

(c) a description of changes or adjustments to an outdoor cultivation site, if any, providing
the same type of location information as required by sections 1.4.5 and 1.5.1 of this rule;

(d) all other updates to the information submitted in a licensee’s application or prior renewal
application; and

(e) information regarding progress on the licensees required goals as required by section
1.4.9 of this rule.

Nothing in this section should be interpreted to supersede or alter a licensee’s continuing duty to
disclose as provided by Board Rule 2.11.

1.155 Conditions For Renewal

The Board shall renew the license of a licensee that meets the following requirements:

(a) Remains in compliance with this rule, with all other relevant Board Rules, and with the
provisions of Chapter 33 of Title 7 of the Vermont Statutes, provided that Notices of
Violation will be dealt with in accordance with subsection (d) of this section 1.15.5;

(b) has paid any fee required by 1.15.3;

(c) has provided the information required by 1.15.4; and

(d) is in good standing with the Board. For the purposes of this section, good standing is
defined as having no unpaid or otherwise unsatisfied final Notice of Violation against the
licensee issued pursuant to Board Rule 4, provided that:

1. a Notice of Violation will not be considered final for the purposes of this
section until all appeals have been exhausted or waived, and



2. A licensee who is complying with a Board-approved plan to remediate
harm stemming from a violation will be considered in good standing.

A licensee whose license has been suspended or revoked pursuant to Board Rule 4 will not be
considered a licensee for the purposes of this section. License reinstatement in those
circumstances, if available, is governed by Board Rule 4.

1.16 Section 16: Cannabis ldentification Cards
1.16.1 Identification Cards for Owners and Principals

(a) For the purposes of this section, an "owner” means a natural person who controls, or
shares control of, a Cannabis Establishment.

(b) All owners and principals will be issued cannabis identification cards upon the issuance
of a license to operate a Cannabis Establishment.

1.16.2 Forms and Fees for Employee Cannabis Identification Cards

(a) Those applying for employee identification cards are required to submit an application in
a format determined by the Board. The Board will make the application form readily
accessible to the public.

(b) Applicants will be required to pay fees, or show they qualify for a fee waiver or
reduction, in accordance with a fee schedule and waiver or reduction policy that the
Board will be make readily accessible to the public. The fee waiver or reduction policy
will include a schedule of waivers and reduction for social equity applicants.

1.16.3 Application Requirements for Employee Cannabis Identification Cards

To apply for a Cannabis Establishment identification card the following information must be
submitted to the Board:

(a) the licensed Cannabis Establishment where the individual intends to work,

(b) the individual's full legal name and any aliases,

(c) the individual's address,

(d) the individual's date of birth,

(e) a photocopy of the individual's driver's license or other government-issued identification
card,

(F) a full set of fingerprints in a form and manner as determined by the Board,

(9) any other authorization or disclosure deemed necessary by the Board for the purpose of
conducting a background check,

(h) a listing of criminal convictions, including any pending offenses,

(i) information listed in section 1.11.3 of this rule, if applicable,

(j) if the applicant holds or has held a similar card in another jurisdiction, the name of the
issuing authority, and the approximate dates held, and

(k) if a similar card is or has been held in another jurisdiction, whether that card was revoked
and the reason for revocation.



1.16.4 Qualification for Employee Cannabis Identification Cards

Individuals who submit a complete application for an employee cannabis identification card will
be issued a card after a background check is complete, except that:

(a) No individual under 21 years of age will be issued an employee cannabis identification
card; and

(b) the Board may deny an individual a cannabis identification card if an applicant has a
record of any of the following:

i.  apresumptively disqualifying criminal offense as defined in 1.11.2, provided that
the Board will also consider mitigating factors as defined in 1.11.3;

ii.  diversion of Cannabis from a past Cannabis Establishment employer in the
regulated market in Vermont or another state;

iii.  failure to disclose required information on their application;

iv.  revocation of a similar identification card from Vermont or another jurisdiction in
the last 2 years, or more than twice;

v.  fraudulent use of the identification card in Vermont or other jurisdictions
including, but not limited to, tampering, falsifying, altering, modifying,
duplicating, or allowing another person to use, tamper, falsify, alter, modify, or
duplicate the card;

vi.  failure to notify the Board of a lost, stolen, or destroyed card; and

vii.  failure to notify the Board of convictions pending at the time of application or
convictions that occur after the card is issued.

(c) The Board will retain discretion to issue cannabis identification cards to individuals who
have a record of behavior as outlined in subsection (b) if they demonstrate evidence of
rehabilitation or show mitigating social factors surrounding the behavior. Identification
card applications will allow for individuals to provide such evidence or explanation, if
relevant.

1.16.5 Temporary Employee Work Permit

(a) Upon receipt of an application for an identification card and prior to the completion of a
background check the Board will issue a temporary work permit allowing the individual
to work at the Cannabis Establishment if the applicant is over 21 years old and discloses
no record of behavior related to 1.16.4(b) of this rule, except that the Board retains
discretion to deny a temporary license to any applicant if the Board has knowledge of
such a record.

(b) The Board may withdraw a temporary permit if they gain knowledge of behavior related
to 1.16.4(b) after issuing a permit.

(c) If an application for an identification card discloses behavior related to 1.16.4(b) of this
rule, the Board retains discretion to issue a temporary work permit if the Board
determines it can do so consistent with public health and safety.



(d) A temporary permit will expire after 4 months, or upon the issuance or denial of an
identification card, whichever comes first. If a temporary permit expires before the Board
decides whether to issue or deny an identification card, the Board shall issue a new
temporary permit card.

1.16.6 Ongoing Duty to Disclose

The holder of a Cannabis Establishment identification card has an ongoing duty to fully and
transparently disclose any information relevant to the criteria in section 1.16.4 of this rule.

1.16.7 Identification Card Renewal

All holders of cannabis identification cards will undergo a background check by the Board prior
to renewal.

Requests to renew identification cards will be considered pursuant to the standard in section
1.16.4 of this rule.

Identification cards will expire in accordance with the timeline provided by 7 V.S.A. § 884.
Requests to renew identification cards will adhere to the following timeline:

(@) A card holder must apply for renewal no less than 30 days prior to the card’s expiration
date, provided that:
i. ifacard holder fails to meet this deadline, they may submit a renewal application
accompanied by a written explanation for the untimely filing, and
ii.  the Board may accept such a renewal application and, if necessary, continue the
card holder’s existing card until such time as the renewal process is completed.
(b) If a card holder files a timely renewal application but does not receive a response from
the Board prior to the expiration date for their card the card shall continue to be valid
until such time as the Board provides a response, at which time their card will be renewed
if the application is granted or terminated if it is not.
(c) A card holder who does not submit a license renewal application prior to the expiration of
their card is no longer a card holder upon the date their card expires. Such a person may
no longer work at a Cannabis Establishment.

1.17 Section 17: Applicant’s Ongoing Duty to Disclose

An applicant has an ongoing duty to fully and transparently update their application while it is
pending if there are changes to any information submitted in their application.

1.18 Section 18: Confidentiality

The Board will keep confidential application information to the extent required by 7 V.S.A. §



901(h).
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2. Rule 2: Requlation of Cannabis Establishments

2.1 Section 1: General Provisions
2.1.1 Authority

The Cannabis Control Board adopts this rule pursuant to 7 V.S.A. 8§88 865, 866, 881, 883, 884,
904, 907, and other applicable law.

2.1.2 Scope and Purpose

The Board is charged with implementing and regulating a legal market for Cannabis in Vermont.
This rule regulates Cannabis Establishments.

2.1.3 Definitions

All definitions in 7 VV.S.A. § 861 shall apply to this rule. The following definitions shall also
apply:

(a) “Board designee” means a person designated by the Board to act as its agent for the
purpose of executing the Board’s responsibilities. This may be an employee of the Board,
another government agency, or a contractor.

(b) “Cannabis Licensed Agent” means a person employed by a Cannabis Establishment who



is designated by the establishment to transport Cannabis or Cannabis Product between
Cannabis Establishments. A Cannabis Licensed Agent must be an individual who has
received a Cannabis Establishment identification card as provided for in 7 V.S.A. § 884
and who has a valid driver’s license.

(c) “Greenhouse” means a structure or a thermally isolated area of a building that maintains a
specialized sunlit environment exclusively for, and essential to, the cultivation or
maintenance of Cannabis plants and that is in use for a period of 180 days or more each
calendar year.

(d) “Interest holder” has the same meaning as defined in 11A V.S.A. § 11.01(11).

(e) “Harvest lot” means a grower’s harvested Cannabis produced during a single growing
season in a contiguous area containing the same cultivar or variety.

(F) “Inventory Tracking System” means a method implemented by the Board for tracing all
Cannabis and Cannabis Products grown, manufactured, and sold in Vermont.

(9) “Licensee” means a person who has been issued a license pursuant to Board Rule 1. A
licensee does not include a person who has been issued a provisional license.

(h) “Pesticide” shall have the same meaning as “economic poison” as defined in 6 V.S.A. 8
911(5).

(i) “Physical site of operations” means:

i.  acultivator’s grow site;

ii.  awholesaler’s product storage facility;
iii. amanufacturer’s site of manufacture;
Iv. aretailer’s store location; or
V. atesting laboratory’s testing facility.

(1) “Process lot” means any amount of Cannabis concentrate, Cannabis Product or Cannabis-
infused product of the same type, processed at the same time, using the same ingredients
and same standard operating procedures.

Any time this rule references a retail Cannabis Establishment or otherwise references retail
stores, such references shall include the retail portion of an integrated licensee unless the text of
the rule plainly states that it does not.

2.1.4 Applicability

This rule applies to Cannabis Establishments and persons who control, operate, manage, or are
employed by Cannabis Establishments.

2.15 Time

(@) In computing any time period, measured in days, that is established or allowed by this
rule or by order of the Board or Chair:

(1) the day of the act or event that triggers the period shall be excluded;

(2) every day, including intermediate Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays shall
be counted;

(3) the last day of the period shall be counted, but if the last day is a Saturday,
Sunday, or legal holiday, the period continues to run until the end of the next day
that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.



(b) A “legal holiday” means:
(1) any day declared a holiday by the President or Congress of the United States; and
(2) any day declared a holiday by the State of Vermont.

2.1.6 Severability

If any portion of this rule is found to be invalid, the remaining portion of the rule shall remain in
force and effect.

2.2 Section 2: Regulations Applicable to All Cannabis Establishments.
The requirements in this section apply to all Cannabis Establishments authorized by statute.

All Cannabis Establishments must abide by the prohibitions, restrictions, and requirements of
Chapter 33, Title 7 of the Vermont Statutes. Cannabis Establishments must also abide by all
other applicable laws, including but not limited to worker’s compensation laws and tax laws.

221 Business Records

Cannabis Establishments are required to maintain the following records onsite and readily
accessible and make them available for inspection by the Board, if requested:

(a) employee list;

(b) information related to facility security;

(c) advertising records, if applicable;

(d) inventory records;

(e) insurance records;

(f) seed-to-sale tracking records;

(g) visitor log;

(h) all records retained for tax purposes;

(i) waste log;

(j) surveillance logs, if applicable;

(k) testing records, including all Certificates of Analysis;

() sampling unit records;

(m)license application records;

(n) standard operating procedures manuals; and

(o) corrective action and preventive action records, if applicable.

2.2.2 Insurance

Cannabis Establishments are required to obtain and maintain insurance, or an equivalent, at the
following levels:
(a) A Cannabis Establishment shall obtain and maintain general liability insurance coverage
for no less than $1,000,000 per occurrence and $2,000,000 in aggregate, annually, and
product liability insurance coverage for no less than $1,000,000 per occurrence and



$2,000,000 in aggregate, except as provided by subsection (b) of this section. The
deductible for each policy shall be no higher than $5,000 per occurrence.

(b) A Cannabis Establishment that documents an inability to obtain minimum liability
insurance coverage as required by subsection (a) of this section may place in escrow a
sum of no less than $250,000 or such other amount approved by the Board, to be
expended for coverage of liabilities.

(c) The escrow account required in subsection (b) of this section must be replenished within
ten business days of any expenditure.

(d) Cannabis Establishments must be prepared to demonstrate compliance with this
subsection at any time, with records onsite and readily accessible.

2.2.3 Continuing Disclosure and Background Check Requirements

At the Board’s discretion, the entities or persons named in Rule 1.4.2 or 1.4.3 may be required to
resubmit any information described in those sections if the Board has reason to believe that
information has changed since the time of a license application or license renewal. They may be
subject to the same background checks and financial disclosures provided for in those sections.
The information may be shared with other state agencies, as provided for by Rule 1.4.8.

224 Health, Safety, and Sanitation

Cannabis Establishments shall:

(a) develop safe and sanitary handling procedures for all products;

(b) provide regular training on health, safety, and sanitation procedures;

(c) ensure that employees follow procedures;

(d) immediately report to the Board breaches in health, safety, and sanitary procedures that
pose a risk to consumer safety; and

(e) comply with applicable health, safety, and sanitation rules, including, but not limited to,
the Vermont Occupational and Safety and Health Administration Rules, applicable fire
safety rules, applicable building standards and occupancy rules, and the Good
Manufacturing Practices for Food Rule, as promulgated by the VVermont Department of
Health.

Subsection (e) does not assign responsibility for enforcing those regulations to their respective
state agencies, nor does it indicate such responsibility.

2.2.5 Employment and Training

(a) Licensee Training: In accordance with 7 V.S.A. 865(a), the agents of those who control a
Cannabis Establishment shall complete an enforcement seminar once every three years.
For the purposes of this section, an agent refers to anyone who is an employee of the
establishment or who works at the establishment.

(b) Employee Training: within 60 days of hire and annually after that, employees of
Cannabis Establishments must complete trainings regarding the following topics, except
that employees of retail establishments may not sell Cannabis or Cannabis Products to



consumers without first completing trainings regarding the first 8 topics of the following
list:
i. the Cannabis Establishment’s operating, security, health, safety, and sanitary
procedures;
ii. the health effects of Cannabis and Cannabis Products;
iii. compliance, enforcement, inspection, incident reporting, and record-keeping;
iv. acceptable forms of identification for staff and visitors, if permitted by this rule;
v. inventory control and appropriate tracking systems;
vi. cash handling;
vii. preventing the sale of Cannabis to minors;
viii. signs of overconsumption and signs of mental health or substance abuse
disorder;
iX. human trafficking and domestic violence awareness;
X. diversity, equity, and inclusion;
xi. racism and bias; and
xii. sexual harassment and discrimination.

2.2.6 Tracking of Cannabis and Cannabis Products

(a) Cannabis Establishments shall comply with the Inventory Tracking System in a manner
determined by the Board and shall cooperate with any third-party vendors the Board
utilizes for the purpose of implementing the system. The Inventory Tracking System
policy shall be readily available to the public and will not change without at least 90 days
of notice.

(b) Cannabis Establishments shall be responsible for costs associated with compliance with,
and adoption of, the Inventory Tracking System.

(c) All Cannabis and Cannabis Products must be tracked using the Inventory Tracking
System from the time the Cannabis is grown by a cultivator until it is sold to a consumer
by a retailer. A Cannabis Establishment must reconcile all on-premises and in-transit
Cannabis or Cannabis Product inventories each month and must complete the
reconciliation within 15 days of the end of each month.

(d) If Cannabis or Cannabis Product is not ultimately sold to a consumer, it must be disposed
of in the manner prescribed by section 2.2.8 of this rule and the disposal must be entered
into the Inventory Tracking System.

(e) A Cannabis Establishment must conduct a comprehensive inventory audit at least once
every year from the date of the previous comprehensive inventory.

(F) Cannabis Establishments and the individuals using the Inventory Tracking System are
responsible for the accuracy of all information entered into the Inventory Tracking
System. Any misstatements or omissions may be considered a license violation affecting
public safety.

(g) Cannabis Establishments must have the ability to reconcile transported and on-hand
Cannabis and Cannabis Product inventory with the Inventory Tracking System and the
associated transaction history and transportation order receipts.

2.2.7 Transportation of Cannabis and Cannabis Products



(a) Each Cannabis Establishment shall designate one or more Cannabis Licensed Agent(s)
and register the Cannabis Licensed Agent(s) with the Board.

(b) Only Cannabis Licensed Agents are permitted to transport Cannabis or Cannabis
Products between Cannabis Establishments.

(c) Cannabis Licensed Agents must carry an employee identification card issued pursuant to
Rule 1.16 at all times while transporting Cannabis or Cannabis Products.

(d) Transportation must take place in a vehicle, provided that the Board may waive this
requirement at its discretion.

(e) When Cannabis or Cannabis Products are transported in a vehicle:

I. they must not be visible from outside the vehicle;
ii. the driver must not be able to access them from the driver’s seat; and
iii. the vehicle must be unmarked.

(F) Vehicles used for transportation must be registered and current in their registration,
inspection, and insurance.

(g) Cannabis Licensed Agents may transport Cannabis and Cannabis Products only between
Cannabis Establishments.

(h) The transporting Cannabis Establishment must enter all Cannabis and Cannabis Products
to be transported into the Inventory Tracking System.

(i) While transporting Cannabis and Cannabis Products, Cannabis Licensed Agents must
utilize GPS tracking technology that records their entire route and that is capable of
broadcasting their location to a remote computing device, provided that this requirement
can be waived on a case-by-case basis at the Board’s discretion.

(j) Prior to departure from a Cannabis Establishment, Cannabis Licensed Agents must
generate a transport manifest that contains the following:

i. departure date, location, and approximate time of departure;

ii. name and location of the destination Cannabis Establishment(s);

iii. name and identification card number of Cannabis Licensed Agent;

iv. product name and quantities (by weight and unit) of each product to be delivered
to the specific Cannabis Establishment(s);

v. estimated time of arrival at each Cannabis Establishment;

vi. transport vehicle’s make, model, and license plate number; and

vii. a signature line and time notation to be signed by an employee of the Cannabis
Establishment who receives the transported product.

(k) Cannabis Licensed Agents must transmit transport manifests to receiving Cannabis
Establishments before departure.

(I) Cannabis Establishments receiving Cannabis or Cannabis Product from a Cannabis
Licensed Agent must log the time of receipt.

(m)Upon receipt of a transport, the receiving Cannabis Establishment shall ensure that the
products received are as described in the transport manifest and shall adjust its records
and the Inventory Tracking System to reflect the receipt of inventory the same day it is
received. If there are discrepancies, the receiving Cannabis Establishments must specify
them.

(n) While transporting Cannabis or Cannabis Products, Cannabis Licensed Agents must log
the times of arrival at, and departure from, any stops, whether planned or unplanned.
Logs must be maintained contemporaneously and must give a reason for stops that are
not at Cannabis Establishments.



(o) To the extent possible, Cannabis Licensed Agents must stay with their vehicles while
transporting Cannabis or Cannabis Products. Where Cannabis Licensed Agents have the
option to stay with their vehicle, they must choose that option. Except for the entry and
exit of Cannabis Licensed Agents, vehicles must be locked and secured.

(p) Cannabis Licensed Agent shall not cross state borders while transporting Cannabis or
Cannabis Products.

(g) Storage and transportation shall be under conditions that will protect Cannabis and
Cannabis Products from loss and theft, as well as against physical, chemical, and
microbial contamination and against deterioration of product.

(r) If a Cannabis Establishment is transporting over 20 pounds of Cannabis on a dry weight
basis, the Cannabis must be transported in a secure, locked storage compartment within
the transportation vehicle.

(s) Cannabis Licensed Agents shall report to the Board any vehicle accidents, diversions,
losses, or other reportable incidents that occur during transport, within not more than 24
hours of such accidents, diversions, losses, or other reportable incidents.

(t) Inthe event Cannabis has failed required testing, has been contaminated, or otherwise
presents a risk of cross-contamination to other Cannabis, such Cannabis may only be
transported if it is physically segregated and contained in a sealed package that prevents
cross-contamination.

2.2.8 Waste Disposal

(@) All applicable federal, state, and local statutes, regulations, and ordinances apply to waste
disposal from Cannabis Establishments. This includes, but is not limited to, all
regulations pertinent to chemical, dangerous, and hazardous waste, such as those that
may be generated during product manufacturing processes, as well as all pesticides and
other agricultural chemicals.

(b) Cannabis or Cannabis Products must be rendered unusable and unrecognizable before
disposal. The acceptable methods for rendering Cannabis and Cannabis Product unusable
and unrecognizable will be enumerated by the Board in a policy that will be readily
available to the public. The policy may include, but may not be limited to, methods such
as:

i. grinding or compacting Cannabis and Cannabis Product with non-consumable,
solid wastes, such that at least 50% of the resulting waste is non-Cannabis waste;

ii. on-site composting;

iii. anaerobic digestion;

iv. pyrolyze into biochar; and

v. biomass gasification.

(c) Organic material that has either no tetrahydrocannabinol content or a
tetrahydrocannabinol content under 0.3%, doesn’t need to be rendered unusable or
unrecognizable. It can be composted onsite or disposed of in a manner otherwise
consistent with applicable law and regulation.

(d) Disposal of Cannabis and Cannabis Products must be tracked with the Inventory
Tracking System.

2.2.9 Packaging



To the extent not already required by other sections of this rule and by Chapter 33, Title 7 of the
Vermont Statutes, the following requirements apply to all Cannabis and Cannabis Product
packaging.

Cannabis and Cannabis Product packaging must:

(a) be child-resistant and opaque,

(b) include required warning labels and symbols as provided by section 2.2.10 of this rule,

(c) clearly identify package contents,

(d) clearly identify ingredients,

(e) clearly identify tetrahydrocannabinol content,

(F) be in resealable packaging that remains child-resistant for multiple uses if multiple
servings are contained in the package,

(9) be free from false or misleading statements; and

(h) not use objects, such as toys, inflatables, movie characters, cartoon characters, child-
friendly depictions of food or other consumables, or include any other display, depiction,
or image designed in any manner likely to be appealing to minors or anyone under 21
years of age.

2.2.10 Warning Labels

The Board will make copies of the labels below readily available for use by Cannabis
Establishments.

(a) All marketing, advertising, branding and promotion must include the following warning
exactly as it is below:

This is a cannabis product and has not been analyzed or approved by the
Food and Drug Administration (FDA). For use by individuals 21 years of age
and older or registered qualifying patient only. KEEP THIS PRODUCT
AWAY FROM CHILDREN AND PETS. DO NOT USE IF PREGNANT OR
BREASTFEEDING. Possession or use of this product may carry significant
legal penalties in some jurisdictions and under federal law. It may not be
transported outside of the state of Vermont. The effects of edible cannabis
may be delayed by two hours or more. Cannabis may be habit forming
and can impair concentration, coordination, and judgment. Persons 25 years
and younger may be more likely to experience harm to the developing brain.

It is against the law to drive or operate machinery when under the influence
of this product. National Poison Control Center 1-800-222-1222.

(b) All product packaging must use the following warning symbols:



NOT SAFE
FOR KIDS

CONTAINS THC

Background
Minimum Size

The icons must be placed on a white or
Packing and Labeling: 0.5"x0.5” light-colored background. The interior
Edible Marijuana Product: At least of the icon must remain white.
25 percent of the servings’ height and
width, but not less than 0.25" x 0.25"

Restrictions

Required Colors

¢ Do not recreate or modify the
icons in any manner.

¢ Do not stretch or distort the
icons.

¢ Do not use the icons smaller than

When used on the marketing layer, the
universal symbol and optional “not safe
for kids™ icons must be reproduced in
black and red.

Black (CMYK): 0, 0, 0, 100 the minimum size
Red (CMYK): 0, 95, 100, 0 ¢ Do not change the icon colors
Red (Pantone): PMS 485 (Note: Coloring is not required

for on-product markings.)
Do not use the icons on a dark
background

Coloring is not required for on-product °
markings

(c) All product packaging must include the following statement, including capitalization, in
at least 10-point Times New Roman, Helvetica or Ariel and bolded font:

KEEP OUT OF REACH OF CHILDREN

(d) All product packaging for products that contain multiple servings must contain the
following statement, including capitalization, in at least 10-point Times New Roman,
Helvetica or Ariel and bolded font:

INCLUDES MULTIPLE SERVINGS

2.2.11 Advertising

In addition to those contained in 7 V.S.A. 8§ 864, the following prohibitions and requirements
apply to advertising Cannabis or Cannabis Products:

(a) Cannabis Establishments are prohibited from using objects, such as toys, inflatables,
movie characters, cartoon characters, child-friendly depictions of food or other
consumables, or include any other display, depiction, or image designed in any manner
likely to be appealing to minors or anyone under 21 years of age. This includes, but is not
limited to, brand logo development and any advertising used for the purposes of
marketing the licensee's dispensary and/or products.



(b) Cannabis Establishments are prohibited from advertising or promoting in a manner that is
false, untrue, or misleading.

(c) Cannabis Establishments are prohibited from including in its advertising any statement
concerning a brand or product that is inconsistent with any statement on the labeling
thereof.

(d) Websites for Cannabis Establishments must have age-gating.

(e) Social media accounts for Cannabis Establishments may only promote products using
links to their age-gated websites. Any images or other text regarding products is
otherwise prohibited.

2.2.12 Audience Composition Presumptions for Advertising

When considering whether a proposed advertisement meets the requirements of 7 V.S.A. § 864
and of this rule, the Board will make the following presumptions:

(a) That more than 15% of the audience will be under 21 years of age, unless the prospective
advertiser can show by a preponderance of the evidence that less than 15% of the
audience is reasonably expected to be under 21 years of age. Evidence must include
reliable, verifiable, and current audience composition data.

(b) That the audience for any outdoor advertisement is the general public, and those under 21
years of age will have the same prevalence in that audience as they do in the general
public, unless a prospective advertiser can demonstrate that an outdoor space will not be
accessed by the general public and that those who can access it meet the audience metric
of 7 V.S.A. 8 864(c).

(c) Except for signage as defined in 7 V.S.A. § 861(2)(D), window displays, or items, text, or
objects inside a retail Cannabis Establishment that are visible to a person standing outside
the establishment, will be considered an outdoor advertisement for the purposes of this
rule.

2.2.13 Visitors

Visitors are only permitted to the extent provided for in this rule. If this rule makes no provision
for visitors at a type of Cannabis Establishment, then visitors are not permitted at that type of
Cannabis Establishment, provided that contractors accompanied by a Cannabis Establishment
employee who has an identification card issued pursuant to Rule 1.16, Board designees, and
Cannabis Licensed Agents making deliveries are permitted at Cannabis Establishments.

This provision does not apply to retail Cannabis Establishments.

2.2.14 Inspections

Cannabis Establishments shall submit to inspections of their physical site of operations and their
records upon request of the Board or a Board designee.

2.2.15 Inversion and Diversion from the Legal Market is Prohibited



No Cannabis Establishment may purchase or obtain Cannabis or Cannabis Products from an
entity that is not licensed pursuant to Board Rule 1. Except for retail Cannabis Establishments,
no Cannabis Establishment may sell or transfer Cannabis or Cannabis Products to any person
other than a licensed Cannabis Establishment.

2.2.16 Compliance in Other Jurisdictions

To the extent the controller or principal of a licensee also controls or is a principal of a licensed
Cannabis Establishment, or the equivalent of a Cannabis Establishment, in a different
jurisdiction, that Cannabis Establishment must remain in compliance with the laws and
regulations of its jurisdiction.

2.2.17 Reporting Theft or Loss

Cannabis Establishments must report theft or loss of Cannabis or Cannabis Product to the Board
immediately after discovery of the theft or loss and enter such loss into the Inventory Tracking
System.

2.2.18 Co-Location
Cannabis Establishments may operate at the same location, subject to the following conditions:

(a) The co-located operation is not in violation of any local ordinances or regulations.

(b) Each Cannabis Establishment operating at the same location shall do all the following:

i. Have distinct and identifiable spaces, areas, or plots, with each licensee operating
in its own separate space, area, or plot.

ii. Post notice of its license in its distinct area, space, or plot.

iii. Maintain all the business operations, compliance requirements, and record-
keeping that a Cannabis Establishment would maintain if it were operating in its
own location.

iv. Otherwise comply with the provisions in the relevant statutes and these rules.

(c) Co-located Cultivation Cannabis Establishments must limit their total canopy to the
relevant Tier 6 plant canopy limit, provided that the Board retains discretion to waive this
limit.

(d) Co-located Cannabis Establishments that are not cultivators must utilize the security
measures that are the most stringent required of any one of the co-located establishments,
as provided by this Rule.

(e) Co-located cultivation Cannabis Establishments must utilize the security measures that
would be required if the combined plant canopy of all the co-located cultivators were
treated as belonging to a single Cannabis Establishment.

() No person, business, or Cannabis Establishment may operate in a manner that has the
effect of subverting 7 VV.S.A. 8 901(d)(3)(A), and no person shall exercise control over a
Cannabis Establishment without the disclosures required in Rule 1.4. At its discretion the
Board may require additional information from Cannabis Establishments to ensure
compliance with this section.

(9) Multiple retail Cannabis Establishments may not operate at the same location.



This section does not apply to dispensaries, which are governed by section 2.10.3 of this rule and
by Rule 3.

2.3 Section 3: Regulations Applicable to Cultivators
The requirements in this section apply to Cannabis Establishments with any cultivator license.
2.3.1 Pesticides

Cultivators shall abide by the rules and guidelines regarding pesticides that are promulgated by
the Vermont Department of Agriculture, Food and Markets.

At the time of a harvest, Cannabis Establishments with a cultivator license will report to the
Board regarding the use and quantity of pesticides, if applicable.

23.2 Visitors to Cultivation Sites

(a) Visitors must be escorted at all times by a Cannabis Establishment employee who has an
employee identification card issued pursuant to Rule 1.16.
(b) Visitors may not consume cannabis in any form on site and may not purchase cannabis
on site.
(c) Visitors must be over the age of 21. The Cannabis Establishment is responsible for
ensuring compliance with age limitations.
(d) Cannabis Establishments must issue identification badges to visitors, provided that this
provision does not apply to Tier 1 cultivation licensees. The badge will:
i. have a design approved by the Board;
ii. be visibly displayed while on the physical site of operations; and
iii. be returned upon exit.
(e) Visitors must be logged with time of entry and exit, and the log will be made available to
the Board or a Board designee upon request. Logs must be retained for 1 calendar year.
(f) A safety protocol must be established by license holder before allowing visitors. The
safety protocol must be on record with the Board.
(9) Contractors accompanied by a Cannabis Establishment employee who has an
identification card issued pursuant to Rule 1.16, Board designees, and Cannabis Licensed
Agents making deliveries will not be considered visitors for the purposes of this section.

2.3.3 Testing

Cultivators must have their products tested in accordance with rules and guidance established in
section 2.9 of this rule. Testing for potency of a crop must take place within the three-week
period preceding a harvest. Other testing will occur in accordance with the relevant regulations
and policies. Test results shall be saved for no less than 1 year.

234 Adulterated Cannabis



(a) Cultivators must abide by all orders of the Board issued pursuant to 7 V.S.A. § 904(e)(1)
and Board Rule 4.

(b) If Cannabis is adulterated due to the willful or intentional misuse of a pesticide, the
Cannabis must be destroyed in accordance with section 2.2.7 of this rule and reported to
the Board by:

i. The cultivator, or
ii. A testing laboratory if a testing laboratory discovers such adulteration.

(c) If Cannabis is adulterated due to no fault of the license holder they may attempt to
remediate if doing so can be done safely. Adulteration without fault may occur due to
atmospheric drift of an adulterant, or a similar natural phenomenon.

i. Remediation may include refinement into a manufactured product using a
licensed manufacturer.

ii. Any remediated product needs to be retested for the adulterant subsequent to
remediation.

iii. If an adulteration poses a public health issue subsequent to remediation the
Cannabis Product will need to be destroyed in accordance with section 2.2.7 of
this rule.

2.35 Cultivator Packaging

(&) When a cultivator sells Cannabis to any licensee other than a retail licensee, packaging
must include:
i. All requirements contained in 7 V.S.A. § 904(d);
ii. All baseline packaging requirements in section 2.2.8 of this rule; and
iii. Testing results, which can be conveyed using a website address, QR code, or
similar means of providing access to testing results available on a website.
(b) When a cultivator sells Cannabis to a retailer, packaging must include:
i. All requirements contained in 7 V.S.A. § 904(d);
ii. All requirements contained in 7 V.S.A. § 907(c);
iii. All baseline packaging requirements in section 2.2.8 of this rule; and
iv. Testing results, which can be conveyed using a website address, QR code, or
similar means of providing access to information accessible on a website.

2.3.6 Cultivator Inspections

(a) The Board or Board designee will conduct inspections, which may or may not be noticed
in advance, to ensure compliance with these rules and Title 7, Chapter 33 of the Vermont
Statutes.

(b) Inspections may include:

i. collecting samples;

ii. taking photographs or video;

iii. talking to employees, principals, or owners;

Iv. inspecting records;

v. inspecting equipment or vehicles used for growing, processing, or transporting
Cannabis; and

vi. taking any other reasonable measure to evaluate compliance.



(c) Information obtained from inspections at non-cultivator Cannabis Establishments may
inform inspections at cultivator licensees.

(d) Cannabis samples obtained during inspections may be used to assess consumer safety
issues and may also be used by the Board for genetic testing and research into taxonomic
determinations of cannabis cultivars or varieties grown.

2.3.7 Sanitation

To the extent not already required by section 2.2.3 of this rule, cultivators will ensure:
(a) that any illness or bodily injury to an individual working at a cultivation site does not
become a source of microbial contamination to a Cannabis crop;
(b) that litter and waste are properly removed so they do not become a source of microbial
contamination; and
(c) sufficient sanitation to minimize potential for attracting, breeding, or harboring pests.

2.3.8 Cultivation and Operations Information

Cultivating licensees shall submit cultivation and operations information to the Board within 60
days of gaining a license. The information shall include the following:

(@) cultivation schedule;

(b) grow medium;

(c) mixed-light cultivation plan and schedule, if applicable;
(d) irrigation plan and schedule, if applicable;

(e) waste management plan;

(f) pest management plan; and

(9) a plan to secure regulated products such as pesticides.

2.3.9 Vendor and Employee Samples

(@) Vendor samples must meet the following requirements:

i. Cultivators may provide a sample of flower to a wholesaler, manufacturer, or
retailer, provided that such samples may not be consumed on any licensed
premises. Samples must be tested in accordance with rules and guidance
established in section 2.9 of this rule.

ii. Samples will be limited to the following aggregate amounts in a calendar month:
four grams per strain of flower per vendor, and no more than seven strains of
flower per vendor.

iii. Vendor samples must be labeled: VENDOR SAMPLE NOT FOR RESALE.

iv. Samples must be designated and identified in the Inventory Tracking System.

(b) Employee Samples must meet the following requirements:

i. Cultivators may provide samples to employees to determine whether to make
product available to sell, provided that such samples may not be consumed on any
licensed premises.



ii. Samples will be limited to the following aggregate amounts in a calendar month:
four grams per strain of flower per employee, and no more than seven strains of
flower per employee.

iii. Employee samples must be labeled: QUALITY CONTROL SAMPLE NOT FOR
RESALE.

iv. Samples must be designated and identified in the Inventory Tracking System.

2.4 Section 4: Regulations Applicable to Outdoor and Mixed Cultivators

The requirements in this section apply to Cannabis Establishments with an outdoor and mixed
cultivator license.

24.1 Outdoor Security Management Practices

(a) The Board deems the following to be Outdoor Security Management Practices:
i. fencing;
ii. video surveillance system with unobscured views of area;
iii. alarm system;
iv. photographic surveillance;
v. motion activated flood-light, which may face away from the plant canopy;
vi. security services, which may include the physical presence of a security guard;
and
vii. controlled point of access.

2.4.2 Standards For Outdoor Security Management Practices

(a) Fencing must be sufficient to prevent unauthorized entry to the cultivation areas.

(b) Electronic security measures and security services, if applicable pursuant to section 2.4.3,
must be operating for no less than the three-week period preceding a harvest, as well as
while drying, curing, or storing a harvested crop.

(c) Video and photographic surveillance equipment must:

I. retain footage for a minimum of 30 days;

ii. include date and time stamps on images without significantly obscuring the
images;

iii. be capable of producing usable images in the lighting conditions in which it is
placed,;

iv. be placed in a way that allows for the clear and certain identification of any
persons or activities at or in the immediate vicinity of any Cannabis or Cannabis
Product; and

v. be exportable and transferrable to standard computing equipment and have a
resolution of 1080p or greater or the equivalent of such a resolution.

24.3 Minimum Outdoor Security Management Practices



Outdoor cultivators must implement Outdoor Security Management Practices to the extent
required in this section unless they apply to the Board for a variance from the fencing
requirement, which the Board will consider on a case-by-case basis.

(a) Tier 1 outdoor cultivators and mixed cultivators must utilize at least 1 of the Outdoor
Security Management Practices in section 2.4.1.

(b) Tier 2 outdoor cultivators must utilize at least 2 of the Outdoor Security Management
Practices in section 2.4.1 and one of them must be fencing.

(c) Tier 3 outdoor cultivators must utilize at least 3 of the Outdoor Security Management
Practices in section 2.4.1 and one of them must be fencing.

(d) Tier 4 outdoor cultivators must utilize at least 4 of the Outdoor Security Management
Practices in section 2.4.1 and one of them must be fencing.

(e) Tier 5 outdoor cultivators must utilize at least 5 of the Outdoor Security Management
Practices in section 2.4.1 and one of them must be fencing.

(F) Tier 6 outdoor cultivators must utilize all of the Outdoor Security Management Practices
in section 2.4.1.

244 Visibility From a Public Road

If crop would be visible from a public road, as defined in 24 V.S.A. § 4303(33), a physical
barrier of concealment must be created such that the crop is not visible from the public road.
Such barriers may include, but are not limited to, fencing, hedges, or building structures.

2.4.5 Additional Requirements

(a) At the Board’s discretion, a physical site of operations may be inspected by a Board
designee to determine security risks and visibility from a roadway either before or after
the Board has granted a license. The Board retains the right to require additional Outdoor
Security Management Practices or barriers subsequent to such an inspection.

(b) If a Cannabis Establishment experiences more than one incident of theft in a one-year
time period, additional Outdoor Security Management Practices may be required at the
Board’s discretion.

2.4.6 Security for Drying, Curing, and Storage

Security for Cannabis drying, curing, and storage must meet the requirements of section 2.5.1 of
this rule.

2.4.7 Allowance for Winter Indoor Storage
Mother plants, Cannabis plant-seeds, and clones in propagation or vegetation phase of
development may be kept indoors during winter months when outdoor cultivation is not possible,

provided that outdoor cultivation licensees may not cultivate Cannabis indoors.

2.5 Section 5: Regulations Applicable to Indoor and Mixed Cultivators



The requirements in this section apply to Cannabis Establishments with an indoor and mixed
cultivator license.

25.1 Security
Indoor and mixed cultivators must utilize the following security measures:

(@) All perimeter doors and windows must be locked, and only individuals with a Cannabis
Establishment identification card, granted in accordance with Rule 1.16, may have keys
or a key equivalent.

(b) All perimeter doors and windows must have operational security alarms, provided that
Tier 1 and mixed cultivators are not required to have security alarms unless the Board
requires it, which the Board retains the discretion to do on a case-by-case basis.

(c) Video surveillance with continuous monitoring of any space that contains Cannabis,
whether growing or harvested, or Cannabis Products. Video surveillance must meet the
standards of section 2.4.2(c) of this rule.

2.5.2 Security for Drying, Curing, and Storage

Security for Cannabis drying, curing, and storage must meet the requirements of section 2.5.1 of
this rule.

2.5.3 Energy Standards for Buildings

(@) Vermont Commercial Building Energy Standards (CBES) will apply to indoor cultivation
facilities in the following areas:
i. The building envelope must meet CBES for insulation.
ii. Non-cultivation lighting must meet CBES for new buildings and retrofits.
iii. Ventilation must meet CBES.
iv. HVAC systems must meet CBES for efficiency, except that HVAC equipment
used for cultivation does not need economizers and heat recapture.
(b) Greenhouses must meet CBES for HVAC equipment efficiency, except that HVAC
equipment used for cultivation does not need economizers and heat recapture.
(c) Fans and clean water pumps at indoor cultivation facilities should, at the date of
equipment purchase, comply with the most recent energy efficiency standards
promulgated by the federal Department of Energy.

254 Energy Standards for Lighting

(a) Lighting for indoor cultivation must have a minimum of 1.9 Photosynthetic Photon
Efficacy (PPE).
(b) Lighting for greenhouses:
i. The envelop must have a minimum u-factor of 0.7.
ii. Ifagreenhouse uses lighting fixtures to supplement the sun, the cultivation
lighting must have a minimum of 1.7 PPE, except that if a greenhouse has a total



connected lighting load of less than 40 kilowatts it is exempt from lighting
requirements.

255 Energy Standards for Dehumidification
One of the following dehumidification systems must be used for indoor cultivation:

(a) Standalone dehumidifiers must meet the following minimum integrated energy factors:
i.  Minimum integrated energy factor of 1.77 L/kWh for product case volumes of 8.0
cubic feet or less, or
ii. Minimum integrated energy factor of 2.41 L/kWh for product case volumes
greater than 8.0 cubic feet.
(b) Integrated HVAC system with on-site heat recovery designed to fulfill to least 75 percent
of the annual energy for dehumidification reheat.
(c) Chilled water system with on-site heat recovery designed to fulfill at least 75 percent of
the annual energy for dehumidification reheat.
(d) Solid or liquid desiccant dehumidification system for system designs that require
dewpoint of 50° Fahrenheit or less.

2.5.6 Energy Usage Reporting and Reduction Efforts

(a) License holders must report energy efficiency and water performance benchmarks
annually to the Board as a condition of license renewal.

(b) License holders must annually update and submit to the Board written operating
procedures regarding equipment maintenance, calibration and proper operation, for all
major energy equipment, including, but not limited to, horticultural lighting, HVAC
systems, and dehumidification systems.

(c) License holders must annually assess and report to the Board on opportunities to reduce
energy and water usage, which should include:

i. identification of potential energy use reduction opportunities (such as natural
lighting and energy efficiency measures), and a plan for implementation of such
opportunities;

ii. consideration of opportunities for renewable energy generation, including, where
applicable, identification of building plans showing where energy generators
could be placed on the site, and an explanation of why the identified opportunities
were not pursued, if applicable;

iii. strategies to reduce electric demand (such as lighting schedules, active load
management, and energy storage); and

iv. engagement with energy efficiency programs offered by Efficiency Vermont,
Burlington Electric Department, or Vermont Gas Systems.

2.6 Section 6: Regulations Applicable to Manufacturers

The requirements in this section apply to Cannabis Establishments with a manufacturing license.



Manufacturers shall abide by any requirements and limitations contained in 7 V.S.A. § 881(a)(3)
and 18 V.S.A. 8 4230h, in addition to the requirements of this section.

2.6.1 Safety

The Vermont Fire and Building Safety Code, as promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety, will apply to all manufacturing operations.

2.6.2 Manufacturer Security
Manufacturers must meet all requirements of section 2.5.1 of this rule.
2.6.3 Testing

Manufacturers must have their products tested in accordance with rules and guidance established
in section 2.9 of this rule. Test results shall be saved for no less than one year.

2.6.4 Manufacturer Packaging
Manufacturers shall meet the following requirements for packaging Cannabis Products:

(@) All requirements contained in 7 V.S.A. § 881(a)(3)(B) and (C).
(b) All requirements contained in 7 V.S.A. 8 907(c).

(c) All requirements contained in section 2.2.8 of this rule.

(d) Packaging for consumable Cannabis Products must include:

I. the number of servings in the package and serving size, provided that servings
must be easy for a consumer to measure, either by clear and visible indentation on
the Cannabis Product or physical separation of servings; and

ii. awarning that the impairment effects of the Cannabis Product may be delayed by
two hours or more.

(e) Packaging for non-consumable Cannabis Products must include:

I. the ingredients used in production, including but not limited to scents or other
additives, and common irritants warnings; and

ii. notice that the product is not for consumption.

2.6.5 Additives

The following additives shall not be added to Cannabis Products:
(a) Chemicals, other than those allowed in the processing of Cannabis Products,
(b) Psychoactive compounds, other than those naturally occurring in cannabis, and
(c) Artificial sweeteners or flavorings, provided that this applies only to oil Cannabis
Products and Cannabis flower.

2.6.6 Records

Manufacturers shall:



(a) Maintain onsite and readily accessible records of purchases from any manufacturer or
supplier of an ingredient, additive, component, or other substance, compound, or material
obtained by the manufacturer. Records shall be provided to the Board upon request.

(b) Maintain onsite and readily accessible records of the name and business address of the
manufacturer of any cartridge, battery, atomizer coil, hardware, device, or other
component in vaporized products. Records shall be provided to the Board upon request.

(c) Maintain onsite and readily accessible a copy of a Certificate of Analysis for each
thickening agent, thinning agent, or terpene used in production. These Certificates of
Analysis shall be provided to a retailer, wholesaler, or to the Board upon request.

2.6.7 Vendor and Employee Samples

(@) Vendor samples must meet the following requirements:

i. Manufacturers may provide a sample of Cannabis Product to a wholesaler or
retailer, provided that such samples may not be consumed on any licensed
premises. Samples must be tested in accordance with rules and guidance
established in section 2.9 of this rule.

ii. Samples will be limited to the following aggregate amounts in a calendar month:
Five grams of concentrate or extract, or 100 servings of edibles per vendor, so
long as the tetrahydrocannabinol content of each individual edible sample does
not exceed five milligrams per serving and is within any applicable statutory or
regulatory potency levels.

iii. Vendor samples must be labeled: VENDOR SAMPLE NOT FOR RESALE.

iv. Samples must be designated and identified in the Inventory Tracking System.

(b) Employee Samples must meet the following requirements:

I. Manufacturers may provide a sample of Cannabis Product to an employee to
determine whether to make a product available to sell, provided that such samples
may not be consumed on any licensed premises.

ii. Samples will be limited to the following aggregate amounts in a calendar month:
five grams of concentrate or extract, or 100 servings of edibles per employee,
provided that the tetrahydrocannabinol content of each individual edible sample
does not exceed five milligrams per serving and is within any applicable statutory
or regulatory potency levels.

iii. Employee samples must be labeled: QUALITY CONTROL SAMPLE NOT FOR
RESALE.

iv. Samples must be designated and identified in the Inventory Tracking System.

2.7 Section 7: Regulations Applicable to Wholesalers
The requirements in this section apply to Cannabis Establishments with a wholesaler license.

2.7.1 Wholesaler Security

(&) Wholesalers must meet all requirements of section 2.5.1 of this rule.



(b) Manufactured Cannabis Product, but not Cannabis flower, must be kept in a locked safe
that is bolted to the ground.

2.7.2 Wholesaler Processing

The word “process” in 7 V.S.A. § 905(b) means the act of packaging or wrapping Cannabis
flower in any manner that Cannabis flower may be transported or consumed. It does not mean
transforming Cannabis flower into another substance through manufacturing.

2.7.3 Wholesaler Packaging

Wholesaler packaging must meet the requirements of section 2.8.4 of this rule.

2.8 Section 8: Regulations Applicable to Retailers

The requirements in this section apply to Cannabis Establishments with a retailer license.
28.1 Buffer Zones

(a) Retail Cannabis Establishments shall not be located at a place where the sale of a
regulated drug would constitute a violation of 18 V.S.A. § 4237(d).

2.8.2 Retail Security

Retailers must meet all requirements of section 2.5.1 of this rule, along with the following
additional requirements:

(a) Alarm systems installed by retailers must be installed by an alarm installation company
with expertise in industry standard commercial-grade alarm systems.

(b) Video surveillance must include point-of-sale areas, all entrances, exits, and any area
where Cannabis or Cannabis Product is stored or handled.

(c) Strict access controls to areas where Cannabis and Cannabis Product is stored or handled.

(d) Video footage must be kept for at least 90 days.

(e) Employees shall wear identification badges that clearly identify them as employees while
on duty.

(F) Upon request, a retailer shall make available to the Board or Board designee all
information related to security alarm systems, monitoring, alarm activity, maps of camera
locations and camera coverage, surveillance equipment maintenance log, authorized user
list, operation instructions, and any other relevant information.

(9) The number of customers in the retail area at any given time may not be more than can be
easily monitored by the employees present in the retail area.

(h) The requirements of 7 V.S.A. § 881(a)(5), to the extent not already covered by this rule.

2.8.3 Age Verification

(a) Immediately upon a visitor entering the retail premises an individual who has been issued
an identification card pursuant to Rule 1.16 shall inspect the visitor’s proof of



identification and determine the visitor’s age. This age check shall take place in the
immediate vicinity of the entrance to the retail premises.

(b) “Acceptable form of identification” shall mean a photo identification issued by a
government, and it must be current and valid.

(c) No individual shall be admitted unless the retailer has verified that the acceptable form of
identification matches the visitor and that the visitor is 21 years of age or older.

(d) Prior to completing a transaction for the purchase of Cannabis or a Cannabis Product, an
individual who has been issued an identification card pursuant to Rule 1.16 shall inspect
the visitor’s proof of identification and determine the visitor’s age.

(e) A retailer may not acquire or record visitor personal information other than information
typically required by a retail transaction, which can include information to determine the
visitor’s age.

(F) A retailer may not record or retain any additional personal information from a visitor
without the visitor’s permission.

(9) Retailers shall refuse to sell to any visitor who is unable to produce valid proof of their
age using an acceptable form of identification.

2.8.4 Retailer Packaging

Retailers must ensure that the packaging for Cannabis and Cannabis Products sold in their
establishment meets the following requirements:

(@) All requirements contained in 7 V.S.A. 8 907(c).

(b) All requirements contained in section 2.2.8 of this rule.

(c) Manufactured Cannabis Products must meet the requirements contained in section 2.6.2
of this rule.

(d) Packaging must have information regarding the chain of custody of the Cannabis or
Cannabis Product, provided that packaging may convey such information using a website
address, QR code, or similar means of providing access to information available on a
website.

(e) Packaging that will exit the store after purchase by a consumer must be sealed or stapled
closed.

2.8.5 Standard Operating Procedures

Retailers must maintain onsite and readily accessible standard operating procedures regarding
the following, each of which shall be available to the Board or Board designee upon request:
(a) security measures;
(b) employee security policies, including personal safety and crime prevention techniques;
(a) description of establishment’s hours of operation and after-hours contact information for
management;
(b) plan for storage of inventory;
(c) procedures to ensure accurate recordkeeping, including inventory protocols and
compliance with the Inventory Tracking System;
(d) quality control plans;
(e) emergency procedures in case of a fire or other emergency;
() how confidential information will be maintained; and



(9) policy for immediate dismissal of an employee who has diverted Cannabis or Cannabis
Product or engaged in unsafe practices.

2.8.6 Retailer Samples

Retailers may accept vendor samples as permitted by sections 2.3.9 and 2.6.5 of this rule but are
prohibited from offering such samples for sale. Acceptance of such samples must be logged in
the Inventory Tracking System.

2.8.7 Consumer Samples

Retailers may provide samples of Cannabis flower in enclosed containers for viewing or
smelling by visitors. Such samples may not be touched by visitors or sold or transferred to
visitors and their use and disposal must be tracked in the Inventory Tracking System.

2.8.8 Safety Information Flyer

Retailers shall display a safety information flyer created by the Board at the point of purchase, in
accordance with 7 V.S.A. 8 907(d). The Board shall make the flyer readily available to the public
and to retail establishments for their use. The Board may update the flyer at any time and will
provide notice to licensed retail establishments when it makes such an update.

2.9 Section 9: Regulations Applicable to Testing Laboratories, Cultivators, and
Manufacturers

The requirements in this section apply to Cannabis Establishments with a testing laboratory
license, as well as to cultivators and manufacturers who must have their product tested in
accordance with the standards in this section.

29.1 Testing Requirements

The following chart describes the testing requirements that each laboratory must be prepared to
administer, and the sampling standard operating procedures that Cannabis Establishments must
follow. The top row describes the test, the left column describes the substance that will be tested,
and the boxes in the chart describe the relevant sampling standards. There are corresponding
notes below the chart.

Potency Moisture | Microbiolog | Heavy Pesticides | Residual
or Water | ical (human | Metals solvents
Activity pathogens)
Harvest lot
THC compliance | Each lot Each lot N/A Note 5 Each Lot N/A

Note 6

Plant material




tablets

Trim flower Note 1 Each Each process | Note 1 Note 1 N/A
process lot | lot

Concentrates

Liquids Each N/A Each process | Each Each Note 3
process lot lot process lot | process lot

Solids Each N/A Each process | Each Each Note 3
process lot lot process lot | process lot

Products and

Infused

products

Liquids, Note 4 N/A Note 2 Note 1 or Note 2 Note 2 or

including infused Note 2 Note 3

products

(tinctures, and

water based)

Solids, including | Note 4 N/A Note 2 Note 1 or Note 2 Note 2 or

infused edibles, Note 2 Note 3

e Note 1 Harvest lot testing is sufficient to show compliance.
e Note 2: Trim flower or concentrate testing is sufficient to show compliance.

used.

Note 4: A certified laboratory’s certificate of analysis demonstrates that the product
meets the acceptable potency level or the processor’s formulation demonstrates
compliance with the acceptable potency level.
Note 5: Testing for heavy metals is required whenever the crop land was used for orchard

Note 3: Residual solvents are tested whenever solvent based extraction techniques are

crops or any land use other than farming as defined in the Required Agricultural Practices
Rule, unless a recent soils test demonstrates that the heavy metals are within the
authorized action limits for soils.
e Note 6: No pesticide testing required if crop is certified by a third party to be pesticide

free.

e Note 7: Testing for other contaminants is necessary when the Agency of Natural
Resources has approved biosolids applications to crop land.

2.9.2

Potency Parameters

Total delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol and other cannabinoids must be within 10% of label value.

In assessing potency, laboratories will use the following formulation:

(a) Tetrahydrocannabinolic acid (THCA) is the precursor of delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol

(THC).

(b) The laboratory determination of potency will be determined by total theoretical THC.




(c) Total theoretical THC content is the maximum amount of possible delta-9 THC in a
cannabis crop if total conversion from THCA to THC were to occur. The calculated
amount of total theoretical THC is determined as follows:

I. the sum of the concentration of delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol added to the amount
of tetrahydrocannabinolic acid after it is multiplied by 0.877 on a dry weight basis
and reported to two significant figures.

ii. The following mathematical equation expresses this calculation:

Total theoretical THC =([delta 9 THC]+([THCA]*0.877))
2.9.3 Moisture Parameters

Moisture parameters will be set as follows:

Parameter Action limits for trim flower
Moisture content Less than or equal to 13 %
Water activity 0.65

294 Microbiological Parameters

The following human pathogens will be measured and the limits set in accordance with guidance
issued by the Board. Such guidance will not be altered without at least 90 days of notice to
licensees and the general public.

(a) Shiga---toxin producing Escherichia coli (STEC) — Bacteria
(b) Salmonella species — Bacteria
(c) Aspergillus flavus, Aspergillus fumigatus, Aspergillus niger, Aspergillus terreus - Fungus

295 Metal parameters
The following metals will be measured and the limits set in accordance with guidance issued by

the Board. Such guidance will not be altered without at least 90 days of notice to licensees and
the general public.

Arsenic
Cadmium
Lead
Mercury
Chromium
Copper
Nickel
Zinc

2.9.6 Pesticides



As provided for by section 2.3.1 of this rule, cultivators will be required to abide the pesticide
standards set by the Agency of Agriculture, Food, and Markets.

2.9.7 Residual Solvent Parameters
Residual solvents will be measured and the limits set in accordance with guidance issued by the
Board. Such guidance will not be altered without at least 90 days of notice to licensees and the
general public.

2.9.8 New Tests

When a laboratory seeks to gain certification for a new test, it must also submit to the Board the
method validation summaries for any new test.

2.9.9 Proficiency
A laboratory must maintain analytical proficiency for each test it administers.
2.9.10 Records

In addition to all other relevant disclosure requirements, upon request of the Board or Board
designee laboratories shall provide full access to all test records.

2.9.11 Other Parameters or Testing Methods

The Board retains discretion to change or add testing parameters, required pathogens, or other
substances to the testing required under this rule.

2.10 Section 10: Regulations Applicable to Integrated Licensees
The requirements in this section apply to applications for an integrated license.
2.10.1 All Cannabis Establishment Regulations Applicable
All regulations in sections 2.2 through 2.9 of this rule applies to integrated license holders.
2.10.2 Dispensaries and Medical Cannabis
Except to the extent provisions in this section 2.10 impact dispensary operations, dispensaries
and the medical cannabis registry are not regulated by this rule. They are regulated by Board
Rule 3 and by Chapters 35 and 37 of Title 7 of the Vermont Statutes.

2.10.3 Co-located Operations

(a) Integrated licensees may commingle Cannabis cultivation for adult-use sales with
cultivation for dispensaries.



(b) After cultivation is complete and a crop has been harvested the licensee must maintain
strict separation between Cannabis that will be sold through a retailer and Cannabis that
will be sold through a dispensary to a registered patient. This separation extends to all
Cannabis Products derived from the Cannabis. The separation must be documented in the
Inventory Tracking System.

(c) Integrated licensees may co-locate operations from different license types in the same
location, but co-located operations must maintain all relevant security requirements for
each license type and must maintain all Inventory Tracking System requirements.

(d) Dispensaries may be co-located with retail Cannabis Establishments, provided that:

I. integrated licensees must have a system in place to ensure that staff give priority
of service, including priority of entrance and sales, to registered dispensary
patients before adult use consumers. This shall include curbside sale, if requested,
for dispensary patients.

ii. Strict protocols must be in place to ensure that medical products for dispensary
patients are not sold to adult-use consumers.

2.10.4 Duty to Maintain Continuity of Services to Medical Patients

() Integrated licensees must ensure their dispensary operations maintain continuity of
services to medical Cannabis patients.

(b) If an integrated licensee has commingled their cultivation pursuant to 2.10.3(a),
continuity of services will include designating sufficient biomass at an integrated
licensee’s cultivation facility to meet demand for medical Cannabis and Cannabis
Products as indicated by dispensary sales data for the preceding 3 months. Such records
and calculations will be provided to the Board or a Board designee upon request.

2.10.5 Use of Dispensary Cultivation for Integrated Licensees

Dispensary operations may transfer Cannabis and Cannabis Products to integrated licensees to
the extent provided by Section 8 of Act 164 (2020), subject to the conditions in this section.

Beginning on the date retail establishments that are not part of an integrated license may begin
sales:

(a) The tiered plant canopy limits in Rule 1.3.1 that apply to all cultivator licenses apply to
the cultivator portion of an integrated license, except for cultivation dedicated to medical
cannabis sold through a dispensary.

(b) Other than cultivation for a dispensary, cultivator portions of an integrated license will be
deemed to be in the largest cultivator tier that the Board has opened for an application
acceptance period pursuant to Rules 1.3.1 and 1.10 and will be subject to the plant
canopy limit of that tier.

(c) If an integrated licensee has chosen not to commingle their dispensary and adult use
Cannabis cultivation, the dispensary grow will be regulated by Board Rule 3 while the
adult use grow will be subject to subsection (b) of this rule 2.10.5.

(d) If an integrated licensee has chosen to commingle their dispensary and adult use
Cannabis cultivation pursuant to section 2.10.3 of this rule, the cultivation will be subject
to subsection (b) of this rule 2.10.5, with the following exception:



i. The total biomass of Cannabis required to meet the demand for medical Cannabis
and Cannabis Products as indicated by dispensary sales data for the preceding 3
months will not be counted towards the total permissible square footage. If the
total biomass set aside for medical Cannabis and Cannabis Products is ultimately
not needed for that purpose, it may not be transferred to the adult-use market.
(e) The Board at its discretion may require integrated licensees to provide the Board with any
records that might demonstrate compliance or noncompliance with this section, including
but not limited to sales and manufacturing data.

2.10.6 Duty to Purchase From Small Cultivators

Integrated Licensees shall abide by the requirement in Section 10 of Act 62 (2021) regarding the
purchase of Cannabis from small cultivators.

2.11 Section 11: Licensee’s Ongoing Duty to Disclose

A Cannabis Establishment has an ongoing duty to fully and transparently update the information
submitted with their licensing application or their last renewal form if they have renewed their
license.

2.11.1 Disclosure Insufficient For Changes In Control

If a Cannabis Establishment seeks to alter the interest holders that control it, mere disclosure is
insufficient to meet its obligations under this rule. It must seek a license renewal prior to any
change in control, as required by Rule 1.15.2.

2.12 Section 12: Confidentiality

The Board will keep confidential Cannabis Establishment information to the extent required by 7
V.S.A. § 901(h).

2.13 Section 13: Regulatory Waiver

The Board, in accordance with the purposes and intent of Chapter 33, Title 7 of the Vermont
Statutes and this rule, may waive a regulatory requirement regarding the operations of a
Cannabis Establishment to the extent such waiver does not conflict with any other state law, if in
the Board’s determination, such a waiver:

(a) is necessary to achieve the purpose of Vermont law; and

(b) does not create a danger to the public health, safety, or welfare.



12.13.21 Substance Misuse Prevention Council - Agenda

Legislative Intent Act 164 (2020) / Act 62 (2021)
Implementation of licensing — Sec. 8 of Act 164
Proposed market structure — 1.3

Health warnings and advertising — 2.2

Buffer zones — 2.8.1

Board recommendations — November 15 Report
VMS recommendations — November 17"
PreventionWorksVT! Recommendations — July 8
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Legislative Intent — Act 164 (2020)

There is created within the Executive Branch an independent
commission named the Cannabis Control Board for the purpose of
safely, equitably, and effectively implementing and administering the
laws enabling access to adult-use cannabis in Vermont (7 VSA 843)

It is the intent of the General Assembly to move as much of the illegal
cannabis market as possible into the regulated market for the
purposes of consumer protection and public safety. It is also the
intent of the General Assembly to encourage participation in the
regulated cannabis market by small, local farmers (7 VSA 904a)
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Legislative Intent — Social Equity

The Cannabis Control Board shall propose a plan for reducing or
eliminating licensing fees for individuals from communities that
historically have been disproportionately impacted by cannabis
prohibition or individuals directly and personally impacted by
cannabis prohibition

Agency of Commerce and Community Development shall establish a
program using funds from the Cannabis Business Development Fund
for the purpose of providing financial assistance, loans, grants, and
outreach to social equity applicants.
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Legislative Intent — Youth Prevention

Advertising

Cannabis establishments shall not advertise their products via
any medium unless the licensee can show that not more than 15
percent of the audience is reasonably expected to be under 21
years of age.

Afterschool

[R]evenue from the sales and use tax...on retail sales of cannabis or
cannabis products in this State shall be used to fund a grant program
to start or expand afterschool and summer learning programs
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Legislative Intent — General Prevention

SUBSTANCE MISUSE PREVENTION FUNDING

Thirty percent of the revenues raised by the cannabis
excise tax imposed by 32 V.S5.A. § 7901, not to exceed
$10,000,000.00 per fiscal year, shall be used for the
purpose of funding substance misuse prevention
programming (Act 164, Sec. 19)
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Legislative Intent — other

* Environmental stewardship

* Improving access, atfordability,
quality of the medical cannabis
program

* Public and highway safety

* Consumer protection

7~ VERMONT

CANNABIS CONTROL BOARD



Legislative Intent — Advisory Committee

Shayla Livingston,
Department of Mental Health

Stephanie Smith,
VAAFM

Kim Watson,
Stone Environmental (ret.)

Nader Hasim,
Chadwick & Spensley, PLLC

Ashley Reynolds,
Elmore Mountain Therapeutics

Mark Levine,
Department of Health

Christopher Walsh,
Terra Vera

(A) one member with an expertise in public health appointed by the Governor

(B) the Secretary of Agriculture, Food and Markets or designee

(C) one member with an expertise in laboratory science or toxicology appointed by the Governor

(D) one member with an expertise in systemic social justice and equity issues appointed by the Speaker

(E) one member with an expertise in women- and minority-owned business ownership appointed by the Speaker

(F) the Chair of the Substance Misuse Prevention Oversight and Advisory Council or designee

(G) one member with an expertise in the cannabisindustry appointed by the Senate Committee on Committees
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Legislative Intent — Advisory Committee

Sivan Cotel,
Porter Medical Center

Tim Wessel,
Brattleboro Selectboard

Ingrid Jonas,
Vermont State Police (ret.)

Julio Thompson,
Office of the Attorney General

Billy Coster,
Agency of Natural Resources

Jim Romanoff,
CSROC

Meg D'Elia,
CeresMED

(H) one member with an expertise in business management or regulatory compliance appointed by the Treasurer

(I) one member with an expertise in municipal issues appointed by the Senate Committee on Committees

(J) one member with an expertise in public safety appointed by the Attorney General

(K) one member with an expertise in criminal justice reform appointed by the Attorney General

(L) the Secretary of Natural Resources or designee

(M) the Chair of the Cannabis for Sym ptom Relief Oversight Committee or designee

(N) one member appointed by the Vermont Cannabis Trade Association
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Implementation of licensing — Sec. 8 of Act 164 (2020)

April 1 - open license applications for small cultivators; integrated
licenses; testing facilities

May 1 —issue licenses; and accept licenses for other cultivation tiers
June 1 — issue cultivator licenses

July 1 — accept applications for product manufacturers and
wholesaler licenses

August 1 — issue manufacturing and wholesaler licenses
September 1 — accept applications for retail licenses

October 1 — issue retail licenses
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Proposed market structure 1.3 — outdoor cultivation

License Tier Proposal A Proposal B
Tier 1 Outdoor < 1,000 sq ft $1,000 S750
Tier 2 Outdoor < 2,500 sq ft $2,500 51,875
Tier 3 Outdoor < 5,000 sq ft $5,000 $3,750
Tier 4 Outdoor < 10,000 sq ft $10,000 $7,500
Tier 5 Outdoor < 20,000 sq ft $20,000 $15,000
Tier 6 Outdoor < 37,500 sq ft $37,500 $25,000
Mixed Tier $4,500 $1,750
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Proposed market structure 1.3 —indoor cultivation

License Tier Proposal A Proposal B
Tier 1 Indoor< 1,000 sq ft 54,000 $1,500
Tier 2 Indoor< 2,500 sq ft $10,000 $3,750
Tier 3 Indoor< 5,000 sq ft $20,000 57,500
Tier 4 Indoor< 10,000 sq ft $40,000 $15,000
Tier 5 Indoor < 15,000 sq ft $60,000 $22,500

Tier 6 Indoor< 25,000 sq ft $100,000 $37,500
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Proposed market structure 1.3 — retail, manufacturing

License Tier Proposal A

Retail — Storefront $10,000

Retail — Seeds and Clones S4,000

Proposal B

$5,000

$1,000

License Tier Proposal A

Manufacturer — Tier 1 $15,000

Manufacturer — Tier 2 $5,000

Proposal B

$7,500

$1,500

December 13, 2021
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Proposed market structure 1.3 — other

Fee Type Proposal A Proposal B

Integrated $125,000 $50,000
Wholesaler 54,000 51,000
Testing Laboratory* $1,500 $1,500
Employee Registration** $100 max $100 max

$100 max or follow uniform fee $100 max or follow uniform fee

Local Processing®**
g schedule schedule
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Health warnings —2.2.10

All marketing, advertising, branding and promotion must include the
following warning exactly as it is below:

This is a cannabis product and has not been analyzed or approved by the
Food and Drug Administration (FDA). For use by individuals 21 years of age
and older or registered qualifying patient only. KEEP THIS PRODUCT
AWAY FROM CHILDREN AND PETS. DO NOT USE IF PREGNANT OR
BREASTFEEDING. Possession or use of this product may carry significant
legal penalties in some jurisdictions and under federal law. It may not be
transported outside of the state of Vermont. The effects of edible cannabis
may be delayed by two hours or more. Cannabis may be habit forming
and can impair concentration, coordination, and judgment. Persons 25 years
and younger may be more likely to experience harm to the developing brain.

It is against the law to drive or operate machinery when under the influence
of this product. National Poison Control Center 1-800-222-1222.
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Health warnings —2.2.10

& NOT SAFE

CONTAINS THC

KEEP OUT OF REACH OF CHILDREN
INCLUDES MULTIPLE SERVINGS

7~ VERMONT
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Health warnings —7 VSA § 907

A retailer shall display a safety information flyer at the point of purchase
and offer a customer a copy of the flyer with each purchase...The flyer
shall be developed by the Board in consultation with the Department of
Health, posted on the Board's website, and supplied to the retailer free of
charge. At a minimum, the flyer or flyers shall contain information
concerning the methods for administering cannabis, the amount of time it
may take for cannabis products to take etffect, the risks of driving under
the influence of cannabis, the potential health risks of cannabis use, the
symptoms of problematic usage, how to receive help for cannabis abuse,
and a warning that cannabis possession is illegal under federal law.
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Advertising — 7 VSA § 864

Cannabis advertisement[s] shall not contain any statement or illustration that:

(1) is deceptive, false, or misleading;

(2) promotes overconsumption;

(3) represents that the use of cannabis has curative effects;

(4) offers a prize, award, or inducement for purchasing cannabis or a cannabis
product, except that price discounts are allowed;

(5) otfers free samples of cannabis or cannabis products;

(6) depicts a person under 21 years of age consuming cannabis or cannabis
products;

(7) is designed to be or has the effect of being particularly appealing to persons
under 21 years of age
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Advertising —2.2.11

Cannabis Establishments are prohibited from using objects, such as toys, inflatables, movie characters, cartoon
characters, child-friendly depictions of food or other consumables, or include any other display, depiction, or image
designed in any manner likely to be appealing to minors or anyone under 21 years of age. This includes, but is not
limited to, brand logo development and any advertising used for the purposes of marketing the licensee's
dispensary and/or products.

Cannabis Establishments are prohibited from advertising or promotingin a manner thatis false, untrue, or
misleading.

Cannabis Establishments are prohibited from including in its advertising any statement concerning a brand or
product thatis inconsistent with any statement on the labeling thereof.

Websites for Cannabis Establishments must have age-gating

Social media accounts for Cannabis Establishments may only promote products using links to their age-gated
websites. Any images or other text regarding productsis otherwise prohibited.
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Advertising —2.2.12

Presumptions:

That more than 15% of the audience will be under 21 years of age, unless the prospective advertiser
can show by a preponderance of the evidence that less than 15% of the audience is reasonably
expected to be under 21 years of age. Evidence must include reliable, verifiable, and current
audience composition data.

That the audience for any outdoor advertisement is the general public, and those under 21 years of
age will have the same prevalence in that audience as they do in the general public, unless a
prospective advertiser can demonstrate that an outdoor space will not be accessed by the general
public and that those who can access it meet the audience metric of 7 V.S.A. § 864(c).

Except for signage as defined in 7 V.S5.A. § 861(2)(D), window displays, or items, text, or objects
inside a retail Cannabis Establishment that are visible to a person standing outside the
establishment, will be considered an outdoor advertisement for the purposes of this rule.
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Buffer zones — 2.8.1 /18 V.S5.A. § 4237(d)

The selling or dispensing of a regulated drug to a person on
property abutting school property is a violation under this
section only if it occurs within 500 feet of the school property.
Property shall be considered abutting school property if:

(1) it shares a boundary with school property; or

(2) it is adjacent to school property and is separated only by a
river, stream, or public highway
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Board Recommendations

* 1-2% of the state excise tax on retail sales go to the municipalities where the retail sales occurred

* The CCB recommends that cannabis licensees be permitted to produce extractions (concentrates, distillates, and
isolates) with a concentration of 60% or greater THC for purposes of incorporation into other cannabis products
that otherwise comply with the restrictionsin 7 V.S.A.§ 868.

* theBoard recommendsremoving from the prohibited productsin7 V.S.A. § 868 solid concentrates with a THC
concentration of 60% or above for adults 25 years of age and older

* jurisdiction of the CCB include the manufacture and sale of products containing Delta-8 and future synthetic
cannabinoids with similar properties, whether they are derived from hemp or from high-THC cannabis:

 createa license category for producers who intend to synthesize products for the adult-use cannabis market

 create a productregistration process, so that prior to the release of any new product containing an
intoxicating cannabinoid that has been synthesized from hemp, the CCB would review the packaging, label,
ingredients, test results, and either approve or deny the release of that product.
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VMS Recommendations to CCB

VMS urges the Vermont Cannabis Control Board, local Cannabis Control Boards
and/or the Vermont Legislature to:

* require all cannabis grown, produced or sold whether through dispensaries or retail
establishments in the state be less than 15% THC

* include the following warning on all labeling and advertising: WARNING:
Cannabis/THC may cause: 1. Psychosis* 2. Impaired driving 3. Addiction 4. Suicide
attempt® 5. Uncontrollable vomiting 6. Harm to fetus/nursing baby *This can occur
in individuals with no previous history of psychosis or mental illness
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PreventionWorksVT! Recommendations

* A dedicated fund to be created to ensure that the funds go to substance misuse prevention and an
agency such as the Vermont Department of Health be designated to disperse the prevention funds to
ensure it is allocated to evidence-based prevention strategies

« Cannabis facilities and outlets be distanced from schools, daycares, and other places that children and
youth gather and the number of density of outlets be limited

« Advertising and signage does not promote marijuana use messages to young people
* Potency limits be considered
« Preventing access of cannabis products to youth through enforcement focused on retailer training,

education, and compliance through an experienced agency such as the Department of Liquor and
Lottery
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