PREVENTION OF PERINATAL HEPATITIS B TRANSMISSION

' TEST ALL PREGNANT WOMEN )

HBsAg POSITIVE or Unknown Status!?

Document, report and counsel.?

MOTHER INFANT!?
= Positive test results must be referred to =
Perinatal Hepatitis B Prevention Coordinator at
the Vermont Department of Health. .

= Birthing hospital must also be notified of

mother’s HBsAg status.

HBsAg Negative w/
anti-HBs Positive

Immune

*Footnotes on reverse side
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HBsAg NEGATIVE

Retest if symptoms of hepatitis appear.

Retest in third trimester if have known
exposure to hepatitis B or if engage in high
risk behaviors such as multiple sex partners or
injection drug use.

Administer hepatitis Bimmune globulin (HBIG) and
HepB vaccine within 12 hours of birth.

Complete HepB vaccine series as recommended.
Combination vaccines may be used to complete the
vaccine series.3

Screen infant for HBsAg and anti-HBs at 9-12 months of age. This should be 1-2
months after completing HepB vaccine series.*

HBsAg Positive w/
anti-HBs Negative

Infant infected and likely a
chronic carrier. Retest in 6
months. Refer to Perinatal
Hepatitis B Prevention
Coordinator.

Refer infant to pediatric
specialist for periodic
medical monitoring.

HBsAg Negative w/
anti-HBs Negative

Not immune

Revaccinate w/ 3 dose series of HepB vaccine.

Test for anti-HBs 1-2 months following
revaccination series.

Anti-HBs positive If anti-HBs negative,
indicates document as
immunity non-responder

Adapted from the New York State Department of Health



PREVENTION OF PERINATAL HEPATITIS B TRANSMISSION

Report All Suspected Hepatitis B to Public Health
Call: 802-863-7240

Contact the Perinatal Hepatitis B Prevention Coordinator
Call: 802-863-7240

If you have questions regarding the Perinatal Hepatitis B Prevention Program, please email:
AHS.vdhimmunizationprogram@vermont.gov

For more information, please visit:
www.healthvermont.gov
http://www.cdc.gov/hepatitis/hbv/perinatalxmtn.htm

FOOTNOTES

1. Infants born to mothers with unknown hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg) status should be
treated as if the mother is positive.

2. Health care providers are required by law to report diseases of public health importance to
the Vermont Department of Health, including Hepatitis B and Hepatitis B, positive surface
antigen in a pregnant woman. To report a case, call: 802-863-7240

3. Only the monovalent Hepatitis B vaccine can be given as the birth dose. Prior to 6 weeks of
age the use of combination vaccines (Pediarix) for the birth dose can cause the suppression of
the immune response of the other vaccine components. Combination vaccines can be used for
dose two and dose three of the series.

4. Forinfants born to HBsAg-positive mothers, post vaccination serology is recommended 1 to 2
months after completion of at least 3 doses of the HepB vaccine series. For a child who
received vaccines on schedule, test between age 9 to 12 months. Testing should not be
performed before age 9 months, as HBIG might still be present for 6 to 8 months, or within 1
month of the most recent vaccine dose, as a transient false positive HBsAg might occur.
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