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Why support lactating employees?  
• Saves money: fewer health insurance claims and lower medical costs averaging $400 in 

annual savings per breastfed baby 

• Reduces employee turnover 

• Lowers employee absenteeism 

• Improves employee productivity 

• Raises employee morale and company loyalty 

• It’s the Law 

What can employers do to support lactating parents in the workplace?  
• Develop policy and determine who oversees this program 

• Inform employees of the new policy  

• Provide a clean, private place with access to electric outlets and a chair 

• Offer flexible breaks 

• Apply for Breastfeeding Friendly Employer recognition 

• Consider insurance coverage for lactation consultants and breast pumps 

• Consider corporate lactation program if staff includes significant number of parents 

• Understand the laws 

Vermont Law Act 117 
• Vermont law (Act 117) provides protection for parents who breastfeed in places of public 

accommodation (schools, restaurants, stores, and other facilities serving the public).  

• For more information contact the Vermont Human Rights Commission (hrc.vermont.gov) at 
802-828-2480 or toll-free at 800-416-2010, or by email at human.rights@vermont.gov 

Vermont Labor Law Amended 
• Vermont’s labor law was amended in 2008 to include the following:  

Up to 3 years following the baby’s birth,  
o Provide reasonable time, either compensated or uncompensated, throughout the day 

for the employee to express milk, and  

o Make a reasonable accommodation to provide appropriate private space that is not a 
bathroom.   

https://www.healthvermont.gov/wellness/worksite-wellness/promote-family-friendly-workplace
https://hrc.vermont.gov/
mailto:human.rights@vermont.gov
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Federal Law: Break Time for Nursing Mothers 
• Federal law requires employers to provide reasonable break time for an employee to 

express milk for a nursing child for one year after the child's birth each time such employee 
has need to express the milk (Section 7 of the FLSA).  

• Employers are required to provide a place, other than a bathroom, that is shielded from view 
and free from intrusion from coworkers and the public, which may be used by an employee 
to express breast milk. 

PUMP Act  
• New law signed in 2022 made several changes to the Break Time for Nursing Mothers law. 

The PUMP for Nursing Mothers Act (PUMP Act):  

o Expands the legal right to receive pumping breaks and private space to many more 
workers including teachers, registered nurses, and farm workers.  

o Clarifies that if employee is not relieved from work duties during the pumping break, 
the pumping time will count as time worked.  

o If employers do not comply with the law, employees can file a complaint and may 
choose to file a lawsuit, including monetary damages, against their employer.  

What can employees do if their rights have been violated?  
• An employee who believes their right to express milk has been violated can contact the 

Center for Work Life Law’s free hotline at 415-703-8276 or visit A Better Balance  
(abetterbalance.org/know-your-rights) 

• An employee who believes their right to express milk has been violated should contact the 
Vermont Attorney General, Civil Rights Unit (CRU) at 802-828-3657 or toll-free 888-745-
9195. The CRU may investigate and enforce provisions of the law, and lost wages may be 
recovered.  

• Alternatively, an employee who believes their rights have been violated may make a 
complaint to the Vermont Judicial Bureau through the Vermont Department of Labor, Wage 
and Hour Division at 802-828-0267.  

• The Federal Fair Labor Standards Act providing break time for nursing mothers is enforced 
by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division, 802-951-6283. 

Resources 
Vermont Department of Health – healthvermont.gov 
Vermont Department of Labor – labor.vermont.gov 
Vermont Human Rights Commission – hrc.vermont.gov 
Vermont Attorney General, Civil Rights Unit – ago.vermont.gov/divisions/civil-rights 
A Better Balance and Center for Work Life Law – abetterbalance.org / Free, confidential legal 

helpline: 1-833-NEED-ABB (1-833-633-3222) 
Office on Women’s Health – womenshealth.gov 

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/nursing-mothers/law
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pump-at-work
https://www.abetterbalance.org/
https://www.abetterbalance.org/know-your-rights/
http://ago.vermont.gov/divisions/civil-rights
https://labor.vermont.gov/rights-and-wages/wage-and-hour
https://labor.vermont.gov/rights-and-wages/wage-and-hour
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/nursing-mothers/law
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd
https://www.healthvermont.gov/
https://labor.vermont.gov/
https://hrc.vermont.gov/
http://ago.vermont.gov/divisions/civil-rights
https://www.abetterbalance.org/
https://www.womenshealth.gov/
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