

# **Impaired Driver Rehabilitation Program**

Educating people about the risks of substance use and driving

### **Division of Substance Use Programs**

**January 2025** 

The Vermont Department of Health, Division of Substance Use Programs (DSU) administers the Impaired Driver Rehabilitation Program (IDRP), an intervention program for people who have received a conviction for operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Completion of IDRP is required by 23 V.S.A. § 1209a for reinstatement of an unrestricted driver's license.

#### **KEY HIGHLIGHTS**

 Intervention for people who are convicted of driving under the influence

## The IDRP process

- Register with a DSU-approved IDRP provider to complete the IDRP clinical evaluation. (A list
  of IDRP providers, contact info and schedules are available at <a href="HealthVermont.gov/IDRP">HealthVermont.gov/IDRP</a>.)
  The evaluation gathers background information and personal and family history of alcohol
  and drug use. Evaluators use evidence-based screening tools (i.e. <a href="AUDIT">AUDIT</a>, <a href="DAST-10">DAST-10</a>, <a href="CRAFFT">CRAFFT</a>)
  to assess the participant's level of risk for substance use disorder (SUD).
- Enrollment in the 10-hour IDRP education component. This motivational intervention is used in group settings to prevent or provide early intervention for SUD. Based on the <u>lifestyle risk</u> <u>reduction model</u>, the <u>transtheoretical model</u> and <u>persuasion theory</u>, the curriculum emphasizes changing participants' perceptions of the risks of drug and alcohol use and related attitudes and beliefs.

### **IDRP** treatment requirements

3. The IDRP evaluator will determine if treatment is necessary for people with one impaired driving conviction, or who are court ordered to participate in IDRP. Minimum treatment requirements for people with one conviction are **4 hours** of treatment over **no fewer than 4 weeks.** 

For people with two convictions, or who are applying for license reinstatement through the DMV's <u>Total Abstinence for License Reinstatement</u>, the minimum treatment requirements are **20 hours** of treatment over **no fewer than 24 weeks.** 

Learn more about the Impaired Driver Rehabilitation Program at HealthVermont.gov/IDRP.

#### **Priorities for 2025**

- Continue work on centralized registration and payment systems
- Provide technical assistance and support to the six (6) IDRP providers
- Develop strategies to decrease administrative burden and increase compensation to sustain program operations following the departure of four (4) IDRP providers.

Education and counseling to help people examine what they value to make low risk driving choices.

For more information, contact <a href="mailto:AHS.VDHDSU@vermont.gov">AHS.VDHDSU@vermont.gov</a>.