

State of Vermont

Vermont Board of Medical Practice 108 Cherry St-PO Box 70 Burlington, VT 05402-0070

HealthVermont.gov

Agency of Human Services
Department of Health

[phone] 802-657-4220 [fax] 802-657-4227

Vermont Board of Medical Practice Important Information Updates

DEA Training Requirements

This is a reminder that new DEA training requirements for renewal of DEA registration will be effective as of June 27, 2023. The changes being implemented were set in motion by the elimination of the waiver process to be able to



prescribe buprenorphine for medication assisted treatment of opioid use disorder.

The new training requirements will apply to all who apply to obtain or renew a DEA registration, except for those who are deemed to have met the requirements, as discussed below. (Veterinarians are also exempt). The requirements apply even for medical professionals who do not prescribe opioids or treat patients with substance use disorder. Everyone who renews a DEA registration needs to be aware of the new requirements. Q&A on some key points follow but we recommend that all who have a DEA registration go directly to the DEA Guidance Letter of March 27, 2023.

DEA Training FAQs

Who is deemed to have met the requirements?

The DEA recognizes two groups who are deemed to meet the requirements by virtue of their education and training. The first is practitioners board certified in addiction medicine or addiction psychiatry by the ABMS, American Board of Addiction Medicine, or the AOA. The second group is practitioners who graduated from medical, dental, physician assistant, or APRN school after June 27, 2018 and whose schooling including successful completion of at least 8 hours on specified topics relating to opioids and substance use disorder.

What is the training requirement for prescribers who are not "deemed" to have

the training?

Prescribers must have a total of 8 hours of training, which can be obtained in separate events. The training must be on treatment and management of patients with opioid or other substance use disorders.

I already had at least 8 hours of training that I took to get an "X-license." Does it count?

Yes. Past training to obtain a DATA waiver counts.

Who can provide the training?

A large number of organizations are listed in the **DEA Guidance Letter of March 27**, **2023.** The guidance also allows for any training accredited by the ACCME or CCEPR.

When is the deadline for getting the training?

There is no deadline for getting the training. However, as of June 27, 2023, you will not be able to apply for a new DEA registration or to renew an existing DEA registration until you can certify that you meet the requirements.

Will I need to do this every time I renew my DEA registration? No, it is a one-time requirement.

Changes to The Patient Choice at End of Life Law

The Health Department has asked us to share the following. There is no longer a residency requirement for patients to use the option allowed under the Patient Choice



at End of Life law, which is found at Chapter 113 of Title 18 of the Vermont Statutes. The law gives a person with a terminal disease the option to be prescribed a dose of medication to hasten the end of their life.

Due to this change, the Vermont Department of Health has updated the Physician Reporting Form, which is available on the Vermont Department of Health website. To access the revised form and additional reporting materials, visit the Patient Choice at End of Life webpage.

The Department appreciates your attention to this change. Please continue to consult the VDH website for the most up-to-date resources available.

What Licensees Should Know About Seeking Assistance for Personal Health Problems

This is to make sure that our licensees know that they need not worry about experiencing disciplinary action or any other adverse consequences regarding their Vermont medical license based on having sought care for a mental health problem or assistance with substance use. That applies to all our health care professions and is not limited to MDs. It seems that whenever health care professionals' wellness is discussed, at some point it is suggested that health care professionals are afraid to seek help with their own challenges – whether mental health or substance use – because of fear that they will suffer career ramifications



for having done so. We want all licensees to feel free to seek help without concern that getting help will be held against them by the Board of Medical Practice.

We are not so naïve to think saying that will convince licensees that they should not be afraid to seek help. Please consider how we ask about these matters on our applications to obtain or renew a license. **Do we ask if you've sought treatment or had any history of such issues? No.** The applications ask only about **current impairments**. The applications, both initial and renewal, were updated several years ago to stop asking about history of impairments and limit the scope of the question to current impairment.

The foregoing is true without regard to the nature of the impairment. There are no questions asking for information about past impairments or whether you have ever been treated for substance abuse or mental health. Questions like that have long been banished from our applications. Furthermore, in 2022, the instructions for the section about current impairment were modified to include an incentive to seek help through the Vermont Practitioner Health Program (VPHP). Licensees who participate in VPHP are explicitly told that they can say "No" to the question asking if there is a current impairment, as follows:

A licensee who participates in the Vermont Practitioner Health Program (VPHP) may answer "No" to this question if: you have informed VPHP of your behavior or condition, have been evaluated, have entered an agreement with VPHP, and you are complying with all of VPHP's requirements for evaluation, treatment, and/or monitoring.

You do not have to disclose your participation in VPHP if you elected to seek help and were not required by the Board to get involved with the program because of events that brought a problem to light. We don't ask about it and you don't need to tell the Board when you renew your license. The Board will not find out that you sought assistance from VPHP on your own, absent very specific events occurring. More information about the VPHP program and the triggers for a report to the Board are found on the VPHP page of the VMS website.

The Board and its staff understand that making the decision to ask for help is difficult. We are committed to making it easier for our licensees to choose to seek assistance. We welcome your input and questions about this topic. Please contact us if you have any suggestions about how we could make VPHP a more inviting option. We are also happy answer questions about VPHP, but many may be more comfortable asking VPHP directly. You can reach VPHP by calling

their confidential telephone line at 802-223-0400.



Free CME on Xylazine

In late 2022 the FDA issued a public health alert regarding the risk of xylazine being added to illicit opioids. Xylazine is a non-opioid drug approved by the FDA for use as a sedative and pain reliever for animals but is not safe for use in humans. The presence of xylazine in illicit opioids presents a particularly high risk for users because the effects of xylazine are not reversed by naloxone.

We have been asked to share information about two opportunities for medical professionals to learn more about treating patients exposed to xylazine. The Boston Medical Center is offering free online training on Wednesday June 14 and Thursday July 20. The live events are free and provide AMA PRA Category 1 credit. Information about the training and how to sign up is found on the Boston Medical Center website.

For questions or concerns please contact the Vermont Board of Medical Practice
Email: AHS.VDHMedicalBoard@vermont.gov
Phone: (802) 657-4220

Vermont Board of Medical Practice | 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05401

Unsubscribe jane.malago@vermont.gov

Update Profile | Constant Contact Data Notice

Sent byahs.vdhmedicalboard@vermont.govin collaboration with

