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This manual reviews information about Vermont’s Impaired Driver Rehabilitation

% Program (IDRP) including frequently asked questions, the IDRP process, and
o™e

program requirements. If you are convicted of driving under the influence of
alcohol or drugs in Vermont, you must complete IDRP to reinstate your
unrestricted driver’s license.
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Frequently Asked Questions

How do | schedule my exit interview?

e Contact your IDRP Clinical Evaluator to schedule an exit interview after you have
completed all education and treatment requirements.

Can | start treatment before | complete IDRP education?

e Yes! You can start treatment at any time after the offense has occurred.
Can | start IDRP before I go to court?

e Yes! You can start the program at any time after the offense has occurred.
Do I need to complete IDRP if my charges are dropped?

e You may still need to complete IDRP if your charges have been reduced or dropped.
Contact the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles at 802-828-2000 or your legal
representation if you have questions about your charges.

Can my alcohol or other drug counseling replace IDRP education?

¢ No. You may be required to complete counseling in addition to IDRP education, but it
cannot replace it.

Can my victim’s impact panel replace IDRP?

e No. The court may require you to attend a victim's impact panel, but it is not part of
IDRP.

Can my Safe Driving Program replace IDRP?

¢ No. The court may require you to take a Safe Driving Program but is it not part of
IDRP.

Is IDRP required before | can get an ignition interlock device?

e No, but IDRP completion is required to remove the ignition interlock device to avoid
suspension.

Are urine drug screenings and abstinence required for IDRP?

e You may be asked to submit urine drug screens or engage in a period of abstinence
by the IDRP Clinical Evaluator or the treatment clinician.

| have been able to get my license before, why do | have to do IDRP now?

o The federal government requires that all states participate in the National Driver Register
to prevent people who have a suspended license in one state from getting license in
another state. Some states only recently began checking the register.
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The IDRP process

1. Registration - Choose any approved Vermont IDRP provider and contact them to
register.

2. Evaluation - An IDRP Clinical Evaluator will evaluate your program requirements, and
help you understand what your treatment requirements are.

3. Education - You will participate in 10 hours of education (lectures, reading, videos
and small group discussions). This education is the same across all Vermont
providers and can be completed in 2 sessions (“intensive”) or over 4 sessions (“non-
intensive”).

4. Treatment - The IDRP Clinical Evaluator will give you information on your individual
treatment requirements. All treatment hours need to be completed before your IDRP
completion is processed, and must be completed with a licensed clinician.

5. Exit Interview - The IDRP Clinical Evaluator may require an exit interview after you
complete your education and treatment requirements.

1st Offense May be required by the IDRP

You may take either the Clinical Evaluator.

intensive (10 hours in 2 Minimum of 4 treatment hours
sessions) or non- over a minimum of 4 weeks, if
intensive (10 hours over required.

4 sessions) program

2nd Offense Minimum of 20 treatment hours

over a minimum of 24 weeks.

3rd Offense Minimum of 20 treatment hours
or more IDRP education not over a minimum of 24 weeks,
(Lifetime required plus DMV Total Abstinence
Suspension) Program.

Questions? Contact the IDRP Central Office!

Contact the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) at 802-828-2000 for
information about license suspensions or offense information.

IDRP Cost

e The mandatory evaluation is $180.
e The mandatory education program is $220. The intensive programs (who offer IDRP
education over two days) may have slightly higher fees if they offer meals.

Registering for IDRP

e Choose any approved Vermont IDRP provider and contact them to register.
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Lifetime suspensions

e Ifyou live in Vermont and have a lifetime suspension, you will need to complete
treatment (a minimum of 20 treatment hours over a minimum of 24 weeks) and
apply for reinstatement of your license through the DMV Total Abstinence Application
process.

e DMV Total Abstinence is not the same as IDRP. For more information about DMV
Total Abstinence, please visit their website or them at (802) 828-2067.

Virtual programming

e Vermont’s approved IDRP education is offered virtually! It is a live class with
scheduled start and end times. You will need access to an internet connected device
with a webcam to participate in the education programming.

e Contact any approved Vermont IDRP provider to register.

Important forms

For you to complete

e Please complete the Release of Confidential Information Form - this form allows
IDRP Central Office to communicate your IDRP completion with the DMV and is an
important step towards license reinstatement.

o If you need your IDRP completion sent to a Department of Motor Vehicles
outside of Vermont, you must include the name and complete mailing address
or fax number.

For your treatment clinician to complete

e Your treatment clinician must complete and send the Treatment Information Form to
the IDRP Central Office (Fax #: 1-866-272-7989)
e Treatment Information Forms submitted by clients cannot be accepted.

Out of State (Non-Vermont) Residents

e If you live out-of-state and receive an impaired driving offense in Vermont, you should
complete your state’s approved program and provide proof of completion to IDRP.
Vermont is a member of the 47 State Driver License Interstate Compact, which
allows the exchange of information concerning license suspensions and traffic
violations of non-residents. This process can be complicated—feel free to call the
IDRP Central Office for information about approved out of state programs.

e [f you live out-of-state and receive an impaired driving offense in Vermont, you may
choose to take Vermont's IDRP. Before registering for IDRP in Vermont, it is important
to verify that your state will accept Vermont’s program. Your state may have
additional requirements for license reinstatement.
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Contact Us

Impaired Driver Rehabilitation Program (IDRP) Central Office
Department of Health, Division of Substance Use Programs

108 Cherry Street

Burlington, VT 05401

Phone: 802-651-1574

We may be on the phone assisting other clients when you call. Please leave your name, your
phone number, and a good time to reach you. Messages will be returned as soon as possible -
usually within two business days.

Email: AHS.VDHIDRP@vermont.gov
You can also reach us by email - please be aware that IDRP Central Office cannot guarantee
the security of information sent by email.

Fax: 1-866-272-7989
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