Emergency Service Provider Wellness Commission

APPROVED Meeting Minutes

01/04/2022

- Meeting opened at 12:02
- Members
 - Meeting was entirely remote via Teams
 - Stephanie Busch, Mark McDonough, Barb Neal, Trevor Whipple, Bill Elwell, Lance Burnham, Clarke Collins, Emily Wilson, Emma Harrigan, Mathew Engels, Mourning Fox, Karim Champman, Kate Lamphere, Cindy Lack, Leonard Howard, Prescott Nadeau, Samantha Sweet, Lori Gurney, Vicki Fielding
 - Absent –, Seth Loomis, Gene Perkins, Aaron Cochran, Dean Shatney
- Peter Lynch has stepped down as the Chief of Training at the Fire Academy, Mourning Fox has been appointed to fill his seat on the commission
 - Stephanie Busch will act as Chair for the meeting
- Beth Novotny has been appointed as a Superior Court Judge and can no longer serve as an advisor to the commission
- Stephen Trenholm Safety Officer, Essex Fire Department (EFD), gave a 20-minute presentation.
 - EFD participated in a 6-month study run by the FIRST Center of Drexel University. The study was titled: RAPID Covid Mental Health Assessment
 - Results from data collected are summarized in the attached powerpoint
 - The survey used to collect the data could be a helpful tool in judging the baseline mental health wellness of Vermont's first responders and then re-evaluating after resources and systems are put into place
- Minutes of 11/14/21 meeting were adopted (Motion by Engles, second by Elwell) [typo correction: the November meeting was on Nov 17th, not 14th].
- Review of progress of the second survey sent out
 - 117 agencies have completed the survey
 - Members of the commission were asked to work with their respective sectors to increase participation in the survey
- Barb Neal presented a draft framework for a Legislative Report
 - Timeline for writing the report
 - Working groups written response 1/15
 - Commission report development 2/1
 - Commission report deadline for draft 3/1
 - Final report 4/1
 - Legislative committee meeting 4/15
- Elections of 2022 Chair and Vice-Chair
 - Chair Stephanie Busch (Nominated by Neal, second by Lack
 - Unanimously approved
 - Vice-Chair Mark McDonough (Nominated by Howard, second by Lack
 - Unanimously approved

- Next meeting date TBD
- Meeting concluded at 1:07p