Insufficient Blood Lead Testing Rates in Vermont

Did you know that Vermont has a universal testing law for lead exposure (<u>18 V.S.A. Section 1755</u>)? That means, health care providers are required to test 1- and 2-year-old children for lead and report results. Unfortunately, testing rates have not risen since the law passed: Only 78% of 1-year-olds and 68% of 2-year-olds were tested for lead exposure in 2016 and 545 of them had an elevated blood lead level.

Lead exposure remains an issue in Vermont and children are still being chelated every year as a result of exposure to lead from an array of potential sources. These sources include dust from deteriorated lead-based paint, toys, keys, jewelry, pottery, dishes, contaminated soil, old plumbing pipes and fixtures, imported candy and foods, and antique, vintage and salvaged goods.

The Health Department has worked with health care providers to achieve voluntary compliance but there are still some who are not complying with the law. We are asking health care providers to increase testing rates at their practices and to electronically submit all test results (including Lead Care II data) in a timely manner by the $1^{\rm st}$ and $15^{\rm th}$ of every month.

Please contact us to discuss barriers to testing at 800-439-8550 or via email AHS.HealthyHomes@vermont.gov. Please visit healthvermont.gov/lead/providers for more information. The Department will be exploring enforcement options for those health care providers who do not come into compliance with the law. The Vermont Blood Lead Testing and Reporting Rule can be viewed online here.

