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863-7275 OR 800-439-5008

We have prepared these guidelines to assist you in completing the OFFICIANT section of the Vermont Marriage
Certificate or Civil Union Certificate (items 17a-f.) On this page, there are step-by-step instructions for filling out
each item. On the back page, there is a checklist. If you have questions or would like additional copies of these
guidelines, contact the Vital Records Unit of the Vermont Department of Health, or any Town Clerk.

Please type or use black ink.
This will increase the chances that readable copies can be made from the certificate for the next 100 years.

Block 17a—Type or print the date you perform the marriage ceremony or certify the civil union.
Be sure the date falls between the “VALID FROM _____ TO_____” dates (item 16d of the
CERTIFICATION section of the forms). Write out the name of the month, rather than the
number of the month (e.g., July 1, 2000, not 7/1/2000).

Block 17b—Type or print the city or town where you perform the marriage ceremony
or certify the union.

Blocks 17c & d—Sign your name in 17c, and type or print your name in 17d.

Block 17e—Type or print your title here (e.g., Justice, Minister, Rabbi, Priest).

Block 17f—Type or print your address here.

Upon completion of the OFFICIANT section, return the certificate to the issuing town clerk (see 16b & c
of the CERTIFICATION section). The law requires that the officiant return the certificate to the clerk
within 10 days so the marriage or civil union can be legally registered. Do not give the completed
certificate to the couple.

OFFICIANT
This license authorizes the marriage IN VERMONT ONLY of the above named

parties by any person duly authorized to perform a marriage.

17a. I CERTIFY THAT THE ABOVE PERSONS
WERE MARRIED ON: (Month, Day, Year)

DATE >

17b. WHERE MARRIED — CITY OR TOWN

17c. SIGNATURE OF PERSON PERFORMING CEREMONY

>

17d. NAME (Type/Print) 17e. TITLE

17f. ADDRESS OF PERSON PERFORMING CEREMONY (Street and Number or Rural Route Number, City or
Town, State, Zip Code)

OFFICIANT
This license authorizes the establishment of a civil union IN VERMONT ONLY of
the above named parties by any person duly authorized to certify a civil union.

17a. I CERTIFY THAT THE ABOVE PERSONS
ESTABLISHED A CIVIL UNION ON: (Month, Day, Year)

DATE >

17b. IN THE CITY OR TOWN OF

17c. SIGNATURE OF OFFICIANT

>

17d. NAME (Type/Print) 17e. TITLE

17f. ADDRESS OF OFFICIANT (Street and Number or Rural Route Number, City or Town, State, Zip Code)
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CHECKLIST

Before the Marriage or Civil Union:

_____ Are you legally authorized to perform a wedding or to certify a civil union in Vermont?

If you are a judge or justice, you must have taken the oath of office, and you must perform
the wedding or certify the civil union during your term of office.

If you are a member of the clergy and reside in Vermont, you must be ordained, licensed
or authorized by your denomination.

If you are a member of the clergy, but are not a Vermont resident, you must have special
authorization from the probate court in the county where you will be performing the ceremony,
unless you reside in an adjoining state or country and your church, temple, mosque, or other
religious organization lies entirely or partly in Vermont. Contact the probate court for details.

_____ Are these individuals eligible to enter into marriage or a civil union?

_____ Do they have a valid Vermont marriage or civil union license?

_____ Will the certification date fall within the “VALID FROM _____ TO_____” dates?
(See 16d of the CERTIFICATION section of the license.)

After the Marriage or Civil Union:

_____ Fill out the remaining items of the OFFICIANT section using a typewriter or pen
with permanent black ink (17a - f).

_____ Return the completed certificate within 10 days to the town clerk who issued the license
(Block 16b & c). The certificate does not become a legal document until the town clerk
has registered it. Do not give the certificate to the couple.
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