
Frequently Asked Questions about  
Vermont’s Child Care Immunization Regulations  

 
1. Which programs/providers do NOT need to submit an annual report? 
 The following programs/providers are NOT required to submit an annual report: 

• After-school only programs  
• Occasional or part-time child care program or camp (non-recurring child care) 
• Un-registered or un-licensed child care providers  

 
2. Which children should NOT be included in your annual report?  

Children who attend school – they will be included in the school report (K-12). 
 
3. Do I need to report the names of children in my care on the annual report?  

No. The annual report asks for immunization information on the children in your care – 
not child-specific information. For example, it asks that you enter the “number of 
children up-to-date for all immunizations for their age.” You will not be asked to list any 
child’s name.  

 
4. Who reports the immunization status of a 5 year old child? 

This question comes up frequently because some 5-year old children are in kindergarten 
and some are in pre-kindergarten programs. Vermont law states that children must turn 5 
by September 1st in order to enroll in public kindergarten.  
 
The immunization regulations are specific to the child’s program enrollment.  

• For children enrolled in a Department of Education (DOE) K-12, public or private 
(including approved independent and recognized) school, only the school reports.  
Regardless of additional enrollment in Child Development Division (CDD) 
programs, only the school will report. 

• Programs registered and licensed by the CDD report for children who attend 
publicly funded pre-kindergarten programs (typically located within public 
schools) as these are licensed by CDD and fall under child care immunization 
regulations, not school immunization regulations.  

 
When children attend multiple CDD programs, such as Pre-school, EEE, Head Start, 
and/or registered home child care, each program must hold a copy of the child’s 
immunization record and include the child in their Annual Immunization Status Report.   

 
5. Who reports the immunization status of children in a building that houses both 

DOE and CDD programs? 
 The immunization regulations are specific to the child’s program enrollment. Some 

facilities (public or private) have a DOE kindergarten as well as a CDD pre-school and/or 
child care program. If a child is enrolled in the DOE (K-12) program, that program 
reports, regardless of additional enrollment in a CDD program.  The CDD program is not 
the reporter for children enrolled in kindergarten or higher grades. 

 
 



6. When the VDH schedule says 1-4 shots are needed, what does this mean?   
 There are a few childhood vaccines that children can “age out of,” which means that the 

number of doses needed to complete a series, (or to be up-to-date) is dependent on the 
age of the child when they received a first dose, plus the child’s current age. When a 
range is given for number of doses, any number within the range should be considered 
acceptable for entry into childcare.   

 
7. When I have determined that a child is not up-to-date with shots, how do I fill out 

the Child Care Notice of Incomplete Immunizations form? 
  Determination of the number of doses required should occur at the health care provider’s 

office. If you check on the registry, and the chart indicates that the child is not up-to-date, 
you need only to identify which vaccine the child is not up-to-date on. You do not need to 
record the number of vaccines missing.  

 
8.  What should I do if a parent does not provide an immunization record? 
  Explain the reason for your request and tell them that you are required to exclude the 

child if neither an immunization record nor an exemption form is provided.  Give parents 
a copy of “A Parents Guide to Immunizations Required for Child Care.” It may help to 
answer their questions and direct the parents to the VDH for more information. You may 
tell the parent that it is a condition of your license with CDD and your ability to stay in 
business.  

 
9.  Why do we have to collect and report on this information?   
  Vaccines protect young children from diseases that occur more frequently and have more 

adverse outcomes in the very young.  These same diseases often spread in group settings. 
By completing the annual report, the child care provider and the state both have 
information on the number of children at risk for any vaccine preventable disease, should 
an outbreak occur. With more information on immunization rates for pre-K children, 
VDH has a clearer picture of risk for vaccine preventable disease. Immunizations are an 
important part of a healthy community.  If there are questions about submitting the 
Annual Report, please call the Vermont Department of Health for assistance at 800-640-
4374. 

 
10.   Can I restrict unimmunized children from enrolling in my child care? 
  Licensed and registered child care providers operate their own child care business and 

therefore make their own business decisions about who to enroll as long as they avoid 
discrimination. This answer was provided by the Child Development Division (CDD) at 
the VT Department for Children and Families. 

 
11.  Can I tell parents of infants that there is a child (not mention any name) who is not 

immunized at my childcare? 
   You can disclose that your program accepts unimmunized children. 
 
12.  Kids need to be vaccinated, but what about my staff member who is anti-vaccines 

and will not take any shots?  What can I do about this? 
  It is strongly recommended that all people working with infants and young children or 

who are in contact with pregnant women, maintain up-to-date vaccine status to protect 
themselves and the families they provide care for.  As the employer, you are encouraged 



to set and follow a policy that informs unvaccinated staff that they will not be able to 
work if they are ill or if there is a vaccine preventable disease outbreak. Such an event 
may be costly to you and to your unvaccinated employee. 

 
13. Do I need to enter immunization information for the children in my care into the 

Immunization Registry (IMR)? 
Information is entered into the IMR by health care providers and their staff. Child care 
providers may check on the immunization status of the children in their care on the IMR, 
but do not have permission to enter any data.  
 
You do need to submit your annual report on Survey Monkey and it can be found on the 
Vermont Department of Health website here www.surveymonkey.com/s/FX8R65C. 

 
 
 
  


