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RULES OF THE BOARD OF MEDICAL PRACTICE  

(Excerpt of Rules effective 10/15/2017) 

 

22.0  Continuing Medical Education 

22.1  Minimum Education Requirement - Hours and Subjects  

22.1.1 Except as provided in the following subparagraph, each physician applying 

for renewal of a license to practice medicine must the completion  

of at least thirty hours of qualifying CME during the most recent two-year 

licensing period.   

 22.1.1.1  The licensee is not required to file documentation of CME that  

verifies completion at the time that it is reported, however it is 

the licensee's responsibility to retain documentation for four 

years from the time the information is submitted to the Board.   

22.1.1.2  The Board may audit records of CME for up to four years from 

the time of submission; a licensee is required to promptly 

submit documentation of CME completion in response to a 

request from the Board.  

22.1.2 For physicians licensed in Vermont for the first time during the most recent 

two-year licensing period, if licensed in Vermont for less than one year, 

there is no requirement for CME at the time of the first renewal. If 

licensed for one year or more during that initial period of Vermont 

licensure, the licensee shall complete at least 15 hours of approved CME 

activity and those 15 hours shall include any subject-specific CME 

required by these rules.  

22.1.3 Time is calculated from the date the license was approved by the Board 

until the date of expiration. Any physician who has not completed the 

required continuing medical education shall submit a make-up plan with a 

renewal application, as specified in these rules.  

22.1.4 Except for required subjects that are mandated by these rules, all CME 

hours completed in satisfaction of this requirement shall be designed to 

assure that the licensee has updated knowledge and skills within their own 

specialties and also has kept abreast of advances in other fields for which 

patient referrals may be appropriate. A licensee's "own area of practice" 

shall not be interpreted narrowly; it is acknowledged that training in many 

other fields may be reasonably related to a practitioner's own specialties.  

22.1.5 Required Subject: Hospice, Palliative Care, Pain Management. 26 V.S.A. § 

1400(b) mandates that the Board of Medical Practice shall require 

physician licensees to provide "evidence of current professional 
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competence in recognizing the need for timely appropriate consultations 

and referrals to assure fully informed patient choice of treatment options, 

including treatments such as those offered by hospice, palliative care, and 

pain management services." Accordingly, all physician licensees who are 

required under these rules to complete CME shall certify at the time of 

each renewal that at least one of the hours of qualifying CME activity has 

been on the topics of hospice, palliative care, or pain management 

services.  

22.1.6 Required Subject:  Prescribing Controlled Substances.    

All physician licensees who are required to certify completion of CME 

and who prescribe controlled substances shall certify at the time of each 

renewal that at least two hours of qualifying CME activity on controlled 

substances prescribing.  The following topics must be covered, as required 

by Vermont law: abuse and diversion, safe use, and appropriate storage 

and disposal of controlled substances; the appropriate use of the Vermont 

Prescription Monitoring System; risk assessment for abuse or addiction; 

pharmacological and nonpharmacological alternatives to opioids for 

managing pain; medication tapering and cessation of the use of controlled 

substances; and relevant State and federal laws and regulations concerning 

the prescription of opioid controlled substances.  Each licensee who is 

registered with the D.E.A. and who holds a D.E.A. number to prescribe 

controlled substances, or who has submitted a pending application for one, 

is presumed to prescribe controlled substances and must meet this 

requirement.      

22.1.7 Licensees who are not in active practice shall still complete CME, 

including all required subjects, to be relicensed. For purposes of 

subsection (b), a physician not in active practice may consider the last area 

of practice as the area of practice to which activity shall relate, or the 

activity may relate to any intended new area of practice.  

22.1.8 Licensees who are members of the armed forces and who are subject to a 

mobilization and/or deployment for all or part of a licensing cycle will be 

treated the same as licensees who are licensed for the first time during a 

licensing cycle. E.g., a licensee whose military mobilization/deployment 

covers a year or more is not required to complete CME for that cycle. A 

licensee whose military duties during the two-year cycle total less than 

one year shall be required to meet the CME requirement of at least 15 

hours, including any required subjects.  

22.1.9 A licensee who allows a license to lapse by not timely applying for renewal 

shall certify completion of all CME that would have been required to 

remained licensed in order to be granted a renewal license.  
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 22.2  Qualifying Continuing Medical Education Activities  

22.2.1 Only CME activities that are approved for American Medical Association 

Physician's Recognition Award Category 1 Credit AMA PRA Category 1 

CreditTM qualify as approved Vermont CME.  

22.2.2 Credit for providing training. The Board accepts all AMA PRA Category 1 

CreditTM activity. The AMA PRA program grants two hours of credit for 

each hour of training presented by a physician. The Board recognizes 

those credits the same as the AMA PRA program.  

22.2.3 Special Rule for holders of a full, unlimited license who are participants in 

a residency or fellowship program approved by a nationally-recognized 

body that approves graduate medical education (GME).  Some physicians 

who are still in a GME program obtain full licensure in addition to a 

limited temporary license for training.  As fully-licensed physicians, if 

licensed for a year or more (see Section 22.1.2) they must complete at  

least 15 hours of CME.  If licensed the full period, they must complete 30 

hours of CME.  However, the Board will recognize participation in a 

GME program as qualifying for CME credit to the extent provided here.    

22.2.3.1 The licensee must have successfully completed the program or 

continue to be in good standing in the GME program throughout 

the licensing period to have GME count as CME.    

22.2.3.2 Successful completion of a year of full-time participation in an 

approved program during the two-year licensing period may 

count for 15 hours of CME to be used to satisfy a CME 

requirement for that licensing period.  Licensees who wish to use 

participation in a GME program to satisfy part of the CME 

requirement shall submit a letter to the Board stating so and 

attesting to successful completion of the GME program year.    

22.2.3.3 GME students who are fully licensed must meet the 

subjectspecific requirement for hospice, palliative care, or pain 

management services if fully licensed for a year or more.   See 

section 22.1.5.  GME students who are fully licensed for a year 

or more and who have applied for or hold a DEA number must 

satisfy the statutory requirement for two hours of CME on 

controlled substances prescribing.  See Section 22.1.6.    

 22.3  Make-Up Plans  

22.3.1 Any physician who has not completed the minimum number of hours of 

CME, or who has not completed the required subject-specific training, as 

of the deadline for submission of license renewal applications, will not be 

granted a renewal license unless the application includes an acceptable 
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make-up plan signed by the licensee. The Board Executive Director is 

authorized to review and determine if make-up plans are acceptable.  

22.3.2 An acceptable make-up plan must include a timeline for making up all 

CME that needs to be completed to satisfy the requirements of these 

Rules. The timeline shall identify the approved activities that the licensee 

plans to attend. The licensee may later substitute activities, but the plan 

shall indicate that it is the licensee's good faith intent to complete the 

activities listed at the time of submission. A licensee shall have up to one 

hundred twenty (120) days to complete the CME make-up plan.  

22.3.3 Any licensee who will not complete a make-up plan within the time 

specified by the plan shall contact the Board at least 30 days in advance of 

the date on which the period will end to notify the Board and submit a 

revised plan and request for extension of time.   

22.3.3.1  The request for extension of time must include an explanation 

of the reasons why the licensee was unable to complete the 

required training in accordance with the plan.   

 22.3.3.2  Extensions of the make-up plan period are limited to 90 days,  

during which the licensee shall complete the required CME. 

Further extensions will be granted only for good cause shown, 

for reasons such as: serious illness of the licensee or a family 

member; death of an immediate family member; significant 

personal hardship, such as a house fire; significant and ongoing 

medical staff shortage during the make-up period; or similarly 

compelling reasons.   

22.3.3.3  The Board may delegate to the Board Executive Director the 

authority to approve requests to extend the time for a make-up 

plan in accordance with these rules. Any request for extension 

not granted by the Executive Director shall be considered by 

the Board.  

22.3.4 CME activity completed as part of a make-up plan does not count toward 

satisfaction of the requirement to complete CME during that current 

licensing cycle; activity may only be counted once. If a multi-hour activity 

is performed partly in satisfaction of a make-up plan and partly for the 

CME requirement associated with the current licensing cycle, the licensee 

shall clearly document the allocation.  

22.4  Failure to Certify Completion of Required CME, File a Make-Up Plan, or 

Complete a Make-Up Plan  

22.4.1 A licensee who has failed to submit certification of completion of CME as 

required by law and these rules, or who having failed to certify completion 

of CME has failed to submit a make-up plan with a license renewal 
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application, will be notified of such failure and have not more than 15 

days from receipt of notice to file with the Board either a certification of 

completion of CME or a make-up plan.  

22.4.2 A licensee who fails to file a certificate of completion of CME at the end of 

a make-up period, or to file a request for an extended make-up period, 

shall be notified of such failure and have not more than 15 days from 

receipt of notice to file with the Board either a certificate of completion of 

CME or another request for extension of time in which to make up CME.  

22.4.3 A licensee who submits a certificate of completion at the time of 

submission of the license renewal application, or who has filed an 

acceptable make-up plan with the renewal application and is in the 

makeup period, or who having failed to complete the first make-up plan 

has received approval from the Board for an extended make-up period that 

has not yet expired, is in good standing with respect to CME requirements.  

22.4.4 Any licensee not in good standing with respect to CME requirements is 

subject to investigation by the Board for unprofessional conduct.  

 22.5  Grounds for Disciplinary Action  

22.5.1 Grounds for disciplinary action include the conduct set forth in 26 V.S.A. 

§§ 1354, 1398, 1739a and 18 V.S.A. § 1852.  

 22.6  Disciplinary Action  

22.6.1 All complaints and allegations of unprofessional conduct shall be 

processed in accordance with Section V of these rules.  

22.6.2 After notice and an opportunity for hearing, the Board may take 

disciplinary action against any applicant or physician found guilty of 

unprofessional conduct, as provided by 3 V.S.A. § 809, and 26 V.S.A. §§ 

1361(b), including but not limited to:  

22.6.2.1  Reprimand, suspend, revoke, limit, condition, deny or prevent 

renewal of license;   

 22.6.2.2  Required completion of continuing education;  

22.6.2.3  Required supervised training or practice for a specified period 

of time or until a satisfactory evaluation by the supervising 

physician has been submitted to the Board.  

 22.7  Right to Appeal  

22.7.1 A party aggrieved by a final decision of the Board may, within 30 days of 

the decision, appeal that decision by filing a notice of appeal with the 

Executive Director of the Vermont Board of Medical Practice, as provided 

by 26 V.S.A. § 1367 and 3 V.S.A. § 815.  


