
Transportation Safety
Birth through Age 4
For each well child visit, please review the following questions (Q) for parents and safety recom-

mendations (SR) for transportation of children. Optional handouts available from the Vermont 

Governor’s Highway Safety Program TOT-SEAT Hotline are listed in each section.

Newborn/ 1 week/ 2 months

Q: Do you have a car seat? 
SR: Your baby must use a car safety seat every time 
you travel, even for a short ride. Reading your car 
and car seat owner’s manual will provide important 
information. For help call 1-888-TOT-SEAT.

Q:  Is your car seat facing forward or 
 backwards in the car? 
SR: Vermont law requires babies ride backwards until 
at least 20 lbs. and 1 year old, but backwards until 
30–35 lbs. is much safer.  

Q:  Does your baby’s car seat ride in the front 
seat or back seat? 

SR: Vermont law says infant seats must never ride in 
the path of an airbag unless the airbag is turned off.  
The back seat is safest for all children. 

Q:  Does your baby’s head fl op forward when 
sitting in the car seat? 

SR: Babies need to ride reclined. If babies head fl ops 
forward the airway can close. Check the owner’s 
manual or have the seat inspected. Call 1-888-TOT-
SEAT for a free inspection. 

Q: Are the harness straps snug?
SR: Car seat harness straps need to be snug with no 
bulky outerwear between the baby and the harness. 
Blankets can be put over the harness to provide 
warmth. Chest clip should be at armpit level.

Q: How much can you move your car seat 
when you grab hold at the seat belt 
opening?

SR: If the car seat moves more than one inch when 
it is buckled in the car, it is not tight enough to hold 
safely.  Make an appointment to get car seat checked.  
Call 1-888-TOT-SEAT for a free inspection.

Optional handout: “This is the Way the Baby Rides” (blue) 

4, 6, & 9 months

Q:  What direction does your baby face when 
riding in the car seat? 

SR: Babies must stay rear facing until at least 20 lbs. 
and 1 year. Parents often want to turn their babies 
forward facing as they become more social. Forward 
facing before this weight and age can result in fatal 
injuries. Continuing to keep your baby riding backward 
until 30–35 lbs. is recommended.

Q:  Do you know the height and weight limit 
for your car seat? 

SR: If baby is more than 20/22 lbs. or 26 inches the 
infant has outgrown the infant car seat.  Parents need 
to consult the car seat manual for weight and height 
limits. Big babies need to graduate to a rear-facing 
convertible car seat that is rated to 30 or 35 lbs. rear 
facing.

Q: Where in the car does your baby ride? 
SR: The back seat is safest.  If your baby needs your 
attention, pull off the road to attend to the baby’s 
needs.

Q: How much can you move your car seat 
when you grab hold at the seat belt 

 opening?
SR: If the car seat moves more than one inch when 
it is buckled in the car, it is not tight enough to hold 
safely.  Make an appointment to get car seat checked.  
Call 1-888-TOT-SEAT for a free inspection.

Optional handout: “Car Safety for Growing Babies from 
4 -12 Months” (yellow) 
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1 and 2 years

Q: Does your child ride rear facing or forward 
facing? 

SR: Children must ride rear facing until at least 20 lbs. 
and 1 year.  Children are safer if they continue to ride 
rear facing in a seat that is rated rear facing to 30 or 
35 lbs.  The incidence of injury and fatality when riding 
forward facing decreases at 1 year and 20 lbs. but does 
not cease to exist. 

Q: (For children seated forward facing) 
 Are the slots that the shoulder straps 

come through higher than your child’s 
shoulders? 

SR: Most car seats require that the harness straps be in 
the top slots when the child is seated facing forward.  
Many parents do not know that this is a requirement. 
Parents should refer to their owner’s manual or call 
the TOT-SEAT Hotline for assistance. 

Q: Does your seat move more than an inch 
or could it tip over in the car? 

SR: When correctly installed a car seat should sit 
upright and move less than one inch side to side at 
the seat belt opening. Using the tether strap provided 
with the car seat improves safety for forward facing 
seats.  

Q: How tight are the harness straps on your 
child’s car seat? 

SR: The harness straps must be very snug so that it 
is not possible to pinch the webbing between your 
fi ngers. 

Q: Where is the chest clip positioned when 
your child is buckled in the car seat? 

SR: Chest clips should be at armpit level.

For children who are likely to reach 40 lbs. before 
their 3rd birthday, parents can call the TOT-SEAT 
Hotline to discuss appropriate restraints with weight 
limits up to 65 lbs. These children are generally not 
developmentally ready for a booster seat with a lap 
and shoulder belt.  

Optional handout:  “Meeting the Toddler Car Seat 
Challenge” (gold) 

3 and 4 years 

   
Q: What kind if restraint system are you 
 currently using in the car for your child ?
SR: Children outgrow the harness system on most 
car seats at 40 lbs. or 40 inches. A booster seat using 
the car’s lap and shoulder belt will be needed until 
an adult seat belt fi ts properly—at about 4’9.” For 
children who are not developmentally ready to sit in 
a booster seat with a lap and shoulder belt refer the 
family to TOT-SEAT Hotline.

Q: Does your child refuse to use the car seat 
or climb out during travel? 

SR: Car safety should be nonnegotiable, just like 
playing with knives or matches. Motor vehicle 
crashes are the leading cause of death and injury 
among children. Vermont law requires children to 
ride in safety seats until 8 years old.

Q: When the child sits on the booster seat, 
where is the shoulder belt? 

SR: The shoulder belt should be across the sternum at 
mid-chest and  should never be placed under the arm 
or behind the back. Children must ride in booster seats 
until 8 years and should continue to use a booster seat 
until 4’9” tall.

Booster seats with a shield in front of them are not 
recommended. 

Optional Handout: “Boosters, Belts, Bags & Kids” (green)
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5, 6 and 7 years   
(Ask the child)

Q:  How do you ride in the car? Do you use 
a booster seat or seat belt in the car? 

SR: Children need booster seats from 40 lbs. until 
the adult seat belt fi ts correctly.  Using an adult seat 
belt  too soon can result in serious or life threatening 
injuries.

Vermont law requires all children be in an appropriate  
child passenger restraint (infant, toddler, booster seat 
or safety harness) until 8 years. Adult seat belts begin 
to fi t children when they are 4’9” tall.

Q: Where do you put the shoulder belt? 
SR: The shoulder belt needs to be across the sternum 
at mid-chest  and never placed under the arm or 
behind the back. 

Children should not use devices that attach to lap 
and shoulder belts intended to make the shoulder 
belt fi t properly. These devices do not meet federal 
safety guidelines and can cause serious injury. Booster 
seats provide protection, keep seat belts off the soft 
tummy area and boost children taller to make adult 
seat belts fi t. 

Q: Where do you sit in the car?
SR: The back seat is safest. Children under 13 should 
never ride in the path of an active airbag.

Optional Handout: “Boosters, Belts, Bags & Kids” (green)

8  and 9 years 
(Ask the child) 

Q: Do you use a booster seat or seat belt in 
the car? 

SR: Children need to say “yes” to all 5 questions in 
order to use an adult seat belt. If the child answers 
“no,” they need a booster seat to travel safely.

1. Do you sit all the way back against the 
auto seat? 

2. Do your knees bend comfortably at the 
edge of the auto seat? 

3.  Is the lap belt below your tummy, 
touching your thighs? 

4. Is the shoulder belt centered on your 
shoulder and chest?

5. Can you stay seated like this for the 
whole trip?

Q: Where do you sit in the car or truck ? 
SR: In cars the back seat is safest. Children should 
never be in the back bed of a pick up. Children under 
13 should not sit in the path of an active air bag.

Optional Handout: “Boosters, Belts, Bags & Kids” (green) 

Transportation Safety
Age 5 through Age 16
For each well child visit, please review the following questions (Q) for children and safety recom-

mendations (SR) for transportation of children. Optional handouts available from the Vermont 

Governor’s Highway Safety Program TOT-SEAT Hotline are listed in each section.
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10 through 14 years 
 (Ask the child) 

Q: Do you wear your seat belt? Where do 
you put the shoulder belt? 

SR: The shoulder belt needs to be across the sternum 
at mid-chest.  Never place the shoulder belt under the 
arm or behind the back.  Children who want to put 
the shoulder belt behind their back may still need a 
booster seat. Use the 5 questions for seat belt fi t from 
the 8-year-old visit. 

Q:  Where do you sit in the car or truck? 
SR: In cars the back seat is safest. Children should 
never be in the back bed of a pick up. Children under 
13 should not sit in the path of an active air bag.

15 years and up
(Ask the child) 

Q: Do you wear your seat belt? 
SR: The lap belt should be low across your hips and 
the shoulder belt should be on the center of your chest. 
Seat belts need to be buckled every time you ride in 
the car. 

Q: Do you adjust your headrest ? 
SR: The headrest should be adjusted to the center 
of the back of the head. This protects you from 
whiplash. 

Q: What are the rules in your family about 
driving? Do you drive with your friends in 
the car? How many in the car at a time?

SR: Teen drivers have the highest rate of crashes and 
fatalities of all drivers. Distraction and peer pressure 
lead to risky behavior. Removing teen passengers from 
the vehicle decreases overall crash risk by 50%. 

Q:  When you are driving, how do you handle 
seat belts for your passengers? 

SR: Encourage teens to take the lead by not starting 
the car until everyone is belted. According to Vermont 
law, the driver is legally responsible for making sure 
passengers are using seat belts.

Vermont Law

Vermont law requires that children under 1 year of age and 20 lbs. ride rear facing. Seats may 

never be placed in front of an active airbag. Children 1 to 8 must be in an appropriately fi tting, 

federally approved safety restraint (infant, toddler, booster seat or safety harness). Children 8 to 

16 must be in an approved restraint or safety belt system. Children 16 and older and adults are 

also required to buckle up.

Special Needs

Car seat questions and concerns for transportation of children with special health needs should be 

directed to Vermont’s Child Passenger Safety Specialist, Michele Laberge: 

Phone: (802) 241-5503 or e-mail: mlaberge@dps.state.vt.us

Source:
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