- What does the Vermont Lead Law require?
- What are Essential Maintenance Practices (EMP)?
- How do I file an EMP Compliance Statement?
- Who can file a compliance statement?
- When do EMP compliance statements need to be filed?
- Do compliance statements need to be filed on the same date every year?
- What happens if I file late?
- Can I request an extension?
- Who can perform Essential Maintenance Practices?
- Related information
The Vermont Lead Law requires that Essential Maintenance Practices are completed annually on pre-1978 residential rental properties and child care facilities. A compliance statement must be filed with the Vermont Department of Health, the owner’s liability insurance carrier, the Vermont Department for Children and Families (for child care facility owners), and a copy must be given to tenants.
Essential Maintenance Practices are required activities under the Vermont Lead Law, which was passed in 1996 and updated in 2008 (18 VSA Chapter 38). The law requires that owners of rental housing and child care facilities built before 1978 take certain specific steps to keep the property lead safe. For more information about EMPs, please see: Essential Maintenances Practices (EMP) and Vermont Lead Law .
The Vermont Department of Health has developed a free online service that will make it easier for owners and managers of pre-1978 rental housing to comply with essential maintenance practices mandated by the Vermont Lead Law.
An owner or property manager can file the compliance statement on a residential rental property or child care facility once they have created an account in our online system.
Compliance statements must be filed at least once every 365 days for each pre-1978 residential rental property or child care facility.
No. Compliance statements may be filed early.
Example: If you filed a compliance statement on October 15, 2011, the next compliance statement is due no later than October 15, 2012. Let’s say you chose to file this October 15, 2012 compliance statement early and filed it on September 30, 2012. Then in 2013, the next compliance statement would be due no later than September 30, 2013.
You can be fined $50 for submitting a compliance statement within 30 days after the due date. For filing later than 30 days after the due date, you can be fined $150.
Yes. You can submit a written request for an extension to the Vermont Department of Health no later than ten days before the due date. The department may grant or deny an extension.
Request an extension by sending an email to: firstname.lastname@example.org
Essential Maintenances Practices (EMP) must be performed by an EMP-certified person or by a person who works under the direct, on-site supervision of an EMP-certified person.
The Health Department website includes a searchable list of EMP-certified individuals. Contact the EMP service provider directly for details about services and rates.
You must attend an EMP class to become EMP certified. Classes are offered free of charge at various locations throughout Vermont. You can go to http://leadsafevermont.org/ to see a list of upcoming classes or call 1-800-439-8550 for information.
Call 1-800-439-8550 if you need your EMP certificate number.
Your username is your first name with a period (".") after it, followed by your last name. Some usernames will have a number after the last name. Numbers occur when more than one person has the same first and last names.
- John Smith creates an account. He is assigned the username: John.Smith
- Another John Smith creates an account. He is assigned the username: John.Smith1
- A third John Smith creates an account. He is assigned the username: John.Smith2
It is important for you to note whether you have a number at the end of your username.
Essential Maintenance Practices (EMP) and Vermont Lead Law
Fact sheet that summarizes EMP requirements for landlords and rental property managers of rental properties built before 1978.
Lead Disclosure Rule
Landlords must disclose known information on lead-based paint and lead-based paint hazards before leases take effect. Leases must include a Disclosure of Information form about lead-based paint.
Lead Poisoned Children Rules
Regulations outline steps to be taken to confirm a diagnosis of lead poisoning, inspect the sources of the poisoning, and the actions to be taken towards abatement or other controls in housing that is rented or leased.
Poster: Notification of Deteriorated Paint
You may also call 1-800-439-8550 to receive copies of this poster.
Real Estate Transactions
Effective July 1, 2008, the Vermont Lead Law requires sellers of pre-1978 residential properties to provide buyers with lead disclosure information and educational materials.
Renting in Vermont
An informational handbook that is intended to give tenants and landlords a basic understanding of their rights and responsibilities.
Vermont Rental Housing Codes
Online resource developed by the Vermont Housing and Finance Agency (VHFA) and the Vermont Attorney General's Office.