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INSTRUCTIONS

• Complete all sections of the application. Incomplete applications will be returned and will delay the processing
of your license.

• The application and fees must be received at least 15 days before the first event.

• Public Health Inspectors will not accept applications or fees at the event.

• Applications must be either typed or legibly printed in pen, except signatures, which must be written in pen.

• Make your check or money order payable to the Vermont Department of Health. Do not send cash. Fees are
non-refundable.

• Select the three-day license only if you operate at one single event lasting 2-3 consecutive days. Select the
calendar year license to operate at multiple events or a single event lasting four or more days.

• Offsite preparation locations must be licensed by the health department or a local jurisdiction. If licensed out of
state, include a copy of the license with this application.

• Mail the application and payment to Vermont Dept. of Health, Food & Lodging Program, 280 State Drive,
Waterbury VT 05671-8350.

• The Temporary Food Service Establishment license will be emailed when the application has been reviewed
and approved. You may operate any  time after the approval.

• Be prepared for an inspection at any event where you operate.

• License application materials are public records as mandated by  Vermont law and may be made available to
the public, unless otherwise prohibited by State or Federal law.

• For questions concerning this application, call the Food & Lodging  Program at 802-863-7221.
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SELECT ONE: 
□ $230.00

Calendar Year License
(operating 4 or more days/year)

□ $125.00
Single Event License
(operating 3 days or  less/year)

CITY: STATE: ZIP: 

EMAIL: 

FIRST EVENT: LOCATION: DATE: 

 ALL OTHER EVENTS:   LOCATION:    DATES: 

Application for License to Operate a  
Temporary Food Service Establishment 

Incomplete applications will be returned and 
will delay the processing of your license.

I. ESTABLISHMENT INFORMATION

FOOD STAND NAME (dba):

FULL LEGAL NAME OF 
CORPORATION, LLC, 
PARTNERSHIP, OR SOLE PROPRIETOR: 

MAILING 
ADDRESS: 

PHONE: 

NAME(S) OF PERSON-IN-CHARGE (PIC) AT EVENT: 

PIC CELL PHONE: PIC EMAIL:

IS THE PIC A CERTIFIED FOOD SAFETY MANAGER?          YES          NO

IF YES, NAME OF ACCREDITED PROGRAM:   _______________________________  EXPIRATION DATE:_____________________________

II. EVENTS   List all events you will be attending in Vermont. Use additional paper if necessary.
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III. MENU & PROCEDURE REVIEW Describe all menu items to be sold. Use additional paper if
necessary. If food is prepared at an out-of-state location, provide a copy of the license.

Food product to be sold, sampled 
or prepared 

Preparation Process: Include any cooking, 
cooling, hot and cold holding steps. 

Preparation Location 
Specify any offsite locations. 

IV. LICENSE REQUIREMENTS A summary of the requirements for a temporary food
service establishment is listed below. Compliance is required with these items and with the
complete Vermont Health  Regulations for Food Service Establishments. You must initial to indicate
you understand and will comply with each requirement.

Requirement Initial 

a. All food, drink and ice must be from an approved source. 

b. All food must be properly labeled and stored to prevent contamination. 

c. All potentially hazardous foods must be cooked to the appropriate temperature then stored, 
displayed and served above 135° F or below 41° F. 

d. No bare hand contact with ready-to-eat foods. Appropriate utensils or gloves must be provided. 
Employees shall wash their hands, with warm 100° F water and soap with a scrubbing action for at 
least 20 seconds as required. 

e. Ice shall be stored in a container that is properly drained and protected from contamination. 
f. Provide equipment to maintain temperature of all potentially hazardous food at required 

temperatures during storage, preparation, display and service. 
g. All potentially hazardous foods must be thawed under refrigeration or as part of the cooking 

process. 
h. Use good hygienic practices. 
i. Restrict ill food workers from handling and preparing food. 
j. Appropriate hair restraints and clean outer clothing or uniforms must be worn. 
k. Provide approved facilities to wash, rinse and sanitize equipment and utensils. 
l. Provide appropriate thermometers and sanitizer test kit. 

m. Store and dispense single-service articles appropriately. 
n. Manual warewashing must include an appropriate sanitization rinse. 
o. Wiping cloths are used appropriately and stored in chemical sanitizer. 
p. Food contact surfaces of equipment and utensils are cleaned appropriately. 
q. Store clean equipment and utensils properly. 
r. Water is from an approved source. 
s. Waste water / sewage is properly disposed of. 
t. Plumbing system shall be installed to prevent backflow and back siphonage. 
u. Handwashing facilities are conveniently located and provide water that is 100° F. 
v. Prevent insects, rodents and pests from entering the area. 
w Adequate lighting is provided, and all fixtures are installed with shatter-resistant bulbs. 
x. All toxic items must be labeled and stored properly. 
y. All areas must be free of rubbish, litter and debris. 
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V. BOOTH LAYOUT
Sketch the general layout of the
booth below. Identify all equipment
including:

 handwash station
 hot and cold holding
 refrigerators
 worktables
 food/single service storage
 wash/rinse/sanitize sinks
 waste receptacle
 wastewater  disposal
 floor covering

I certify that all information on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and that I understand 
providing false information or omission of information is unlawful and may jeopardize my license status. 

 _  _ Date: _ _ Printed Name: 

Signature:   

 SAMPLE BOOTH LAYOUT

Incomplete applications will be returned and 
will delay the processing of your license.
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VI. APPLICANT'S STATEMENT REGARDING CHILD SUPPORT AND TAXES

Under Vermont law, you are required to certify that you are in “good standing” on child support payments 
before you can receive a professional license or other business or trade certification. (You can read the law by 
searching the internet for 15 V.S.A. § 795.)

Your signature on this application indicates you are in "good standing" on child support because one of these 
applies:

• You are not required to pay child support.

• You owe less than one month of support.

• You are currently disputing the child support you owe in court.

• You owe child support but are complying with a payment plan.

• This does not apply because it is a business seeking certification.

Under Vermont law, you are required to certify that you are in “good standing” on taxes owed to the State of 
Vermont before you can receive a professional license or other business or trade certification. (You can read the 
law by searching the internet for 32 V.S.A. § 3113.)

You signature on this application indicates you are in “good standing” with Vermont taxes because one of these 
applies:

• You have filed all your tax returns and do not owe any taxes.

• You are currently appealing the amount of taxes you owe.

• You owe taxes but are complying with a payment plan with the Commissioner of Taxes.

If you are not in good standing, you can ask the licensing authority to consider whether requiring you to become 
current on child support or Vermont taxes before issuing a license would be an unreasonable hardship.

I hereby certify that I am in good standing with regard to child support and Vermont taxes. I further certify that 
all information stated in this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge. I understand that 
providing false information or leaving out information is against the law and may cause me to lose my license/
certification/registration.

Tax ID Number OR Social Security Number: ______________________________________________

Printed Name:____________________________________________    Title:____________________ 

Signature of Applicant: ______________________________________ Date:____________________
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