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Excerpt from Board of Medical Practice Administrative Rules
Provisions on CME for PAs

 
  

32.0 Physician Assistant Professional Standards; Disciplinary Procedures 

32.1 Prescribing Controlled Substances for Participating Physician 

It is unprofessional conduct for a physician assistant to prescribe or dispense 
controlled substances listed in D.E.A. Schedules II, III, or IV for a physician who 
is the PA’s participating physician. 

32.2 Prescribing for or Treating Participating Physician 

It is discouraged for a PA to prescribe or dispense non-controlled prescription 
substances for the PA’s participating physician.  PAs who treat their participating 
physician are required to meet all standards of appropriate care, including proper 
establishment of a professional relationship with the patient and maintenance of 
appropriate patient records.  

32.3 Practice Without a Practice Agreement in Place 

It is unprofessional conduct for a physician assistant to practice without having a 
valid practice agreement that applies to the practice setting and the care provided, 
unless one of the two exceptions stated in 26 V.S.A. § 1734c(b) and 26 V.S.A. § 
1735a(e) applies.  The practice agreement must be on file with the Board.  
Licensees should verify that practice agreements were received by the Board by 
checking the Board’s online system.   

32.4 Continuing Education 

32.4.1 As evidence of continued competence in the knowledge and skills of a 
physician assistant, all physician assistants shall complete a continuing 
medical education program of 100 approved credit hours every two years. 
A minimum of 50 credit hours shall be from Category 1. Proof of 
completion shall be submitted to the Board with the application for 
renewal of certification.  
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32.4.2 Certification or recertification by the NCCPA at any time during a 2-year 
licensure period may be accepted in lieu of 100 hours continuing medical 
education credits for that 2-year period. PAs must also comply with any 
applicable continuing medical education requirements established by 
Vermont law or Board Rule. 

32.4.3 Required CME for PAs With D.E.A. Number 

All licensees who prescribe controlled substances shall certify at the time 
of each renewal that they have completed at least two hours of CME 
activity on controlled substances prescribing.  The activity must be 
accredited as AMA PRA Category 1 CreditTM training, American 
Academy of Physician Assistants Category 1 training, or be specifically 
designated as qualifying by the Board.  The following topics must be 
covered, as required by Vermont law: abuse and diversion, safe use, and 
appropriate storage and disposal of controlled substances; the appropriate 
use of the Vermont Prescription Monitoring System; risk assessment for 
abuse or addiction; pharmacological and nonpharmacological alternatives 
to opioids for managing pain; medication tapering and cessation of the use 
of controlled substances; and relevant State and federal laws and 
regulations concerning the prescription of opioid controlled substances.  
Each licensee who is registered with the D.E.A. and who holds a D.E.A. 
number to prescribe controlled substances, or who has submitted a 
pending application for one, is presumed to prescribe controlled 
substances and must meet this requirement.  Any physician assistant who 
is required to certify completion of this CME to renew, but who cannot, 
will be subject to the provisions regarding makeup of missing CME in 
subsections 24.3 and 24.4.  

 

 

 




