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1. Overview

Periodic Monitoring
• WIC periodically monitors authorized retailers to ensure 

compliance with federal laws and state agreement, including:
• Unannounced store visits and “compliance buys”
• Investigate complaints
• Closer monitoring of High Risk stores
• Secret shoppers
• Training and/or follow-up contacts
• Educational buys
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Violation and Sanctions Overview  
• Violations of the WIC agreement are assigned points 

by degree of severity. 
• Stores can be suspended or disqualified
• Penalties affect both WIC and SNAP participation

• Store has appeal rights if state applies sanctions
• See Grocer Handbook

2. Violations and Sanctions
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Vermont WIC Violations 
• Vermont WIC Violations and Sanctions are reviewed annually, and grocers are 

notified of changes. 

• Each violation results in points being given to the Grocer.  Fewer than 6 points -
no disqualification.

• More than 6 points results in disqualification for different periods of time.

• There must be a pattern of the exact same offense before disqualifications occur 
unless it is a federal violation. 

• Grocers will always receive written warning of violations,  sanctions, or 
disqualification.
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State Violations and Sanctions 
Level I
• We currently have 11 Category I state violations which accrue 2 

points which are retained for 12 months.  Examples are:
• Failure to provide promotional specials or accept coupons
• Failure to provide security during the redemption process
• Allowing untrained personnel to process eWIC
• Issuance of a raincheck
• Failure to provide receipts that meet EBT Operating Rules
• Failure to offer WIC customers the same courtesies offered to others
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State Violations and Sanctions 
Level II
• There are 7 Category II Violations which accrue 3 points and 

are retained for 18 months.  Examples are:
• Contacting participants to have them return to the store to fix a grocer 

error
• Charging participants a fee for processing WIC cards
• Accepting the return of items purchased with an eWIC card for cash or 

credit towards other non-WIC purchases
• Asking participants for identification
• Requiring cash purchases in order to redeem WIC benefits.



MODULE 5: Monitoring and Compliance Vermont WIC Annual Grocer Training Effective October 2022

State Violations and Sanctions 
Level III

• Category III Violations shall accrue 12 points per violation and 
be retained for 18 months.  They are:

• Failure to allow on-site monitoring
• Failure to pay claims
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Common Violation Examples
• Failure to provide promotional specials or accept manufacturer coupons or 

store coupons for WIC purchases

• Failure to make staff available for training in program rules and procedures

• Allowing untrained personnel to accept and process WIC transactions

• Failure to clearly indicate the retail price of all WIC approved items

• Use of the Quantity key in eWIC transactions (no points for this violation)

• Allowing exchange of infant formula or any other food for another brand or 
kind of food

2. Violations and Sanctions
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You Must Notify WIC When:
• Ownership changes or store closes

• Notify WIC at least 30 days in advance
• Name or address changes

• Notify WIC at least 30 days in advance
• Store Manager or WIC contact changes

Contact Information
Phone: 802-863-7333   Email: WIC@vermont.gov

3. Report Changes

mailto:WIC@vermont.gov

	Slide Number 1
	Slide Number 2
	1. Overview
	Slide Number 4
	2. Violations and Sanctions
	Vermont WIC Violations 
	State Violations and Sanctions Level I
	State Violations and Sanctions Level II
	State Violations and Sanctions Level III
	2. Violations and Sanctions
	Slide Number 11
	3. Report Changes

