Excerpt from Board of Medical Practice Administrative Rules

Provisions on CME for MDs

24.0 Continuing Medical Education

24.1

Minimum Education Requirement - Hours and Subjects

24.1.1

24.1.2

24.1.3

24.1.4

24.1.5

Each physician applying for renewal of a license to practice medicine
must complete at least thirty hours of qualifying CME during the most
recent two-year licensing period.

24.1.1.1  The licensee is not required to file documentation of CME that
verifies completion at the time that it is reported, however, it is
the licensee's responsibility to retain documentation for four
years from the time the information is submitted to the Board.

24.1.1.2  The Board may audit records of CME for up to four years from
the time of submission; a licensee is required to promptly
submit documentation of CME completion in response to a
request from the Board.

For physicians licensed in Vermont for the first time during the most
recent two-year licensing period, if licensed in Vermont for less than one
year, there is no requirement for CME at the time of the first renewal. If
licensed for one year or more during that initial period of Vermont
licensure, the licensee shall complete at least 15 hours of approved CME
activity and those 15 hours shall include any subject-specific CME
required by this rule.

Time is calculated from the date the license was approved by the Board
until the date of expiration. Any physician who has not completed the
required continuing medical education shall submit a make-up plan with a
renewal application, as specified in this rule.

Except for required subjects that are mandated by this rule, all CME hours
completed in satisfaction of this requirement shall be designed to assure
that the licensee has updated knowledge and skills within their own
specialties and also has kept abreast of advances in other fields for which
patient referrals may be appropriate. A licensee's "own area of practice"
shall not be interpreted narrowly; it is acknowledged that training in many

other fields may be reasonably related to a practitioner's own specialties.

Required Subject: Hospice, Palliative Care, Pain Management. 26 V.S A.
§ 1400(b) mandates that the Board of Medical Practice shall require
physician licensees to provide "evidence of current professional
competence in recognizing the need for timely appropriate consultations
and referrals to assure fully informed patient choice of treatment options,

7~ VERMONT

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

Final Adopted Rule
Effective Date: 4/1/2024

Page 19 of 75



24.2

24.1.6

24.1.7

24.1.8

24.1.9

including treatments such as those offered by hospice, palliative care, and
pain management services." Accordingly, all physician licensees who are
required under this rule to complete CME shall certify at the time of each
renewal that at least one of the hours of qualifying CME activity has been
on the topics of hospice, palliative care, or pain management services.

Required Subject: Prescribing Controlled Substances.

All physician licensees who are required to certify completion of CME
and who prescribe controlled substances shall certify at the time of each
renewal that at least two hours of qualifying CME activity on controlled
substances prescribing. The following topics must be covered, as required
by Vermont law: abuse and diversion, safe use, and appropriate storage
and disposal of controlled substances; the appropriate use of the Vermont
Prescription Monitoring System; risk assessment for abuse or addiction;
pharmacological and nonpharmacological alternatives to opioids for
managing pain; medication tapering and cessation of the use of controlled
substances; and relevant State and federal laws and regulations concerning
the prescription of opioid controlled substances. Each licensee who is
registered with the D.E.A. and who holds a D.E.A. number to prescribe
controlled substances, or who has submitted a pending application for one,
is presumed to prescribe controlled substances and must meet this
requirement.

Licensees who are not in active practice shall still complete CME,
including all required subjects, to be relicensed. For purposes of
subsection (b), a physician not in active practice may consider the last area
of practice as the area of practice to which activity shall relate, or the
activity may relate to any intended new area of practice.

Licensees who are members of the armed forces and who are subject to a
mobilization and/or deployment for all or part of a licensing cycle will be
treated the same as licensees who are licensed for the first time during a
licensing cycle. E.g., a licensee whose military mobilization/deployment
covers a year or more is not required to complete CME for that cycle. A
licensee whose military duties during the two-year cycle total less than
one year shall be required to meet the CME requirement of at least 15
hours, including any required subjects.

A licensee who allows a license to lapse by not timely applying for
renewal shall certify completion of all CME that would have been
required to remained licensed in order to be granted a renewal license.

Qualifying Continuing Medical Education Activities

24.2.1

CME activities that are approved for American Medical Association
Physician's Recognition Award Category 1 Credit AMA PRA Category 1
Credit™ qualify as approved Vermont CME.
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2422

2423

2424

Credit for providing training. The Board accepts all AMA PRA Category
1 Credit™ activity. The AMA PRA program grants two hours of credit for
each hour of training presented by a physician. The Board recognizes
those credits the same as the AMA PRA program.

Certain activities sponsored by the Board may qualify for CME credit
even if not designated as AMA PRA Category 1 activities. If CME credit
is available, it will be specifically stated by the Board.

Special Rule for holders of a full, unlimited license who are participants in
a residency or fellowship program approved by a nationally-recognized
body that approves graduate medical education (GME). Some physicians
who are still in a GME program obtain full licensure in addition to a
limited temporary license for training. As fully-licensed physicians, if
licensed for a year or more (see Section 24.1.2) they must complete at
least 15 hours of CME. If licensed the full period, they must complete 30
hours of CME. However, the Board will recognize participation in a GME
program as qualifying for CME credit to the extent provided here.

24.2.4.1 The licensee must have successfully completed the program or
continue to be in good standing in the GME program throughout
the licensing period to have GME count as CME.

24.2.4.2 Successful completion of a year of full-time participation in an
approved program during the two-year licensing period may
count for 15 hours of CME to be used to satisfy a CME
requirement for that licensing period. Licensees who wish to use
participation in a GME program to satisfy part of the CME
requirement shall submit a letter to the Board stating so and
attesting to successful completion of the GME program year.

24.2.4.3 GME students who are fully licensed must meet the subject-
specific requirement for hospice, palliative care, or pain
management services if fully licensed for a year or more. See
Section 24.1.5. GME students who are fully licensed for a year
or more and who have applied for or hold a D.E.A. number must
satisfy the statutory requirement for two hours of CME on
controlled substances prescribing. See Section 24.1.6.

24.3 Make-Up Plans

24.3.1

2432

Any physician who has not completed the minimum number of hours of
CME, or who has not completed the required subject-specific training, as
of the deadline for submission of license renewal applications, will not be
granted a renewal license unless the application includes an acceptable
make-up plan signed by the licensee. The Board Executive Director is
authorized to review and determine if make-up plans are acceptable.

An acceptable make-up plan must include a timeline for making up all
CME that needs to be completed to satisfy the requirements of this rule.
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244

24.3.3

2434

The timeline shall identify the approved activities that the licensee plans to
attend. The licensee may later substitute activities, but the plan shall
indicate that it is the licensee's good faith intent to complete the activities
listed at the time of submission. A licensee shall have up to one hundred
twenty (120) days to complete the CME make-up plan.

Any licensee who will not complete a make-up plan within the time
specified by the plan shall contact the Board at least 30 days in advance of
the date on which the period will end to notify the Board and submit a
revised plan and request for extension of time.

24.3.3.1 The request for extension of time must include an explanation
of the reasons why the licensee was unable to complete the
required training in accordance with the plan.

24.3.3.2  Extensions of the make-up plan period are limited to 90 days,
during which the licensee shall complete the required CME.
Further extensions will be granted only for good cause shown,
for reasons such as: serious illness of the licensee or a family
member; death of an immediate family member; significant
personal hardship, such as a house fire; significant and ongoing
medical staff shortage during the make-up period; or similarly
compelling reasons.

24.3.3.3 The Board may delegate to the Board Executive Director the
authority to approve requests to extend the time for a make-up
plan in accordance with this rule. Any request for extension not
granted by the Executive Director shall be considered by the
Board.

CME activity completed as part of a make-up plan does not count toward
satisfaction of the requirement to complete CME during that current
licensing cycle; activity may only be counted once. If a multi-hour activity
is performed partly in satisfaction of a make-up plan and partly for the
CME requirement associated with the current licensing cycle, the licensee
shall clearly document the allocation.

Failure to Certify Completion of Required CME, File a Make-Up Plan, or
Complete a Make-Up Plan

24.4.1

24.4.2

A licensee who has failed to submit certification of completion of CME as
required by law and this rule, or who having failed to certify completion of
CME has failed to submit a make-up plan with a license renewal
application, will be notified of such failure and have not more than 15

days from receipt of notice to file with the Board either a certification of
completion of CME or a make-up plan.

A licensee who fails to file a certificate of completion of CME at the end
of a make-up period, or to file a request for an extended make-up period,
shall be notified of such failure and have not more than 15 days from
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